We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even more amazing than the reviews say”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Even more amazing than the reviews say”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We recently had the pleasure of spending 6 blissful days at the hotel. All the positive reviews are spot on - the rooms, the pools, the spa, the food and more importantly the staff are amazing. From the moment we checked in we knew we were in a special place. Our personal concierge, Ariel, took care of everything. Each meal was delicious and the service was impeccable. A special thank you to our waiter Jorge who made each dinner a magical experience. Yadir, the pool attendent was another special person who brightened our day with his service and smile. We had the pleasure of meeting Boris, one of the owners who made us feel as if we were a guest in his home. A big thank you to everyone from the drivers to the spa staff, to the wait staff, to housekeeping, to the office staff for making this the most wonderful and relaxing vacation of our lives! Pura Vida

Room Tip: For a special occasion book a deluxe villa with the rooftop terrace - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,372
    141
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
169
1,068
35
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We loved every minute of our stay at Gaia. The service, food and views are exceptional. The huevos rancheros aren't to be missed, best thing on the menu!! All of the staff went above and beyond to be helpful and make our honeymoon a memorable experience. We will definitely be returning to this wonderful spot!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
We are thrilled you had a wonderful time here at Gaia Hotel & Reserve.
As an adults only property, Honeymoons spent here at Gaia are truly memorable. Our staff know exactly what to do and when to do it.
And we are very happy that you intend to return.....it gives us opportunity to spoil you both once again.
Thank you for taking the time to post your personal comments on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Gaia for 3 nights in January and had the best hotel stay of our lives. When we arrived, we were greeted at the gate by a few staff members who knew us by name before we even opened our mouths- such a nice welcome. When we got up tot he lobby we were introduced to Roberto, our personal concierge. He gave us a tour of the resort, constantly reminding us that we were his personal guests and we should go to him if we needed ANYTHING. He made us feel like royalty- I've really never experienced such amazing service at a hotel before. He also upgraded us to an amazing suite which was a fantastic surprise.

Breakfast is included in the price of the room. You can choose to eat in the beautiful open air restaurant that overlooks the jungle and ocean or have it delivered to your room. We had breakfast delivered to our room one morning, but we chose to eat in the restaurant other days because of the beautiful views and amazing staff. I must say that Luis was especially wonderful. We asked him to help us practice our Spanish, so he made a point to speak Spanish to us every day, ask us questions about our stay in Costa Rica, and tell us a bit about himself. He was just amazing, and the Gaia is lucky to have him. In terms of food, the Costa Rican breakfast (rice & beans with plantains and eggs) was my favorite. The croissant french toast was delicious as well. For lunch, there are great salads and sandwiches that you can order and eat out by the pool at one of the many small (and fairly empty/private while we were there) pool decks. Dinner was also great- huge portions, delicious fish, and great service.

The concierge office was very helpful about booking day trips and excursions. They also have a free car service to drive you to and from town whenever you want. Since the hotel is not right on the beach, having the car service came in very handy. The owners of the resort are very visible and present and make a point to introduce themselves to each guest and make them feel welcome. It almost feels like you're guests in their home.

The final thing I'll share is what truly solidified that this hotel is unlike any other. At about 8pm on the night before we were scheduled to depart, one of the concierge staff called us to tell us that he'd spotted a flat tire on our rental car. He assured us not to worry about it and said he'd take care of it. Little did we know that "take care of it" mean that after his scheduled shift had ended (9/10pm), he took the car to his friend's auto body shop and had a spare tire put on the car for us. We were never billed for this, and when we asked he just told us not to worry about it. Since we still needed the car for an additional 4 days, he and one of the owners also called and emailed our rental car company numerous times to help us get things sorted out and make sure we could get a new car. We drove back to San Jose on the spare tire, and they made us promise we'd call them if anything happened on the way so they could come and "rescue" us. They were genuinely concerned for our safety and went out of their way to make sure that this didn't put a damper on our time in Costa Rica.

All in all, this place was amazing. I wouldn't even dream of staying anywhere else in Manuel Antonio. I've never been so sad to leave a hotel before, and I can't wait to go back.

Thank you Gaia for an amazing vacation!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmschuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind and sincere posting on this TripAdvisor forum. Our entire staff is thrilled that we met your every expectation.
Each and every one of us here at Gaia consider this as our home and your flat tire was fixed by our staff because for your time here, you were a member of our family.
We are nothing short of 5 star service here at Gaia and any inconvenience that our guests might experience is quickly solved.
Before, during and after your stay here at Gaia, we wish your memories will be cherished for a very long time.
You are welcome back at any time and we wish you the very best for the coming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This Costa Rican boutique hotel/spa is tops, literally and in all other respects. Perched on a hilltop amid a coastal forest, Gaia is an all-white jewel sparkling in the tropical sun with glorious views of both forest and sea. Upon arrival, you'll board a golf cart and be whisked up the beautifully landscaped hillside where a very friendly and professional staff awaits. After a welcome drink and some fresh fruit, you're given a brief tour of the luxurious facilities. The rooms are sleekly appointed, and the small but well-equipped spa offers relaxation after a day of exploring Manuel Antonio National Park or lazing by the multi-tiered infinity pool complete with thundering waterfall. The restaurant is on a terrace open to embrace those amazing views, and, yes, the food is as splendid as everything else. Consider this an unqualified rave!

Room Tip: If you really want to splurge, book the Gaia Suite with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Our recent guests from Santa Fe, NM truly understood what Gaia is all about. They captured the sublime nature of our architecture and overall peaceful and gentile atmosphere.
As an adults only property, we pride ourselves in making sure our guests are taken care of well beyond their expectations.
This is in line with our continuous saying that our guests here at Gaia are presented with and experience more than they expect and all that they deserve.
Thank you for taking your personal time to pass your comments on to readers of this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Gaia is the perfect adult oriented boutique hotel for a romantic getaway. In this case, you really do get what you pay for. What makes this hotel a standout: 1. Location: perched on a cliff with breathtaking views of the reserve, surrounding hillside and water, with gorgeous views of sunsets from the pools and restaurant; 2. Staff: the high staff to guest ratio and amazing service orientation of the staff made us feel like special, invited guests; the front desk capably took care of all of our activity reservations, so we had to do nothing for ourselves - a real treat; 3. The reserve: it is a bonus that the hotel is located on a reserve, which local animals and birds call home.

Room Tip: If you can swing the cost of a rooftop suite, this is a location where it would be worth the expense...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Our recent guests from Chicago are spot on! Our location is private and away from all the commercial activities of Manuel Antonio, yet only a short drive away to the beautiful beaches and the National Park. And of course, complimentary transportation provided by one of our chauffeurs.

And our staff are our best kept secret. They never seem to disappoint our guests and certainly embrace their every request and desire. Nothing is too small or complicated to make our guests stay here at Gaia nothing short of memorable.

Our reserve is private just for our guests here at Gaia. Providing a complimentary tour each morning truly enlightens our guests perspective on all the wildlife and plants/trees that are so abundant here in Costa Rica. It serves as a natural corridor for migration of birds and animals during different seasons of the year.

Thanking our guest from Chicago for sharing their wonderful experience here on this Tripadvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.1 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
2.3 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.6 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,018 reviews
1.4 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
535 reviews
1.6 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,798 - ₹ 27,853
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing