We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TERRIBLE HOTEL! RUN DOWN AND MASSIVELY OVER-PRICED”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arboleda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arboleda
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE HOTEL! RUN DOWN AND MASSIVELY OVER-PRICED”
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We spent almost three weeks in Costa Rica and this was BY FAR THE WORST place we stayed. Even places less than half the price were miles better. We were meant to be staying 3 nights but as soon as we checked in, we dumped our bags and went looking for somewhere else to stay instead. We got a bad feeling as soon as we saw the run-down reception. The lady on reception was not very hospitable and they insist you pay up front in cash. It soon became apparent why... to get to our room we had to walk down the longest and STEEPEST hill ever, only to discover we thenhad to walk back up the damn thing to get our safe key which they made us pay extra for! The rooms look like they were decorated in 1960 and the make-shift roof was also home to a giant lizard whose belly we could see and he just loved to run and scratch along the corrugated roof - NOISY. The restuarant was equally run down and horrible. DO NOT STAY HERE - the beach front location may seem perfect but the rooms, hills, and rip-off prices are NOT.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoTravelTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    8
    7
    31
See reviews for
8
23
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We had a very nice experience with Hotel Arboleda. The rooms were clean, hotel grounds were beautiful and the price was right. Compared to all the other hotels located on the beach at Manuel Antonio Hotel Arboleda was about one-third the price. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was right on the beach and easy walking distance to the park. The monkeys seemed to like the location as well.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnfromCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

I recently stayed at the Hotel Arboleda with 25 wedding guests. We all had a wonderful week, and everyone in our party fell in love with the hotel. The location is perfect - right on the beach and in walking distance to Manuel Antonio. The grounds are gorgeous - loads of trees and flowers and monkeys and lizards. And the staff, particularly the manager Jeanette, went out of her way to make sure we had whatever we needed. She even arranged gorgeous tropical bouquets to hang off the palm trees for our wedding ceremony as a surprise for us. Our rooms were all very comfortable and clean and attractive. And the price was excellent. We couldn't have picked a better place for our wedding!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahinSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2007

This hotel has gone downhill, it was just a big disappointment this time. What is up with the front desk lady? She always (it's our third time here) is on a need to know basis and yet barely knows any English. Each time we've come here, she gives us a key for room 34- no thank you. Then we end up in the building with a nicer room. This time, it wasn't satisfactory. The porches had tons of iguana crap on them. The bed spreads were dirty. We weren't told that breakfast was included but then I spoke with a woman at the restaurant through mime pointing and gesture since we couldn't comprehend each other and she said yes it was included. We went down the next morning and the waitress didn't even say hola and proceeded to serve about three ounces of coffee, a little juice and some toast and that was it. We thought eggs or something else was coming but nothing and no communication whatsoever. Very odd! We didn't see any other guests or any staff members. We used to like supporting this family owned Costa Rican hotel but now we know we will never go back. We did enjoy having the pool to ourselves and we enjoyed seeing the iguanas but we hope to find a nicer place to stay next time. This hotel has so much potential yet there is no effort put into it, very unfortunate. It used to be cheap but now it is not cheap so don't bother.

  • Liked — pool, iguanas
  • Disliked — neglect
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank dancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

Yukon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2006

This is by far the worst hotel I have stayed in. The pictures on the website totally misrepresent the deteriorated condition of the hotel. Despite advanced reservations, we found our family checked into a very moldly, extremely dirty, electrically hazardous (i.e. exposed wires in the shower) room with no provisions (i.e. towels, dishes etc.) and a broken bed. We were travelling with children and this place was dangerous. To top it off, the hotel staff stole from us a significant amount of money. In visiting other hotels in the area, we discovered this hotel is known for poor accomidation, poor service and high rates of theft by hotel staff. Indeed, it is claimed that the family that owns this hotel stole the land from their own family. It is not a wonder that this hotel remained empty even during high season. This is not a cheap place to stay and should not be advertised as a "deal."

  • Liked — Leaving it.
  • Disliked — The conditions of the hotel - moldy, dirty, hazardous rooms.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't even consider this place!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YukonSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
538 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Inn on the Park
Hotel Inn on the Park
#42 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
68 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#25 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
Divisamar Hotel & Casino
#34 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
85 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#37 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
285 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
#33 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arboleda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arboleda

Property: Hotel Arboleda
Address: Manuel Antonio | Manuel Antonio,frente a playa Espadilla, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,210 - ₹ 15,999
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Arboleda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is a short five-minutes walk north of beautiful Manuel Antonio National Park in Quepos. Costa Rica.Here our guest enjoy lush tropical landscaping, a refreshing pool beautiful balcony with views and convenient beachfront,access right in own backyard.Its the perfect place for surfers,to stay for surfing in Manuel Antonio. Special price for Back packer.Enjoy our facilities and service includes:Beach front access,swimming pool,gift shop,Ocean front resturant,wifi,tv,cable,parking,and very reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arboleda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing