We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Faro Beach Hotel
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Set amongst the Manuel Antonio hills this hotel offers superb views of the Pacific Ocean. Sit in the restaurant watching the monkeys jump through the trees. Only a few minutes walk from the beach and the Manuel Antonio National Park where you can spend time spotting the animals and other species in the forest or relaxing on the beach. Watch out for the raccoons.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank KymT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

28 - 32 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017

Set high up on the hill, has great views of the sea and forest area. Very close the national park of Manuel Antonio. The hotel reception is lower down and offers a transfer by golf buggy, which we only used on check in and out for our luggage, the rest of the time we used the steps. There are two swimming pools. A restaurant/bar with friendly staff and it also serves a buffet breakfast with ordered hot food. There is a towel loan for the pool. Walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants. The rooms are narrow with a strange bed arrangement that takes up most of the space. However, the location and wildlife that comes marauding around makes up for that. We had visitations from spider monkeys a few times whilst at the pool and wild deer wandering around, as well as the bird spotting. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cherryblossom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Perfect location. Nice pool and massage on site. Walking distance from restaurants, groceries, starbuck at the corner. We stayed on the reef side (204) It was great and clean. Service at arrival and on premises was excellent. Live Playa

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

El Faro Beach Hotel is a great little hotel only a few steps from Manuel Antonio National Park and about a 15 minute walk to the beach, if that. The hotel is made out of old shipping containers built into the side of a steep hill. Because of this, every room has amazing views of the public beach. There are iguanas that hang around the lower pool (there are two outdoor pools at the hotel) which is fun. Monkeys visit the trees around the area so while you're eating at the El Faro restaurant you can see them jumping the branches. It has really great ambiance.

The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The food at the restaurant was adequate, but the pancakes at breakfast were out of this world! They were having some plumbing issues while we were there so at times our room smelled a little funky, but I don't think this is typical and it wasn't like this for whole week we were there. The hot water was hot and the cold water was cold, not problems with that. The AC in our room worked well which really helped with the natural humidity of the jungle. I do have to emphasize that the hill the hotel was built into was exceptionally steep and even though there were stairs, I imagine it would have been hard for anyone with a disability to manage on a daily basis. The hotel staff do have a golf cart that they use to help ferry guests up and down the hill with their luggage at their request.

Overall, this is a great choice for a visit to Manuel Antonio National Park!

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room higher up so you don't have to deal with the noise at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jilliannowlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed with my son here for a couple of nights in order to visit the Manuel Antonio National Park - and to see a sloth!
The hotel is made of sea containers and is set high up on a hill overlooking the ocean - beautiful!
I was a bit daunted when I first saw how high up on the hill that it was but there's a golf buggy shuttle that takes you and your luggage, or just you, up and down the hill.
There's a couple of pools with great views and a beautifully situated cafe - wonderful spot for sundowners or breakfast.
We walked to the park, literally next door - and yes, did find a couple of sloths, and an iguana, vultures, crabs, toucans and racoons. .. And had a relaxing time on the fabulous beach.
A great day in a wonderful spot.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank soosmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.1 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
945 reviews
4.2 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#14 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
477 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#18 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
561 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#33 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
587 reviews
1.4 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#9 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Faro Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Faro Beach Hotel

Address: 75 meters from Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio XQP, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: ₹ 6,364 - ₹ 16,299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Faro Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Costa Rica's one and only Container Hotel. Authentic shipping containers, having had a previous storied life on the sea, have been stylishly transformed into a unique Eco-friendly hotel you'll not see elsewhere. Mindful of our fragile surroundings, El Faro Beach Hotel has been carefully designed to back naturally into the hillside contours of Manuel Antonio National Park. Complete with its tall ceilings, private balconies and original wood floors, you'll enjoy all the amenities of a luxury hotel while promoting sustainability in this virgin rainforest meets ocean setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your El Faro Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing