We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
120
134
41
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
134
41
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national park great location public beach two blocks nice hotel costa rica short walk from the beach restaurants and shops larger pool air conditioning manuel antonio park howler monkeys the main hotel happy hour walking distance five minute walk room was large
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and helpful right from the start! The hotel is beautiful and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and offer ac. The breakfast offers fresh fruits, breads, and cereals on a buffet and you can additionally order from the menu. We saw capuchin monkeys and iguanas near our room during our stay. The pool is nice but the hot tub was the same temperature as the pool. The hotel is conveniently located a short walk from the beach and the National Park.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Alane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

This was our 2nd stay at the hotel as its a great stopping off point as we head north back to the international airport. Staying for 2 nights.

A great warm welcome and a great room, this time opting for a Junior Suite. The room was large, with brilliant air con! and spotlessly clean. A wonderful towel animal on the bed with fresh petals, a large bouquet in a vase. So many towels and loads of pool/beach towels too. The nice touches were finding a large plate of fresh fruit in the fridge- delicious , and the little candles in the bathroom so you could bath by candlelight.

We headed straight to the bar area by the pool for lunch, the food is a good as before, an enormous pizza and chicken fajitas, the barman is great too. Excellent customer service.

On our 2nd evening we dined in the hotel restaurant, which was excellent, my tuna was amazing. Very generous portions and again very attentive service.

The location is ideal for the national park and the beach, and because its tucked away there is no noise at night. Some locals use the bar which is nice and at one point there were at least 6 local police all having their dinner together. A great indicator of great food, relaxed atmosphere. The hotel have a small nature walk roped out off the track outside, we planned to do it, but sadly never did, looked inviting though.

If your coming to Mauel Antonio and want a great room at a great price, with an excellent bar / pool / restaurant. That is spotlessly clean. Then stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018


We´ll be waiting for you with the same warmth and hospitality for your third visit!

Thanks, one of my favorite comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Our travel agent booked this hotel for us under the "mid-range" options. It was lovely!! It is two blocks from manuel antonio park and the beach but tucked back and feels very secluded and surrounded by the beautiful trees and scenery. The pool is lovely and the open air restaurant and bar is right by the pool. The food is moderately priced - a hamburger was $9 (US) but it was the largest burger I've ever seen. A few other dishes were in the teens but the dinner menu was mostly 20s. The free breakfast was fabulous- fruit and pastries at buffet but you order from a choice of about 10 items and they ranged from massive pancakes with jam and whipped cream to huevos rancheros. All good. The rooms are a reasonable size and ours had a kitchenette. Everyone was incredibly pleasant and helpful. We arrived at 11 am from Monteverde and our room was not ready- check in is not until 2pm but we had a tour scheduled at 1:30. They took care of our bags, gave us towels to hang out at the pool with, and even towels to take on the snorkeling tour.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milena C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello Lori thanks for your comments and punctuation. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed our restaurant and also the staff service was satisfactory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

This is a great place to stay because it is near the National Park and the small town and public beach. The general ambience is of a place to relax in the small pool and bar area and observe the tropical birds including toucans that can be seen around. There is a larger pool in the annex just down the road where the rooms are cabin style. The rooms in the main hotel are roomy and comfortable. The air conditioning works well and is necessary in the tropical heat. The food in the hotel both for breakfast (which is a combination of buffet and mains to order) and lunch and dinner is excellent. I would definitely recommend this place. We stayed here for four nights.

Room Tip: Best to choose a room away from the bar and swimming pool area
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MexicoloverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Nice hotel on very good location. Very close to the beach and the Manuel Antonio national park, both on walking distance. Spacious room with small kitchen. Nice swimming pool and bar with happy hour from 5 to 7. Only minus is the small bathroom and lack of hot water in the shower. And the WiFi is very erratic. Good breakfast. A small buffet, but they cook to order as well. The restaurant is very good.
Staff is generally friendly. Some bartenders are somewhat grumpy.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linze B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews