We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
148
154
76
41
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
154
76
41
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main road air conditioning other hotels included breakfast fresh fruit squirrel monkeys pollo edgar quepos balcony hill ocean trees taxis pros
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018

It was nice, we had the opportunity to have a buffet for breakfast and it was delicious. Is my understanding that this is only when occupancy is high, but overall, great service and the place is lovely.

The rooms with sea view are the best, they are right in front of the pool. Service was good, but not extraordinary. }

Room tip: The seafront is the best spot, the pool is also in front.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Very old hotel, which has never been renovated. Just painting the walls. The furniture is very old. Breakfast is very simple. The pool is dirty (with sand and small stones on the bottom). The hotel is built in Indian style, very uncomfortable. Everything around is shabby and old. From the positive: beautiful view from the restaurant and from the hotel window. The hotel is not worth the money they ask for.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ольга Ш
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We ended up at the Hotel California without much planning (another hotel did not work). It was acceptable. I'd give the overall hotel a 3 (a bit run down, not very good restaurant), but they get a 5 for the view and the helpful guys at the front desk. Our room was large and clean with good air conditioning. It was looking out on the water, but was right above the pool. I was concerned that it would be loud and it was, but everyone seems to have settled down by 10 p.m.

We had dinner at the restaurant (too late to head into town) and it was not too good. Mediocre burger. The breakfast was a buffet and was OK. But the highlight of breakfast was when a large group of squirrel monkeys came out of the trees and ran past the restaurant. Almost all were moms with babies on their backs. Very special. And everyone was well behaved and did not feed the monkeys.

The hotel is up a hill from Manuel Antonio & Quepos and then up another small road. It is much too far from town to walk, so you need to take taxis. We were only there one night, but needed to leave our luggage until we could check into our next hotel. The front desk was very helpful with this.

The price was not too high. Lots of young people there on a group trip.

Good choice if you are not looking for a luxury experience.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sillycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Hotel California is really good value for money .
The rooms are a good size air-conditioning is really good and great size bed (Much bigger then we get in the UK) bathroom was clean shower was good
The views are amazing
Pool and bar area lovely all staff where lovely
Would highly recommend and I would stay again

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank selna1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Location is a bit isolated and you need transport to get to a restaurant or place of interest. Great views of the sea in the distance. Rooms are very tired and our patio door wouldn’t lock. Sink plug wouldn’t rise up so always full of water. Report this but nothing ever done. Only stayed two nights so not a huge problem but would have been upset had we been there longer, Food was good in the poolside restaurant if a bit limited. Good for a couple of nights but no longer.

Room tip: Check things in your room work before committing .
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MalG1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews