We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you want to see monkeys!”
Review of Tulemar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tulemar Resort
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay here if you want to see monkeys!”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Buena Vista Villas is overall a great hotel.

The good: The private beach is a huge plus, the monkeys swing right down onto your balcony in the morning. The hotel concierge was most helpful, and made great recommendations. Halfway between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, and short walk to a bunch of great local restaurants. All the rentals on the beach are free of charge, as well as the shuttle around the hotel.

The bad: Property is enormous and grueling to climb up and down the hills. The shuttle is not always readily available, and the beach is a long hike down. None of the pools have a Jacuzzi. The onsite restaurant and the beach front bar are expensive, synonymous with high-priced American hotels. The rooms are clean, but need an update.We had a problem with our room, and management was largely unwilling to help out until I opened a credit card charge-back. Then they offered to upgrade our room at a discount.

The big picture: You would pay probably $700 a night in Hawaii for rooms with these views in a hotel with the similar accommodations. It is a great value and an even better location.

Room Tip: Opt for the 1 bedroom suite, the junior suite kind of sucks. The monkeys don't go to the junior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CT4surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    122
    19
    13
    4
See reviews for
715
343
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Just returned from a 6-night stay. Our Personal Concierge, Bryan, took care of all reservations, transportation, and gave us great ideas for where to eat.

The Villa sits in the treetops, overlooking the Pacific ocean. You can watch the monkeys play in the morning, and the most magnificent sunset in the afternoon.

The private beach, with kayaks and boogie boards, sunset views, and warm water, was about the most perfect spot to sit, swim, and watch the sun set. David and Gabriella on the beach took care of everyone so well.

You can be as active or as sedentary as you wish, and enjoy the pura vida at Tulemar

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rider_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is one of the nicest places in the Manuel Antonio. Villas are spacious and clean. Some need tlc, but you came here for the views and nature not to check grout between the tiles. And the views are spectacular. Because the whole resort is located on the steep, very steep hill, each villa has unobstructed view of the bay.
Sunsets are breathtaking, mornings refreshing. Make sure you wake up early to catch birds and monkeys right outside of the windows. The first morning we walked to the beach, but the way back tested our capabilities. The next day we took a car (rental).
The waves are strong in the morning so the beach is empty. If you come late afternoon you may not get a chance to use a board to ride the waves (they have only few).
There is no problem with privacy at the pool. For three days straight we were the only ones there for at least two hours. Watch for snakes on the ground, especially after heavy rain. They just slide down the hill.
We didn't have a chance to taste the food at the resort, nearby restaurants are very good. Grouper from Kapi Kapi was to die for.
If you need enything else while you stay at villas, there is a supermarket not far. Prices are higher than US, so buy what you have to.
Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: All villas have stunning views. If you don't like excercise, drive from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kubaczek09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My boyfriend and I had the opportunity to stay at Buena Vista Villas for a wedding weekend - and we are SO happy that we chose that spot. It's gorgeous! We were (and still are) sad to leave. The villas are large, clean, well decorated, and have balconies with views of the ocean. Hot tub on the main deck is a must do. And as you shower in the morning or evening there is no screen or window so you have a breeze coming in from the jungle, can hear the monkeys talking, and can enjoy views of the ocean.
There is a private beach (the best we saw in the area). Kayaking, snorkeling, and a bar on the beach. 3 different pools. Make sure you spend an afternoon relaxing there.
The concierge was exceptional (our private concierge was Orlando - such a nice guy - they are all fantastic). He helped with planning any activities outside of the resort - ziplining, jet skiing, renting motorcycle, etc.
All the employees that we met grew up in Quepos so they are extremely knowledgeable about the area, proud of their country, and happy to show you the best time possible.

Wish we could have spent more time there and wouldn't hesitate to book another trip to Buena Vista Villas in the future.

Thanks for everything Buena Vista!!

Pura Vida,

Kathleen

Room Tip: -Stayed in a 3 bedroom villa. Gorgeous! -Visit the Buena Vista beach. They are private and some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Kathleen, Thanks for your glowing review and I'm gald you enjoyed your stay in one of our Premium Villas!... Can't wait to have you come back! Pura Vida! The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I will make it quick and easy. We arrived Dec 2011 and stayed for one week. We just maid reservations and will be coming back the second week in March 2012. BTW Alvero was the BEST!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Pura Vida! Look forward to your return!
The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.1 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
1.3 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
534 reviews
0.8 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
2.3 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Resort

Property: Tulemar Resort
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Buena Vista Luxury Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,216 - ₹ 54,742
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulemar Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tulemar Resort The Premier Resort Hotel in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Rated as the number 1 resort hotel in Central America and Costa Rica and number 9 in the World by Trip Advisor Tulemar Resort is a full service resort set in the peaceful 33-acre gated and secure Tulemar Gardens Condominium. A wide variety of standalone accommodations are available for our guests, including the famed Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, as well as our luxurious 1, 2, and 3 bedroom Buena Vista Luxury Villas. The property itself is spectacular, nestled in a lush rainforest overlooking the beautiful Manuel Antonio coastline. Surrounded by nature, Tulemar Resort features incredible gardens, walking paths, thriving wildlife, and the ONLY exclusive sandy beach in the region. At Tulemar Resort you will enjoy the luxury and privacy of your very own villa, along with the amenities of a high end resort, including concierge service, daily maid service, 4 swimming pools, beach bar, spa services, tour desk, and the best sunset bar and restaurant in town. We invite you to review our website for photos and details, then book one of these magnificent villas or bungalows and experience the most unforgettable vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tulemar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing