We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will not go back”
Review of Hotel Villa Teca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Teca
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We will not go back”
Reviewed 7 April 2009

The hotel is set on a sloping piece of land; between the lush vegetation there is only enough space to go to the villas - no property to take a walk on at all. Each square villa is divided diagonally into two rooms. On the lower side of the villa is the door (heavy, black) and on the upper side is a window. However, the window needs to be closed all the time and blinds lowered because people would see inside as they were passing by to get to their rooms. Anyhow, the hill is too steep there to have any view at all. It feels like you are inside a hole. Air conditioning had to be on all the time, otherwise it would be too hot and humid but the power kept switching on and off as there was construction going on in the whole area, so frequently, we woke up all sweaty and had to switch the air-conditioning back on. We both came home with a cold from it. The rooms were clean, the maids created beautiful shapes with towels for us every day, the receptionist was most helpful, but the restaurant was overpriced and the lack of safe boxes in the rooms was very inconvenient – having to run to the office every time you were coming or going to keep your belongings safe. They advertise a beach that you can walk to – you can but it is a really good hike, about 25 – 30 minutes up and down steep hills; the beach is too rocky to be worth the effort. The hotel is about 3 Km from Quepos which seems like a reasonable distance to walk but the road is too curvy and sloped, combined with the driving style in Costa Rica and no sidewalks, it is just too dangerous, especially in the evening. Overall, the hotel was a disappointment. We will not go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Czechlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    26
    18
    28
See reviews for
17
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

My fiance and I stayed 2 days at Hotel Villa Teca. It was a very beautiful atmosphere, however we did not like that there was not hot water and we could literally hear the people staying in the room next to us through the door that separated us. We did not like that the Hotel restaurant was ridiculously priced. I can't imagine ever paying $12 for a hamburger. The drinks they offered were Two for one, however most drinks were $7 and $8. Overall this place might have been suitable for some, but we would not stay here again. As mentioned before Great atmosphere but other lack of amentities did not make up for that. The price per room per night was average for what you got out of it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyTTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We had a good stay here in December. Initial impressions weren't brilliant, basics rooms and a slightly disorganised feel to the place. However after a few days the place grew on us and overall it has a couple of big plus points.

Rooms are pretty basic and small, only a sheet on the bed, which meant you're best leaving the windows open at night with air-con off. The rooms at the top nearer the reception, had full glass sliding doors onto the patio area. These rooms had good views of the well tended gardens and gave easier access to the pool which was excellent. The site is built on a relatively steep slope so lots of steps, so maybe not ideal for very small children or those with mobility problems.

Breakfast was reasonable, buffet style. Nothing brilliant but okay. We didn't eat in the restaurant, it seemed very expensive for what it was. The Blue Money Hotel is nearby (back onto the main road, turn left and it's just down a few yards on your left) and served good reasonably priced food. There's also a pizza place and good bar serving food nearby (onto the main road, turn right and they're 200 yards on your left). Drinks seemed very pricey at the hotel.

A big plus for us was that the hotel is within easy walking distance of Quepos - just turn left down exiting the hotel and head down hill and you'll be in Quepos in about 15 minutes, down a virtually traffic free untarmaced road. You may want to take a taxi back at night, it only cost $2 or $3. However it's proximity to Quepos means that it's not that close to the Park in Manuel Antonio but you can get there using the local bus for about 50 cents! There are also no beaches very close but for us this didn't really matter.

Another big plus is that we saw Central American Squirrel Monkeys regularly at the hotel. These are pretty rare so it was great seeing them so close up. There's more info about these monkeys and the many reasons you shouldn't feed them, at the Blue Monkey Hotel nearby. There are also plenty of birds and reptiles to be spotted in the gardens.

Nice enough hotel.

  • Liked — Nice gardens
  • Disliked — No blankets
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SteveJohnson345uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

villa tecca was aweful..Hotel area, place and property itself is nice but they dont maintain their hotel and rooms..It had signs that they are renovating their hotel but staff was not nice either..service is really bad..rooms are stuffy, smelly and very dark. No good breakfast, No phone for room service or wake up calls and reception closes at 7:30 PM. bathroom was really small and no shower curtain. Broken pillows and I saw bugs occasionally on bed. When it comes to luxury i do not have very high standards but still villa tecca was not upto that level. We have Canadian couple next to our room and they were complaining the same. It looks nice on internet picture but its not clean. But its architecture and Outside is good, I hope they had renovated their hotel before my stay.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kashyapvirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manuel Antonio hotels

Petaluma, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

We stayed three nights during the last week of Nov, '08. Property is nicely landscaped in the rain forest about 2 K from the beach and Manuel Antonio National Park. It has a nice open air restaraunt. Breakfast was included with our stay, was decent buffet breakfast, and a group of about 20 monkeys entertained us while we ate at our table overlooking the beautifully ladscapped pool area. Staff was helpful and freindly, no issues with any of them. Rooms are cottages, the two bedroom cottages are fine, one bedrooms are a bit small. The property is in a residential neigborhood, was queit. Its within walking disstance to several other hotels and restaraunts. Overall I recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Landscaping, restaraunt, pool
  • Disliked — bathroom, too small
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TruvilinJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
3.3 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
554 reviews
3.8 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
2.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Villas Mymosa
Villas Mymosa
#37 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
110 reviews
0.4 km away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
434 reviews
3.7 km away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Teca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Teca

Property: Hotel Villa Teca
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,301 - ₹ 5,456
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Teca 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Hotel Teca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing