We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
147
213
78
33
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
213
78
33
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shipping containers steep hill golf cart container hotel national park sea containers cool concept interesting hotel manuel antonio park infinity pool the hotel reception literally next door perfect location comfy bed costa rica walking distance to the beach your luggage
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Set high up on the hill, has great views of the sea and forest area. Very close the national park of Manuel Antonio. The hotel reception is lower down and offers a transfer by golf buggy, which we only used on check in and out for our luggage, the rest of the time we used the steps. There are two swimming pools. A restaurant/bar with friendly staff and it also serves a buffet breakfast with ordered hot food. There is a towel loan for the pool. Walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants. The rooms are narrow with a strange bed arrangement that takes up most of the space. However, the location and wildlife that comes marauding around makes up for that. We had visitations from spider monkeys a few times whilst at the pool and wild deer wandering around, as well as the bird spotting. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cherryblossom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Perfect location. Nice pool and massage on site. Walking distance from restaurants, groceries, starbuck at the corner. We stayed on the reef side (204) It was great and clean. Service at arrival and on premises was excellent. Live Playa

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

El Faro Beach Hotel is a great little hotel only a few steps from Manuel Antonio National Park and about a 15 minute walk to the beach, if that. The hotel is made out of old shipping containers built into the side of a steep hill. Because of this, every room has amazing views of the public beach. There are iguanas that hang around the lower pool (there are two outdoor pools at the hotel) which is fun. Monkeys visit the trees around the area so while you're eating at the El Faro restaurant you can see them jumping the branches. It has really great ambiance.

The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The food at the restaurant was adequate, but the pancakes at breakfast were out of this world! They were having some plumbing issues while we were there so at times our room smelled a little funky, but I don't think this is typical and it wasn't like this for whole week we were there. The hot water was hot and the cold water was cold, not problems with that. The AC in our room worked well which really helped with the natural humidity of the jungle. I do have to emphasize that the hill the hotel was built into was exceptionally steep and even though there were stairs, I imagine it would have been hard for anyone with a disability to manage on a daily basis. The hotel staff do have a golf cart that they use to help ferry guests up and down the hill with their luggage at their request.

Overall, this is a great choice for a visit to Manuel Antonio National Park!

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room higher up so you don't have to deal with the noise at the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jilliannowlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed with my son here for a couple of nights in order to visit the Manuel Antonio National Park - and to see a sloth!
The hotel is made of sea containers and is set high up on a hill overlooking the ocean - beautiful!
I was a bit daunted when I first saw how high up on the hill that it was but there's a golf buggy shuttle that takes you and your luggage, or just you, up and down the hill.
There's a couple of pools with great views and a beautifully situated cafe - wonderful spot for sundowners or breakfast.
We walked to the park, literally next door - and yes, did find a couple of sloths, and an iguana, vultures, crabs, toucans and racoons. .. And had a relaxing time on the fabulous beach.
A great day in a wonderful spot.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank soosmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

The whole concept of the hotel is very interesting container rooms are something I thought would not be comfortable but I was wrong. The hotel is on the mountainside and has amazing views as well as an infinity pool. Happy hour from 4-6 and food was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melib2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews