We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, good rooms, great pool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel California
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place, good rooms, great pool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Hotel California was a nice getaway place.
The rooms were a decent sized room with a good size bathroom. There is a TV in the room, fridge, safe (though mine didn't work), air conditioning, closet, & in room coffee maker.
There is also a nice balcony off most if not all rooms.
There is plenty of hot water for the showers, and I definitely like my showers hot. No issues here. There were plenty of towels supplied as well.
There is only Wifi at reception. However, if your room is close enough to the reception, you may be able to pick up the signal. I was in Room 1 and had no trouble picking up the signal from the balcony, but it would cut in and out when I went into the room.
The pool area was very nice, complete with a bar/restaurant area. The food is definitely priced higher than other Costa Rican eateries, but I guess you pay for convenience. Note that it seemed to take quite a while to get the food though. Be prepared to wait.
Bottles of water can be purchased on site. It was USD$4 for a 1750mL bottle.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cara_calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    141
    65
    36
    26
See reviews for
88
170
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Rooms are pretty minimal, but very clean. Half the lights in our room were burnt out, and the phone is impossible to use, but those things aren't deal breakers for me.

What was a deal breaker was the restaurant. They seriously should just close it down and not even bother. The wait for food is atrocious, like at least 45 from ordering. Portions are tiny, it is very expensive, and they are usually "out" of most of the items on the menu.

The worst was when we tried for dinner. Three pages of dinner menu items, and they were only serving ONE things for dinner.

With so many other hotel options in Manuel Antonio, I wouldn't bother with this pl

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

After a busy couple of weeks on tour in Costa Rica, the Hotel California was a great place to just chill out and relax. It's quite and feels like you're right in the jungle. The room was clean and comfortable and the bed very nice with plenty of pillows. The fridge is very handy for keeping snacks and drinks so you don't have to spend so much at restaurants. The beach and National Park are only a 50 cent bus ride away. The restaurant is on the expensive side but the food is excellent and the staff friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlpineResortRiceLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Huntingdon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

My wife broke her ankle the day before our arrival at Hotel California. Upon arrival, the manager immediately, without our asking, changed our room to one more accessible yet had a view of the pool, forest, and Pacific Ocean. From our balcony we got to view the sun setting, saw monkeys, an iguana, toucans and many other birds. In addition, arrangements were made for us to have a table at the outdoor lobby for our meals since we could not access the restaurant area. This was truly a treat for us. The manager and staff couldn't have been nicer.

Room Tip: The third floor will give you the best sunset views but there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
162 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Beautiful place in the hills. The staff is lovely. We met Edgar at reception and turns out he is a naturalist. Some of my group hired him for a tour of the park. They said he was incredible.

The bed is super comfortable. The AC is fantastic. The pool and restaurant area is nice. The cost to get into town in $4 and to get to the beach is $8. If you don't mind the rides back and forth, you should consider staying here. It would be hard to walk anywhere from this location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
3.2 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.8 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#37 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#31 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 200 mts east from Blue Monkey Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,305 - ₹ 12,528
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel California, Ocean View hotel !!! Great place to experience the peace of paradise and the thrill of local attractions. Located in beautiful Manuel Antonio with awesome views of the Pacific Ocean from our 12 Deluxe rooms and mountain view from our 15 Standard rooms.Our rooms are very comfortable & spacious with complete privacy, balcony, air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, hot water and mini- refrigerators.The hotel features a variety of services including honeymoon packages, surfing and sport fishing, canopy tours, Estuary Tours, White Water Rafting, Sailing Tours and can arrange for any other activities you might be looking for during your vacation in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing