We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a romantic getaway”
Review of Makanda by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Makanda by the Sea
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 October 2017

My wife and I spent 5 days at Makanda by the Sea and we truly enjoyed our stay. We loved that the hotel is in the middle of the jungle, giving us prime access to the surrounding wildlife. We had monkeys visiting our villa's patio every morning, or taking care of the entertainment while we were having dinner.

I was impressed by how clean everything was. The staff does a great job at keeping everything tidy, in addition to being very friendly and helpful.

The food in the hotel is excellent, better than the couple of places we tried outside of the hotel. The restaurant is designed to look like you're sitting on top of the trees and you can enjoy the environment (the surrounding jungle, and the ocean in the background) while enjoying a meal.

Overall, it would be very difficult to not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzNYC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for choosing our property and taking from your time to visit our profile.
Glad that you enjoyed our perfect combination between architecture-design-service-wildlife, besides the gastronomic offer of course. Our Chef and his staff work really hard and put a lot of love to very dish served.
We are already missing you and hoping that you come back soon.
Have a great and blessed day...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Visited Makanda last month during a round trip through Costa Rica and was truly impressed by this amazing place!
Stunning views with amazing facilities. Great food, served by nice, friendly and helpful staff.
I can definitely recommend Makanda for a nice wind down when Staying in Manual Antonio!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for choosing Makanda and visiting our profile!
We really appreciate your kind words.
It is such a blessing to have become a sacred spot for relaxing in this beautiful area.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Have a great and blessed day...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

I arrived at Makanda, and was taken to a villa that smelled like something had died in the pipes. The stench was horrible, until I got to change rooms to the one beside it that smelled so much better. I will say, the architecture is incredible, but thats it.

As for the food, The fish tasted like rubberl. Also, because of the construction and slopes, I saw a few guests fall down while walking to their rooms. Yes they have golf carts, but I was scared for my life the first two nights and couldn't sleep because the golf cart driver literally harassed me and said I had a nice butt, and would wait for me after his shift ended at 9pm so he could take me to town.

I literally could not sleep because I was all by myself and the hotel gets super dark at night with no lights so you will have to use your cell phone flashlights as you walk down and up the steep slopes.

For the price, the hotel is not worth it. And the food is overpriced. I had to pay $23 for nuts which I didn't even eat and that was charged to my bill. Oh well... never again will I visit. I will definitely do a review on instagram.

I also hope the owner will stop harassing me and my fiancé anymore and threaten me about my green card status because of the review. Be a little more professional. If it keeps up, I will be reporting You and your friend to the authorities for Harassment.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebekah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Rebekah Litch,
Please allow us to remind you a few interesting details of your stay with us:
- You stole a credit card from a male companion you shared a room the first night with. He then moved out to another room for the rest of the stay. You tried to put all charges for your room on his credit card without him knowing (we have a written report from him). Regardless we would have not charged his credit card without his signature and/or authorization; he had to report his card stolen just for security.
- When that didn’t work, you sneaked out of the hotel without checking out neither paying your bills (we have a security video available).
- Then you were hiding at the airport being afraid of the police (as per report of your friend).
- Ignored our messages and then blocked us in social media. You want to called this harassment; we were just trying to collect the money.
- Got mad when we found your fiancé (not the one you were staying with) and asked him to reason you to pay your bills, which he did (we have communication with your fiancé on record).
- Then after finally being charged you wrote a review with these made up stories.
The only question is - why would you do this to yourself?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

The perfect place for the honeymoon. We chose Makanda by photo in the Web, but reality exceeds all our expectations. Modern, stylish, with stunning ocean view and wild beach. Excellent service and cuisine. We didn't want to leave. Couple advices.
Before you go to the beach make sure about the time of a tide
Ask golf car driver about the home tree of the Sloth. Driver always stays on top.
Happy hour is 4-6 every day.
General advice: relax and rest in pura vida style. Hotel Makanda is perfect spot for this. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stanislav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Stanislav, thank you for choosing Makanda for such a special occasion and visiting our profile.
We are glad that you had a nice stay while enjoying the perfect combination between great design, excellent staff and wildlife.
Looking forward for your anniversary visit ;-)
Have a great, blessed; long life together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Let me just say that this hotel is beautiful! My boyfriend and I came here to celebrate our anniversary and we stayed in the ocean deluxe suite. I am here to tell you the best time to visit here is during off season (rainy season) because you practically have the whole place to yourselves. The views here were spectacular we were both so in shock the details this hotel had an that wherever you walked, lounged, or ate you had a gorgeous view. Not to mention the wild monkeys swinging above you while in the pool. Some awesome features about this hotel is that it is adult only and there is two beaches you can walk down to...there is a beach with no waves and one with waves (so something for everyone) my boyfriend surfs so he was a veryyy happy camper! He was out there everyday. Such an awesome first experience for us both to Costa Rica!! Thank you Makanda for a great stay we will be back again!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank briannabarteky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAKANDAFAMILY, Management at Makanda by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Brianna,
Thank you for choosing Makanda and visiting our profile.
We really appreciate your kind words, our staff enjoyed taking care of you and we all miss you already.
Looking forward to host you again for your second, third, forth... time in Costa Rica ;-)
Have a great and blessed weekend...!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,684 reviews
0.3 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.9 km away
Los Altos Resort
Los Altos Resort
#6 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge
1 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,385 reviews
0.8 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#16 of 47 in Manuel Antonio
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda by the Sea

Address: Main Road to Manuel Antonio Park | 800 meters from Plaza Vista, Manuel Antonio 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: ₹ 17,758 - ₹ 41,866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Makanda by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makanda By the Sea is 12 acres of wildlife sanctuary, 100 meters above the ocean. Our fully equipped Villas and Studios are carefully placed in rainforest gardens with spectacular views of the sixty mile coastline. Hotel Makanda is the ideal location for guests wishing to experience “romance in nature”, dazzling sunset views and our personalized boutique hotel ambiance. Offering gourmet cuisine, first class service, and close to Manuel Antonio Park, Spas, Restaurants, Tours and Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Makanda by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanda By The Sea Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing