We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for four nights at Gaia this past June, and our experience was nothing short of fantastic. While Gaia sits nestled within stunning forest landscape and is a gorgeous, modern hotel, the staff are what makes this place. Their consistent courtesy, professionalism, and attention to detail was truly impressive. We knew our vacation was off to a good start when we were greeted by our driver, Jonathan, who drove us from San Jose to Gaia - he was extremely welcoming, friendly, and engaging, and he stopped along the way to let us take pictures and told us a lot about Costa Rican agriculture and wildlife. We discovered very quickly that the rest of the staff were just as friendly and accommodating as Jonathan. From those who work at the front desk/the concierges, to the drivers, to the restaurant servers and bartenders, to the spa staff, to housekeeping and the tour guides - the staff go above and beyond to ensure your stay is perfect.

In terms of the hotel itself, the grounds are beautiful, the pools offer amazing views, and the rooms are beautifully furnished, spacious, and squeaky clean. The food at the restaurant was consistently excellent - the free breakfast in the morning being our favorite meal of the day. We did a few spa treatments that were great as well.

Whatever you envision for your time in Costa Rica, the staff at Gaia will make it happen. If you're looking for a fabulous destination on the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, look no further than Gaia.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

We are thrilled your experience here at Gaia was fantastic Erin. We strive to make the Gaia experience a once in a lifetime event not to be missed out on. Our entire staff is warm and welcoming and they make every effort to ensure the guests experience is totally unique.
Thank you for pointing out all the wonderful amenities that Gaia is now so famous.
Your sharing of your experience here on this TripAdvisor forum mean a lot to us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,581)
There are newer reviews for Gaia Hotel & Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 975 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

this was the recurring reply every time we asked for something. I will start with WiFi. WiFi was free and the signal was strong. So when you pay attention to a simple and often overlooked WiFi service everything else is easy. The guards at the gate were great, zipping us up to the top. great water pressure, huge rooms, lots of towels, friendly service. Great breakfast, Happy Hour, Tapas, Dinner. We enjoyed the conservancy fundraiser. Walk in the reserve... The office with personal service, bookings, maps, directions.... Perfect stay...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NISIN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

You owe it to yourself to stay at this hotel. It was simply amazing and easily the BEST hotel we have ever stayed in. My wife and I do a lot of traveling and we generally stay at the nicer hotels at our destinations. No hotel even comes close to this resort.

First off the service. The service at this resort is unbelievable and top notch. The staff will do everything they can to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. They provided a shuttle service to any location in the area and will book the best excursions for you. It was if we had our own Costa Rican family with us to handle all the details and guide us through the country. Even one of the owners, David, took a hands-on-approach in taking care of us. When the staff was busy driving other guests to their locations, David took it upon himself and drove us into town. Now that's what I call "great service!"

Next, the food. We had breakfast and dinner at the resort restaurant. The food was not only delicious but came in a very creative presentation. For breakfast, try the Huevos Rancheros. It is excellent and I promise that you have never had it prepared the way they do it. For dinner, I recommend starting off with the Tomato Tart, followed by the Mahi Mahi and finishing off with the Mango sorbet. You will not be disappointed!

Finally the rooms. The rooms are both luxurious and very modern. The rooms have everything you need and it'll make you forget that you're staying in the middle of the jungle. We stayed in the suite and were very happy.

I normally don't post reviews on Trip Advisor but we had such a great time that I had to post. We absolutely fell in love with Costa Rica and staying at this resort made it so easy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. We stayed in the suite and were very happy! Just remember that this r...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We traveled in July. this is Costa Rica's rainy season, a much better option vs their dry season which is intolerably hot as well as horribly humid.
Let me just say, Gaia staff will take care of anything you want. You want to change your schedule or plans....pura vita! It's the Costa Rican phrase for many things but mostly "its ok, everything is fine, it's all good, I'm all right".
My husband and I stayed in rm 221. This has got to be the best view ever. From the shower, a view from the porch, a view, living room a view, oh ya and did I forget to mention the private rooftop balcony,.....beautiful a view.
We had a simple but lovely studio. Perfect for a couple. If there is any problem at all with the room, just a quick call to the front desk and someone will be right there to fix.
Upon arrival one of the owners David was there to greet us. We saw him every night milling around talking to people, doing his pr thing. Delightful man.
The Gaia has it's own Nature Reserve on the property. We walked it ourselves without a guide, its quite a hike and many hills to walk, but when you get to the top....another spectacular view.

La Luna is amazing food. I have never been served this cuisine at any island I've ever been to.
Absolutely delicious fine cuisine for every single meal The best ceviche I've ever had.
I actually don't know how someone built this hotel. Its nestled into the side of the mountain and the driveway from the street is only by golf carts at a great incline.
Gaia has about 20 rooms. Pool is heated,and open 24hrs.
We adored this lovely boutique hotel.

Staff to be recognized. Sandy and Andrea were there for me every step of the way with any questions and my reservations. Fabio and Fernando helped us with looking up movie reviews for selection from the hotel's dvd selection. Andy was also very helpful with excursions and our departure arrangements.

Go Gaia. Loved it!! :)

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room with a view over forest and our room had its own private rooftop balcony...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDB9510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

It appears our friends from Weatherford totally got the Gaia experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience here on this TripAdvisor forum.
Our entire staff is indeed there to assist you though every aspect of your stay from the reservation process to daily tours and activities.
Our unique aspect of fine dining coupled with our down to earth nature reserve makes the Gaia Hotel & Reserve a place that guests return to year after year.
You too are welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

So we tried to stay here but they were full. Really well designed, modern, whitewashed buildings perched high on the hill overlooking stunning mountains and the ocean. Yes, it's not right across from the beach, but nothing is in Manuel Antonio.

Even if you can't stay here, please, please go and eat at the restaurant here. The food is amazing. Rival's anything in LA, Chicago, New York. Fresh, beautifully presented and flavorful. The service is incredible, friendly and the resturant feels warm and comfortable, open and again with amazing views. We had lunch there and came back twice for dinner.

It's interesting that the hotel we stayed at recommended another place to go which was supposedly great and it was NOT. Honestly we were in Costa Rica for 3 weeks and Gaia's restaurant had the best food we had anywhere. Great for a romantic night too...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sdwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.1 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,265 reviews
2.3 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.6 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
1.7 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
1.6 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: ₹ 12,942 - ₹ 30,906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing