We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,877)
Filter reviews
1,877 results
Traveller rating
1,656
165
36
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,656
165
36
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the reserve la luna personal concierge private rooftop jungle suite costa rica free tour golf cart scarlet macaws our honeymoon spa treatments pool bar moment you arrive nature preserve national park nature walk private tour
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,877 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2018

We have just returned home from our first ever Costa Rica trip, including 4 nights at the Gaia. We arrived late evening after a very long journey and were taken from the security gate entrance in a buggy up to the reception. As we were escorted by the buggy driver through the bar/restaurant area to reception, the bar staff greeted us and welcomed us to the hotel, which was lovely.
James checked us in and we were brought a welcome tropical fruit drink while we went through the procedures. We were given vouchers for a complimentary mini-spa treatment each plus a free cocktail and tapas, which was very much appreciated,
By this time we were very tired so went straight to our room and fell asleep!
The next morning we made use of our spa treatments which was very relaxing after our long journey the previous day. That afternoon we booked the guided tour of the hotel's private reserve and to learn about the Scarlet Macaw rehabilitation program. This was very interesting but the storms from the previous weeks had left the paths a little tricky to negotiate and as it started to rain we headed back up to the entrance. The tour is free to hotel guests but it is appreciated if you make a donation to the program.
I became a little unwell during our stay, due probably to the unaccustomed heat & humidity and possibly drinking insufficient water. The staff were very quick to help and were very attentive, calling a doctor to check me out and making sure I was OK. I am very grateful for their kindmess and assistance.
We were quite fortunate that, as our visit was during the low season, there were not many other guests at the same time so we felt that we had the hotel almost for our own private use! At breakfast on the first few days we were the only people in the restaurant at 6:30 a.m. and so had exclusive service from the very friendly staff.
The views from the restaurant and up on the roof were spectacular. So many photo-opportunities to make our friends and family envious.
The food in the restaurant was excellent and the selections at breakfast were varied, interesting and delicious.
Our room was one of the Studio rooms, with a little patio area with table and chairs outside - it was lovely to sit out and listen to the sounds of the forest in the evening or watch the lightening at night. The room was spacious and comfortable with very effective air-conditioning.
We had a wonderful stay here and would recommend this hotel if you want to be in the Manuel Antonio area but away from the crowds and amongst nature.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdcorp111, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to post your wonderful review of our resort! It warms our hearts when guests like yourselves really "get" what we are trying to offer here at Gaia! We certainly hope you can find time to return and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

Gaia hotel and reserve was absolutely beautiful! I would love to stay here with my family and do a nice family vacation in Costa Rica. The hotel was very clean, everyone knew your name and greeted you. The infinity pool was so relaxing and in the mid afternoon you can see monkeys from the trees near by. The ocean view was absolutely beautiful at La Luna. And it was amazing to see macaws fly right in front of your room in the morning and mid afternoon. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdcorp111, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

The staff at Gaia would like to thank you for your wonderful review!
Please come back and visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018

Well, read the reviews! There are many stairs and the signage needs improvement, so for someone like me who gets lost easily - it took a few days to figure this place out even though it is a small property. The staff is very helpful though and will take you up down and around the hilly property as needed in golf carts. The room was wonderful, the bed very comfortable but don't plan on hanging up your clothes as the closet is very strange. In fact it really didn't work - I almost changed rooms and there was a big crash as the whole hanging rod collapsed as concierge tried to operate this very strange contraption in the new room. A comedy of errors really - but I appreciated their sincere efforts to remedy this situation. Just be prepared not to hang up your clothes- there are plenty of drawers. Also, don't take the reserve walk if it has been raining - the walkway was very slippery and I almost fell several times. Very scary, treacherous and muddy - we even had to walk through a stream. Don't do it - but the owner Boris told me they took my comments under consideration, and I don't think they will offer that hike anymore. Best part of my stay was the wonderful spa. I had three treatments and all were A plus. The pool was great, the views were spectacular and the included breakfast was excellent. Would I stay here again? Honestly - probably not.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissWorldTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdcorp111, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

We were very happy to hear your comments in person and want you to know we took them to heart. We have added signage property wide and have stopped the reserve tour when it has been raining.
We thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from an excellent week in the Gaia hotel. From the moment we arrived all our needs were catered for. From the staff who met us at the entrance and drove us to the main hotel. To James who was our personal concierge for the week. James went out of his way to be helpful from making restaurant reservations booking taxis .He also contacted us everyday day to see if there was anything he could do for us.We stayed in a delux loft suite as there was three of us. It was very specious and everything was finished to the highest standard. The view from the luna restaurant and the food is even better. Everyday they do a nature walk .where you can come up close and personal with the wild life.The guide is full of information and is quite funny. Every staff member went out of there way to be friendly and courteous. We can not recommend this hotel highly enough. And we will certainly be returning.
Michael and Ailish Fanning.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ailish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdcorp111, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

It warms our hearts when our guests post reviews like this! Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to let the other readers on TripAdvisor know how you felt about our resort. Please come back and visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

The rooms need a little update but overall this was an awesome place to stay. You will need a car or taxi to get around, there is not much within walking distance. The shuttle to the public beach in Manuel Antonio was a great perk and breakfast is included.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mayra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdcorp111, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews