We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
El Faro Beach Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$ 312
US$ 274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mansion Inn(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$ 167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$ 195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$ 124
US$ 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Byblos Resort & Casino(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$ 111
US$ 103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$ 384
US$ 212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karahe Beach Hotel(Manuel Antonio)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Makanda by the Sea(Manuel Antonio)
US$ 367
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$ 791
US$ 752
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveller rating
729
165
40
23
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
729
165
40
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonkey roomnational parkfriendly deercosta ricapublic beachother guestsminute walk to the beachentrance to manuel antonio parkbeach towelshot breakfastevery morningclosest hotelboogie boardssmall poolsquirrel monkeysma parkhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 974 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I really enjoyed our stay at La Posada. The bungalows are lovely, and the front of the hotel doesn't do them justice at all. The location is great, right at the opening of the park, and it's just a short foot-path walk away from the lovely beach. We saw a white-faced monkeys at the hotel at breakfast time too!

Mike, the owner, was nice and friendly, Jonathon and Esteban were wonderful and accomodating, helping to set up whatever we needed as far as making reservations for activities. We zip-lined, white-water rafted, and took the tour through the park where we saw tons of wildlife: sloths, many different types of monkeys, iguanas, and other wildlife, and the beaches are truly something to behold. I recommend this as a stop, however I understand that in the high season it gets pretty crowded so this may be tiresome for some people. As it was, the amount of people when we went were very manageable.

Room Tip: Take one of the bungalows. I loved that.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayleyrae_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Four of us shared an apartment next to park entrance. We couldn't believe how nice and large the apartment was. It has a screened porch where we watched monkeys. Nicely kept grounds with pool. The breakfast buffet was very good. The manager cooked for about 10 of us one night for $7.00, including dessert and a movie. We ate at Hostal Linda up the street twice and were very pleased with price and quality of food. LaPosada arranged a guide for our group of four. Flanders was terrific. We saw lots of wildlife with our eyes and his scope binoculars. We liked being so close to park. It was quiet at night, like a small town. Staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms. Recommend apartment for group of up to six. Comfy futons in living area.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This hotel is located in a perfect spot in Manuel Antonio. It is located right outside the park entrance. Once you enter the actual park it is a 10 minute walk to the beautiful beaches, or longer if you see howler monkeys, lizards, and other amazing creatures on the way!
The hotel itself is wonderful! We stayed here in July/August on our honeymoon and loved it.
We stayed in one of the bungalows, and really enjoyed the grounds. The only drawback may have been it was hard to get any of our beach stuff to completely dry in the bungalow, so I woud recommend to Mike and Jonathan that it would be great to set up clothes lines at each bungalow.
The staff, including Mike, Jonathan, and all the others were very nice and helpful in food and activity recommendations. Sadly we got confused and thought we had another night at the hotel, but when we came back at 2pm from the beach they informed us that the bungalow was booked by a new group. At this point they could have just kicked us out and charged us a fee, but instead they booked us at a hotel next door in the suite and got us an incredible discounted rate, and invited us to breakfast the next morning! So thank you to Jonathan and the rest of the staff for the great stay and going out of your way to make our honeymoon great!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CGoodTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We travelled around Costa Rica for three weeks and wanted to stay in Manuel Antonio for our last few days overseas; as they say "we wanted to save the best for last". Due to unforeseen circumstances we could only stay in Manuel Antonio for two nights. That was really a disappointment, because Manuel Antonio is lovely and La Posada is a fantastic place to stay. We did not have the opportunity to make any reservations during our trip, so we went to La Posada hoping that they had a room for us. Unfortunately they did not have any doubles left, but for a nice price we were welcome to stay in "The Villa" (6 pax). It was absolutely amazing: a kitchen, two bathrooms with both fab showers, two queensize beds, which were very comfy, two bedsofa's in the livingroom, a private balcony (direct next to the park, have seen a monkey sitting in a tree just outside the window) and A/C on both floors. The accommodation was very clean and smelled fresh (unlike some other places where we have stayed, where the humidity resulted in molds). The staff was friendly and more than helpfull. Breakfast was good and varied each day with regard to the pastries. The pizza you can order during the day (till 8 pm?!?!?) is huge and very tasty. Also, three days a week movie-nights are organized, which includes dinner (prepared by Jonathan). The location was perfect, just a three minute stroll to the beach and within a minute you are standing in the park! Loved, loved, loved La Posada!!!! We wished we could have stayed MUCH longer!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinnie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I rarely right reviews & this place already has of the charts ratings so it's not like mine will make much difference but we were so blow away with this place we couldn't help ourselves wanting to give back a little.

Me and my girlfriend spent 14 days exploring Costa Rica and stayed in 10 different hotels/cabins in many different areas of the country. Most of the places were great - awesome and all a similar price. We only spent 1 night in all except 2, 3 nights at La Posada & 1 other place in the OSA area. That said, overall La Posada was the winner, hence the 3 nights. Let me just start by saying the only nit picky negatives I can think of are I wished we were informed that the road was being paved in the morning so we wouldn't have gotten our car trapped the first day we were there. No biggie but could have been. And that the WIFI signal reached the back cabin. OK now to good stuff!!! It's not the swankiest of joints but with everything you get who cares?

* Perfect Location - Great weather, beautiful surf beach a stones throw away, walk to shops, bars, restaurants, next door to Park entrance. New bonus! Paved road right to the door :P
* Sweet Cabins - Clean & fully loaded with modern comforts.
* Nice little pool & hot tub surrounded by beautiful grounds.
* Stella breakfast included.
* Free WIFI (spotty in back cabin though).
* Free international & local calls.
* On site restaurant with good prices.
* Super friendly staff especially Mike the owner!
* Very competitive rates.

Other great touches like the daily chalk board with local events you might want to check out that day/night (free drinks for ladies at bar X etc). Dinner & a movie nights at the hotel. Free loan of surf boards & umbrellas (good quality Malibu boards, Boggie boards & flippers could use an upgrade - but they had flippers!). The family feel & warm hospitality really set them apart for us. We wished we had more time here!

TIP - They do offer a 10% discount on tours if you book through the hotel which is cool & a good deal for most. However if you are a good negotiator like me you might be able to get a better rate directly. I was able to save 25% but it was the Slow Season ; )

Room Tip: Rear cabins might not get WIFI
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 47OHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews