We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“THE BALLI HOUSE / COSTA RICA PROVIDED THE MOST...”
other travellers have booked this property
Inside the Main Living Pavilion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Inside the Main Living Pavilion
Pool Main Living Pavilion
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Inside the Main Living Pavilion
Pool
Main Living Pavilion
Pool and Main Living Pavilion
Beach entrance to the Bali House
View of the Bali House from above
Monkeys at the edge of the pool
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Dressing Room
Outside Shower - Master Bedroom
Copper sinks and tubs
Main Living Pavilion
Main Living Pavilion
Master Bathroom
Water feature
Bedroom #4
Jesus Christ Lizard - they walk on water!
Bathroom in Bedroom #4
Bathroom - Bedroom #5
Sunsets on the beach are not to be missed!
Bathroom - Bedroom #3
Beach in front of the Bali House
Beach in front of Bali House looking towards Manuel Antonio National Park
Island right in front of the property
Toucan outside the window
Chairs and Hammocks provided at the beach
Beach in front of our property
The Bali House is located directly behind these palm trees
The beach
A great place to take a nap...
Path from the Bali House to the beach
View of the Bali House when coming back from the beach
Suspended infinity pool
Building which houses bedrooms 4 and 5
Kitchen
Kitchen
Pool and Main Living Pavilion
Decking which connects all of the bedrooms with the main house
Bathroom - Bedroom #3
Bed in Bedroom #2
The Bali House nestled into the rainforest
Bedrooms 2 and 3 on the left
Bridge from Main Living Pavilion to Bedroom #2
Master Suite
Bridge over water feature going from Main Living Pavilion to Master Suite
Pool and poolside Gazebo
Suspended Infinity Edge Pool
Mono Titi Monkey - frequent visitors at the Bali House
Bali House
Pool
Sloth hanging from the mango tree poolside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Smokinsta...
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“THE BALLI HOUSE / COSTA RICA PROVIDED THE MOST AMAZING VACATION / BIRTHDAY EVER”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We saw the Bali House by chance in 2006 during our honeymoon to Costa Rica... and my wife has ALWAYS wanted to return and actually stay at the house. For her 30th birthday, I surprised her by renting the house and having 10 of our closed friends join us to celebrate. Peter, Maria, and Fernanda were absolutely amazing. They made the process of leasing the house, arranging travel, excursions, and everything else a breeze. It really was one of the easiest trips to plan.

The house is everything the description saws and more. The architecture is beautiful, the view is breathtaking, and the access the beach is perfect. The location made it very convenient to get to restaurant, attractions, and excursions. It was simply AMAZING!!

The best part of the trip was the look on everyone's face when we got to the house and saw the view. Picture do not do it justice. The house is perfect, the view is perfect, and the staff is perfect. Will definitely be visiting again... soon I hope!!!

Thanks Peter, Maria, and Fernanda for making this such a memorible vacaton / birthday... I'm sure its one she want forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtSeaAnne
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful Week at Bali House”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We just returned from a wonderful week at Bali House in Manuel Antonio. From the time we began planning a year ago to our departure a week ago, we were very happy we chose Bali House. Peter, the owner was very responsive and easy to work with; Fernando, the house manager and his daughter Maria who helped us with all our plans were a joy to work with.

The house and its setting are fantastic. Beautiful woods are found throughout the house. All bedrooms were very roomy and beautifully furnished. Loved that the main part of the living space opened up onto an expansive deck where we spent many hours relaxing, reading and swimming in the best pool we've ever had at a rental villa. You can see the Pacific from the deck and the roar of the ocean was amazing.

The creatures (monkeys, birds, iguanas, frogs, sloths, etc.) make you realize you really are staying in a jungle. The sights and sounds of all the creatures were one of our favorite things. The beautiful plants and flowers also added to our enjoyment.

Our group enjoyed ziplining, fishing and a trip to the National Park (all were terrific) arranged by Maria. She did a great job getting us the best people for our excursions and the folks she arranged to drive our mini bus for the transfer from and to San Jose did a great job, too.

The house also comes with staff that did everything from clean, do laundry, pool care, tree care and more. They were all friendly and quick to respond to any and every request! We used Fernando and his wife's cooking and serving abilities several days. Dinners were all very good and the banana pancakes for breakfast were delicious. We dined out two nights and there are plenty of options for casual to fine dining. Don't miss the beach bar next to the house (if you are looking at the ocean, it's on your left). We didn't stop here until the last day....big mistake. It was a great spot to grab a drink and watch the water.

It was very hot during the day so we spent little time on the beach. We visited the beach mostly for a morning walk and sunset. OH...the sunsets....AMAZING! I love photographing sunsets and this was among my favorite sunset photo taking spots I've seen.

I always try to write balanced reviews so if I had to choose some things for improvements, I'd prefer a normal shower versus the rain showers in the bathroom. I travel a lot and rain showers aren't my favorite. I'd also like some beach chairs instead of the beach loungers. The loungers were cumbersome to unlock and carry to the beach (we only did this once). The smaller beach chairs would have been used a lot more and easier to carry to the beach. It would have been nice if there was enough room for everyone to sit at the outdoor table on the deck. These are very minor issues but like I said, I like balanced reviews.

One surprise was that I found groceries to be a bit more expensive than I originally anticipated. They were closer to the prices we pay in the Virgin Islands. For a wonderful vacation experience, they weren't bad. It's just that I wouldn't call items inexpensive. Also, allow for a few extra minutes at the San Jose airport when departing. You have to stand in a long line to pay a $29 per person departure tax.

In closing, Manuel Antonio and Bali House is definitely a place we'll return to. It's a special house in a special spot. The wonderful people of Costa Rica made it a special vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The people, the sights and sounds of the animals, the beautiful house
Liked least: Rain shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkuhlsf
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing House for Adults and Kids”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled to Costa Rica for my wife's 40th birthday with 6 adults and 7 kids and the Bali House was the perfect setting for us to enjoy a relaxing week. Peter made the reservation process easy, provided great recommendations for activities, and we had a private chef all week. We didn't worry about the kids at all (ages 6-10) as the pool and outdoor areas were perfect for them to run around and be themselves. The bedrooms were set up perfectly so that the kids could have their own rooms (boys with boys, girls with girls) and the adults had plenty of peace and quiet in our rooms. Highly recommend having a chef, Desiree Brassert (costadezz@gmail.com) did an amazing job catering to all of our food needs and providing the best options across all of our ages. I was a little concerned about the distance to the beach but it turned out to be right behind the house through the trees, lizards and crabs. And the monkeys who visited us every day made us feel like we were in the jungle. All in all a great trip with great friends and great service!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool, The Monkeys, The Location
Liked least: No air conditioning in the main living area
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
thank you for your kind words, we are delighted you had such a nice time!! We intend to trim some of the trees and open up more of the view, one of many things on our constant "to do list". Please come again and let's sit down and share some wines !! Peter & Lily
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SfBloom
1 review
“Perfect place for a family or group of friends”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The house was beautiful. The pool and surroundings lovely. There is a housekeeper and a person who maintains the pool. A group of monkeys came by every morning to the delight of the grandchildren. The caretaker is friendly and very helpful about excursions, taxis you name it. His wife cooks if you want her to. The beach is two or three minutes from the house down a beautiful private path.It is beautiful and relatively quiet.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yanis M
1 review
“THE BEST PLACE TO RELAX AND ENJOY”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Bali House. We enjoyed every minute of our stay there. There are many activities that you can do whenever you want and we really had a lot of fun. The house is just 200 feet from the beach. The interior of the house is itself Artwork and the exterior is surrounded by jungle, monkeys,sloths lizards and more... The sunsets were so beautiful. Everything is very close, sometimes we walked in search for restaurants and bars, other times Fernando and his wife cooked us delicious meals. Excellent staff, they treated us very well.
We had a very nice experience with my friends. We highly recommend it.

Yaneth M.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beauty of the house
Liked least: transportation to Costa Rica
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing