We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$140
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$130
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
Orbitz.com
$130
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
Hotels.com$130
Priceline$147
Travelocity$130
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
163
244
100
47
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
163
244
100
47
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shipping containers carts hill pools sunset iguanas ocean costa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2020 via mobile

El Faro is in a nice spot, close to the entrance of the park and near shops / places to eat. It also has two little pools and a great view. The aircon was great too.

However:
- it’s up a gruelling hill (we were told the golf carts weren’t working... but saw them working later)
- the rooms are made of shipping containers and a bit awkward to move around (and small)
- they needed a good clean — there was blood on our sheets and dead bugs on the wall
- the staff all seemed to have no idea what was going on and we’re very mean when we accidentally locked our key in our room
- the linen and towels were old and scratchy

At this price point, I would highly recommend staying elsewhere.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank Melbourne0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2020

The view is perfect! Buttt the service is terrible the staff just don't know what they are doing it's clear that the manager never work in this area before, she told us that she's the new owner of the hotel but one of the employers said that she's the girlfriend of the owner, I just feel sorry for all of them. I will never go back to this hotel again, stay away from hotel El faro because you can't be part of such a cruel treatment of the employees.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Bb202065
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2020

Bit of a climb to get to, but worth it. really good rooms, great showers, cool with a good view of the bay. Be prepared to share breakfast time with the local monkeys (vv smart monkeys), 2 small but very nice pools, staff great, food great. A good place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2020
1  Thank fenfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2020

Stayed here for 4 nights during second week of February. The hotel is off a secondary street and up a hill from traffic noise. The walk up the hill from the separate office and the slightly higher parking lot was tough when we were very hot or tired - but a staff member always was happy to drive us up in cart. Two separate buildings joined by a walkway from the restaurant area on the top of the lower building to the pool area on the lower level of the upper building. Our room was on lower floor of the upper building, overlooking the great pool and a nice ocean view from private balcony as just that building has. Each building has a small elevator so you need not take the stairs to your level. Staff were very helpful and friendly. A good breakfast included - choice of beans and rice with eggs, omelette, pancakes or fruitplate as well as lots of good coffee and fresh juices. Had 2 good seafood suppers there. The drinks from the bar are very good. Good wines. Only bad experience was a pina colada which was made from crappy frozen mix. Otherwise all drinks I had here and elsewhere were made from fresh juices.

The room was clean, simple, comfortable with variety of seating, kitchenette, & 2 good chairs and a table on the balcony. As the unit is narrow, one side of the bed is fully against the wall which can be a bit awkward for the person on that side. Our room was the first one beside the elevator. Heard nothing would not normally expect in a hotel.

Hope to stay at El Faro again!

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank mitch_halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

Spent 2 wonderful days on the Hill. Loved the concept of reused containers, loved the pools, loved the restaurant deck, and found the staff so cheerful. Great deal for a perfect location - a few minute stroll to beachside restaurants and bars as well as the gates to Manual Antonio.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SAglobetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews