We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$ 149
Orbitz.comUS$ 149
Booking.comUS$ 149
PricelineUS$ 166
eDreamsUS$ 149
getaroom.comUS$ 260
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,481)
Filter reviews
2,517 results
Traveller rating
1,975
328
139
50
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,975
328
139
50
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews playa biesanz lounge bar costa rica direct access pool area junior suite pura vida excellent hotel rain shower small beach golf cart ocean view happy hour beautiful room steep hill last stop main restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 2,517 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2019

We have been at the Shana Hotel September 2019 for 3 days. The property was amazing and everything was nice. The hotel was not full, just few customers ,I guess the low season. The staff was very friendly and the service was perfect. we enjoyed our stay and we hope to go back in the very near future.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robertofillini
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Public Relations Manager at Shana By The Beach Manuel Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Dear robertofillini

Thank You so much for selecting Shana By The Beach Hotel and Spa as your vacation destination. We appreciate it very much. Our guest experience is important to us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and services. We hope you had a chance to try our woodfired pizzas and seafood dishes, the spa and the nature trail to the beach. Thanks for taking the time to write this review and give us a 5 Star Recommendation. We hope to see you again soon.

Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2019 via mobile

This is our 3rd time in Costa Rica and at the Shana by the beach hotel. The property as usual so beautiful and i must say much better than before. Rooms are renovated, new comfortable beds, garden is so nice and the staff always the same. The new Hit is the direct access to the best beach in Manuel Antonio Playa Biessnz.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank christian_heimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Public Relations Manager at Shana By The Beach Manuel Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Dear christian_heimann

It was so great to see you again. Our guest experience is very important to us at Shana By The Beach Hotel and Spa. Thanks for noticing all the new updates and renovations at the hotel. We are so glad you had a chance to check out our new nature trail to the beach. We hope you were able to take the time and enjoy all the wildlife on the property along the way. Thank you so much for coming to stay with us again and writing this lovely review and giving us the 5 Star recommendation. We appreciate it very much and looking forward to seeing you again.

Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2019

That was just amazing Hotel in the middle of the jungle and direct by the pacific ocean. The beach was so beautiful and Walking through the jungle to reach it,was like a dream. Walking to the beach using the Hotel direct Access is like 3 min, but we always spent like 30 min beacause we loved watching the monkeys, Slots and all other different Kind of animals. At the Shana Hotel, you can see more animals than in the national park. All the property was beautiful, clean, well maintained and the garden made it more beautiful. We already miss being there and we miss all the friendly workers who made our Holidays very Special. Thank you all, we will recommend your beautiful Hotel and we will come back. Pura Vida.

Room tip: Rooms up to the pool area have the best ocean views.
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tomkerrihardost
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Public Relations Manager at Shana By The Beach Manuel Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Dear tomkerrihardost

We appreciate you selecting Shana By The Beach Hotel and Spa as your vacation destination in Costa Rica. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed all the wildlife on our private nature trail and to the beach. We often get guests comments about how nice the trail is and how it feels like taking a nature hike in the park. Our guest experience is important to us. Glad to read you enjoyed our accommodations, services and hope that you were able to our woodfire pizzas and our seafood dishes. Thank for taking the time to write this lovely review and giving us a 5 Star Recommendation. We appreciate it very much and hope to see you again soon.

Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2019

We very much enjoyed our three-night stay at Shana. We had an ocean-view room, which we highly recommend for great sunsets.

FACILITIES/AMENITIES

Pool. Shana has a great pool area, adjacent to the al fresca restaurant and large pool bar. The pool area has a kids pool but no hot tub unfortunately. The pool overlooks the ocean, although it is obstructed, in a good way, by the natural forestry. We saw several monkeys and sloths playing throughout our stay in the trees. One nice things about the pool bar is Shana offers a happy hour everyday from 3-6 pm, where the otherwise most expensive drinks are 2-for-1, including pina coladas, daiquiris (made with fresh fruit), mojitos, etc.

Beach. Consistent with its name, Shana has direct access to Playa Biesanz, which—although not a private beach—is lauded by locals as one of the premier beaches in the area, due to its white sand, beautiful surroundings (greenery/forestry), WARM and calm water. Playa Biesanz is not touristy, and there is no one selling anything other than a few local stands with fresh ceviche and coconut water. The walk to the beach from Shana is about five minutes downhill, and the walk back is about 15 minutes :)

Restaurant. The restaurant is fantastic and FRESH. We recommend getting a room package that comes with breakfast included (most guests seem to have this). The breakfast includes one made-to-order dish (traditional Costa Rican fare, with eggs, rice, beans, and plantains, as well as other dishes like omelets and pancakes), as well as unlimited fresh fruit, pastries, coffee, and juice. Although we did not eat dinner there, we did try several appetizer/lunch items when basking at the pool, and the food was consistently excellent.

ROOM

Our ocean-view rooms was better than could be expected. It was spacious and clean, and came with a large bathroom and—most important—a balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. We always looked forward to the great sunsets from the balcony, while enjoying one final drink from the happy hour special :) Our room had standard amenities in good working order, including a secure safe, refrigerator, iron, etc.

STAFF

Where Shana truly excels is its hospitality driving by its incredible staff. We have stayed in hotels in numerous countries and Shana stands out above the rest. The staff was always willing to help, and someone found a way to go above and beyond in every instance. From check in (where we were given a personal tour of the grounds, along with complimentary fresh fruit and beers), to seeking to arrange tours (Shana hooked us up with the best tour company for Manuel Antonio National Park), to transportation (Shana arranged for taxi service at a moment’s notice / literally within ten minutes of calling the front desk, as well as below-market transfers to San Jose), to the everyday hospitality poolside and in the restaurant.

American hotels could learn immensely from this level of hospitality.

Although our interactions with all staff members were favorable, we would like to shout out several people who went above the call of duty to ensure our stay was special: Katie/Keiry (pool area), Michelle (reception), James (reception), Elie (reception), and Javier (restaurant).

LOCATION

Shana is in an ideal location, situated between Manuel Antonio National Park and Quepos (biggest city in the area). The hotel is located at the bottom of a large hill where most resorts are located. By “large,” we mean LARGE, where the drive down seemed treacherous at first, but then normal by the end. The closest commercial area from the hotel is “at the top of the hill,” as we were told, which is a somewhat strenuous 30-minute uphill walk. Although it does make for good exercise, the hotel can call a taxi—for any reason, actually—which costs about $7 USD to the top of the hill. Once there, there is a convenience store, pharmacy, and ATM, as well as two popular local restaurants: Emilio’s and Cuba Libre—both of which overlook the water and have amazing lunch and dinner options, as well as live music on weekends.

Most important, of course, is proximity to Manuel Antonio National Park. It is an easy ten-minute drive from the hotel to the Park. Shana arranged a tour service (Jade Tours) that included tickets to the Park, and round-trip transportation from the hotel. We could not recommend Jade Tours (especially our guide, Dylan) more highly. Shana got us a favorable rate for the tour, which was less than guests from other hotels in our group.

Side note: obviously, visiting the Park is a MUST. Without going into too much detail, there is easily enough to do for one full day, including various hiking trails and three stunning beaches.

Lastly, Shana is about a 15-minute drive from Quepos, which is the best and largest area for a true local cultural experience. A taxi each way costs a flat-rate of $10 USD.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank BriChi1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Public Relations Manager at Shana By The Beach Manuel Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Dear BriChi1907

WOW, thank you so much for wonderful review. Thanks for selecting Shana By The Beach Hotel and Spa as your vacation destination in Costa Rica. Our guest experience is very important to us. We are so thrilled to read your detailed review. Thanks for the shout out to our staff. They will be super happy to read your comments.

We are so glad you enjoyed the accommodations, had a chance to experience to nature trails to the beach, enjoyed the staff services and took advantage for the pool and property amenities. It was our pleasure hosting you during your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to write us this amazing review and giving us a 5 Star recommendation. We appreciate it very much and are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2019

I’m a frequent review reader and an infrequent reviewer, but one thing I’ve learned about reviews is that they are typically more about the person writing the review and less about the actual space. That said, I find a little background always helps. We have two kids (4 and 9) and have been to Costa Rica before and wanted to take our children, so we knew what to expect. We wanted to return to Manuel Antonio and initially looked at going back to Si Como No and instead, because of the two king beds, kitchenette and private beach, we chose Shana. We booked online, called and confirmed, and scheduled a transport and a tour of Manuel Antonio through the hotel, which I highly recommend. Okay, now the hotel:
Food- It’s pretty good. We appreciate an included breakfast and we ate at the hotel numerous times. Some people say it is expensive and I’m not sure, it was roughly what we paid for food everywhere.
Beach- Yeah, it’s a little rocky, but it was calm and close (you do have to walk up a hill to get back-gasp) and our kids loved it.
Pool- Fine, there is a resident sloth that we saw almost daily which my kids loved and there are monkeys everywhere. The pool was cool, fine size for us and our kids had a blast. But we could go almost anywhere and if they can swim they'll be happy.
Cleanliness- fine
Service- Javier was our server every morning for breakfast and he was kind and helpful and knew my kids order before we walked in. Yasura patiently helped me work on my Spanish in conversation which was much appreciated. Everyone was nice and polite and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience.
So yeah, I don't know about the negative reviews, this was great, we had an awesome time and though our air conditioning broke everyone was super helpful and they got us moved right away.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LLB481
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shana-Management, Public Relations Manager at Shana By The Beach Manuel Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Dear LLB481

It was a pleasure meeting you and your family. Thanks for selecting Shana By The Beach Hotel and Spa as your family vacation destination. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your accommodations, services and the amenities of the hotel and all the awesome wildlife on the property. Our guest experience is very important to us. Javier and others will be happy to read your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to write this very detailed review and giving us a 5 Star Recommendation. We hope to see you again soon.

Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews