We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,482)
Filter reviews
1,482 results
Traveller rating
1,051
254
110
44
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,051
254
110
44
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica pool area biesanz beach small beach junior suite beautiful hotel rain shower golf cart steep hill pura vida fantastic stay ocean view hotel restaurant happy hour our honeymoon national park nice pool
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 1,482 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Great place for couples.
Hotel is very clean and the high quality helpful service. Breakfast is included, and food is really good and tasty.
Area and the view is just amazing.
For shure I will come back there for my next vacation .

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ola Ł
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Owner at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Ola,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on this Tripadvisor forum. Thank you for rating us 5 star. We are glad that we could reach your expectations.Of course we will be very happy if you come back to see us in your next vacation. You will be more than welcome.
Muchas Gracias y Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

My wife and I stayed there 6 nights in September which is low season. Hotel was not very busy however this did not result in lower standards. Because it was in low season we were given an upgrade to a suite which was fabulous and made our stay even more enjoyable. On arriving at our suite we were greated by three spider monkeys sitting on the balcony!! - absolutely amazing. Manuel Antonio is a paradise!! The food was excellent with an extensive menu and prices very reasonable. We were looked after extremely well by the staff, in particular Diego and Carlos were very attentive,friendly and polite. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hols4eva2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Owner at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking your personal time to share your opinion about us on this tripAdvisor forum. We are so happy that you did enjoyed your stay at the Shana Hotel.
when you come back we will for sure upgrade you again. Diego and Carlos thank you for your nice compliments about them and they said they remember you well and they wish to see you again.
Thank you one more time and we wish you all the best.
Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

For me that was the best option in Manuel Antonio as i do not want to go to cheap hotels to avoid bad services and bad surprises. The Shana Hotel was offering a big discount although it is a real five star hotel, so i enjoyed the luxury with the best rate i ever had in Manuel Antonio and Costa Rica. My room was very large and had all what you need for a luxury hotel.The staff and the manger were always there for whatever i needed. I believe other hotels in the área should follow the Shana way by dropping a bit their rates because i do not think Manuel Antonio have hotels for expensive rates except one or two.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank erichurtadoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Owner at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Erichurtadoz,
Thank you so much for taking your personal time to share your opinion on this TripAdvisor Forum. Thank you for rating us 5 star and for choosing us. We are happy that we could make you enjoy your stay with us. we hope to see you more often at Shana By The Beach Hotel,Residence and spa and Manuel Antonio.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We decided to stay at Shana based on reviews and website´s photos. When we got into the room we noticed that the floor is kind of dirty, it´s not that they clean it´s that material makes it look dirty. The room and in general the hotel need some maintenance, specially the paint.
First night was a mess, and we couldn´t sleep because one of the beds sounds with every movement. Next day we went to front desk and they fixed it. The shower didn´t look nice and most of buttons on the wall were broken. The second day the shower got broken and the water began to wet everywhere, we went again to front desk and they fixed it by the afternoon.
We arrived on Wednesday and we left on Saturday, on Friday nobody came to make the room and at 6pm front desk call us and ask "Do you want to have your room make today? Since you are leaving tomorrow we thought that maybe you didn´t want it". Really?!?!?!?!?!?! I still trying to understand why they thought we didn´t want our room made if we were paying for the service in the rate as far as I understand.
I really love Manuel Antonio, and I have been there many times. I like to go different hotels and have different experiences, this is not one of those experiences that would repeat or recomend.

Room Tip: Not what you see on the website
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tatiana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Gerente at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear TatianaCR24,
Thank you for sharing your opinion of our property.
We are totally puzzled about your review.
First thing that calls our attention are the beds. Our beds are brand new, and we sincerely don't understand the "bed sounds".
Head showers can brake due water pressure issues, and we are glad that our maintenance team was able to fix it promptly.
According to our housekeeping report, your room has been cleaned regularly - as every other room - every day with no exception on Friday, and we check our reception log to understand this part of your review. However we couldn't find anything out of ordinary.
At Shana By The Beach, we always deliver - to all our guests - more services than expected; for this reason we do not understand your review/opinion.
We sincerely hope to have you back in the future, to clear up this misunderstanding.

Thank you


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

I visited this wonderful hotel in paradise with my two 9 years old twin sons! It was a fantastic experience! My sons were left memories for their rest of their life! Our room was gorgeous and very comfy! The food was so delicious and various! The resort its self very beautiful and well maintained! And the staff was so polite, so efficient, friendly, so attentive and fullfiled all the wishes!Very professional and costumer orientated personnel! There are also a lot of things you can see there..we walked in the magic rainforest, we fed monkeys, we went for a jeep safari and a lot of other things! We highly recommend this resort and would like to thank everybody cor such a nice stay! Bravo!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank kostya-vasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Gerente at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Kostya-vasin,
It was our pleasure serving you!
We are glad that we met your expectations!
Here in Shana By The Beach, we always deliver the best service we can!
Gracias y saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews