We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 October 2017

It is a small hike down to the beach. The room is clean. It is so comfortable place. We definite want to go back and stay at this hotel again. Breakfast was fabulous. The restaurant has a nice view. The pool area are impressive. The staff are so helpful in guiding us to tour and the surround area.

Room Tip: pretty place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0tus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Owner at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Lotus5,
Thank you very much for this positive review shared on TripAdvisor. We are happy that we could reach your expectations and we wish to welcome you again at The Shana Hotel and Manuel Antonio Costa Rica.
Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Great place for couples.
Hotel is very clean and the high quality helpful service. Breakfast is included, and food is really good and tasty.
Area and the view is just amazing.
For shure I will come back there for my next vacation .

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ola Ł
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Owner at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Ola,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on this Tripadvisor forum. Thank you for rating us 5 star. We are glad that we could reach your expectations.Of course we will be very happy if you come back to see us in your next vacation. You will be more than welcome.
Muchas Gracias y Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

My wife and I stayed there 6 nights in September which is low season. Hotel was not very busy however this did not result in lower standards. Because it was in low season we were given an upgrade to a suite which was fabulous and made our stay even more enjoyable. On arriving at our suite we were greated by three spider monkeys sitting on the balcony!! - absolutely amazing. Manuel Antonio is a paradise!! The food was excellent with an extensive menu and prices very reasonable. We were looked after extremely well by the staff, in particular Diego and Carlos were very attentive,friendly and polite. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hols4eva2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Owner at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking your personal time to share your opinion about us on this tripAdvisor forum. We are so happy that you did enjoyed your stay at the Shana Hotel.
when you come back we will for sure upgrade you again. Diego and Carlos thank you for your nice compliments about them and they said they remember you well and they wish to see you again.
Thank you one more time and we wish you all the best.
Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

For me that was the best option in Manuel Antonio as i do not want to go to cheap hotels to avoid bad services and bad surprises. The Shana Hotel was offering a big discount although it is a real five star hotel, so i enjoyed the luxury with the best rate i ever had in Manuel Antonio and Costa Rica. My room was very large and had all what you need for a luxury hotel.The staff and the manger were always there for whatever i needed. I believe other hotels in the área should follow the Shana way by dropping a bit their rates because i do not think Manuel Antonio have hotels for expensive rates except one or two.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank erichurtadoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Owner at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Erichurtadoz,
Thank you so much for taking your personal time to share your opinion on this TripAdvisor Forum. Thank you for rating us 5 star and for choosing us. We are happy that we could make you enjoy your stay with us. we hope to see you more often at Shana By The Beach Hotel,Residence and spa and Manuel Antonio.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We decided to stay at Shana based on reviews and website´s photos. When we got into the room we noticed that the floor is kind of dirty, it´s not that they clean it´s that material makes it look dirty. The room and in general the hotel need some maintenance, specially the paint.
First night was a mess, and we couldn´t sleep because one of the beds sounds with every movement. Next day we went to front desk and they fixed it. The shower didn´t look nice and most of buttons on the wall were broken. The second day the shower got broken and the water began to wet everywhere, we went again to front desk and they fixed it by the afternoon.
We arrived on Wednesday and we left on Saturday, on Friday nobody came to make the room and at 6pm front desk call us and ask "Do you want to have your room make today? Since you are leaving tomorrow we thought that maybe you didn´t want it". Really?!?!?!?!?!?! I still trying to understand why they thought we didn´t want our room made if we were paying for the service in the rate as far as I understand.
I really love Manuel Antonio, and I have been there many times. I like to go different hotels and have different experiences, this is not one of those experiences that would repeat or recomend.

Room Tip: Not what you see on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TatianaCR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana-Management, Gerente at Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear TatianaCR24,
Thank you for sharing your opinion of our property.
We are totally puzzled about your review.
First thing that calls our attention are the beds. Our beds are brand new, and we sincerely don't understand the "bed sounds".
Head showers can brake due water pressure issues, and we are glad that our maintenance team was able to fix it promptly.
According to our housekeeping report, your room has been cleaned regularly - as every other room - every day with no exception on Friday, and we check our reception log to understand this part of your review. However we couldn't find anything out of ordinary.
At Shana By The Beach, we always deliver - to all our guests - more services than expected; for this reason we do not understand your review/opinion.
We sincerely hope to have you back in the future, to clear up this misunderstanding.

Thank you


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.3 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,609 reviews
0.3 km away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
592 reviews
1.3 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,498 reviews
1.1 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,435 reviews
1.4 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa

Address: Carretera Punta Quepos | 900 meters southest from Cafe milagro , Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: ₹ 9,062 - ₹ 35,730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shana Hotel is the world’s leading brand in exclusive lifestyle boutique hotels. Embracing the culture, beauty, purity and perfection of its natural environment. Shana Hotel in Manuel Antonio, guarantees guests a unique and exclusive travel experience. Complimented by distinguished design, organic local cuisine, ecological adventures and exceptional hotel amenities, this new hotel in Costa Rica is among of the most exclusive and prestigious lifestyle hotels in the world. With that premise in mind, the Shana Hotel provides visitors a fabulous selection of 27 rooms, all with exceptional garden and ocean views. Choose from Superior or Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites or pamper yourself in the Souss "Spa Lifestyle Suite," a 3 bedroom luxury unit with its own private infinity pool and full kitchen facilities! Book today to start enjoying your dream Costa Rica vacation getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing