We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading sustainable marketing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Si Como No

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Si Como No
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Misleading sustainable marketing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed at Si Como No for 2 nights while doing a week long trip in Costa Rica. This was by far the worst part of the trip. Overall Si Como No is a pretty average hotel that is terribly overpriced. It feels like Club Med, except with a 'sustainable' marketing message that includes no TVs, cold showers, but uhum, air conditioning and 2 swimming pools with the resultant energy drain (its just not true that this hotel is green!!!).

The hotel is fine if what you are looking for is an extremely touristy package type with all the usuals of a Club Med resort, think very heavy breakfasts, screaming kids, cheesy drinks... Furthermore, Si Como No's flagship restaurant, Claro Que Si is an even bigger disappointment, the menu is nearly 20 pages long but is full of pretty poor fatty meals. I had a catch of the day which was so full of butter there was a little puddle on my plate. My partner order the rice which was so big that even after finishing part of it, and asking for the rest to go it still looked like a massive portion (so so wasteful). Good food should not be about quantity or fat yet that is what Claro goes for, its cheating really.

All in all, the worst part of an otherwise amazing trip to Costa Rica. There are so many way better hotels in the country, give Si Como No a skip

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppplachkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_QCostaRica, General Manager at Hotel Si Como No, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Fortunately only once before, in our 20 years of practicing Sustainable Hospitality, have we received a negative review of this nature attacking the core of our Mission Statement. We recognize we are a “resort” along with Wildlife Refuge listed in our name, clearly promoting “barefoot luxury”, including standard appointments like A/C, but designed with proper insulation and natural sea breezes. There’s both a family pool the kids enjoy, but also an adult pool providing a very peaceful contrast, and a menu variety our customers seem to highly appreciate, including a “buffet” breakfast where portions are determined by the customer, including fresh fruits, yogurt and granola. The restaurant menus include vegetarian plates, and the chef prepares his recipes with light vegetable oils, not butter or animal fat. It’s difficult to judge if our food portions are too generous since we cater to customers from around the world. The products are mostly locally grown, and we do recycle 100% of our food waste and use no harmful chemicals to wash the dishes, to do the laundry, or clean the hotel rooms. We properly treat the water we use sparingly, 365 days of the year. The entire property meets the stringent national standards of CST (Certification of Sustainable Tourism), maintaining the highest rating of Five Green Leaves as pioneers in conservation since1994! We’re sorry to be in such a contradictory position to this customer review, as there’s always room for improvement, however we cannot disagree more pertaining to our Green merits! Perhaps had this individual visited our website and read the materials, they would NOT have chosen our resort, nor discounted the value we feel our features and amenities represented along with the importance of delivering Sustainable Hospitality. Be assured that our Green Committee, made up of hotel volunteers, and our Food and Beverage department have been advised of this review. Finally we do use Solar heating for the showers, with propane back up, however on occasion the solar hot water can run out during peak demand over holidays to which we offer a compensation accordingly. We trust we’ve responded accordingly and invite you to visit our section “ sustainability” on our website for more information.

Regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager
Greentique Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    359
    92
    34
    23
See reviews for
535
505
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This place is incredible - well worth the price for the experience and memories you will have here. We booked a deluxe room and as soon as we arrived...my jaw hit the ground. A beautiful spacious room with a panoramic view of the Ocean and a balcony to savor it all.... wow!

Highlights:
-The rooms are clean, comfortable, beautiful! We had a huge bathroom, the most comfortable bed, and it was so quiet and just...perfection. Plus, you could see the ocean as soon as you wake up in the morning, right from your bed!

-Rico Tico serves the most delicious food.... especially their breakfast buffet. The resturant staff is so friendly - we caught Leo's Latin Show and enjoyed a guitar rendition of the Super Mario Bros theme song :) The place has a great atmosphere.

-The Adult Pool is bliss. Great swim up bar, plenty of places to lounge, peace and quiet.... it's what vacations are supposed to be - drink in one hand, book in the other, immersed in a pool, sun shining and watching the waves on the ocean.....zen.

-Si Como No is committed to sustainability and conservation. There are signs and notices everywhere reminding you of this - which I was excited about as an eviro-nerd :) You're surrounded by plant life everywhere you go, and right on the hotel premises you'll see tons of birds, big iguanas, monkeys, frogs- it's great! We also enjoyed a night hike at the private preservation across the street. WE SAW RED EYED TREE FROGS!! and all sorts of other amphibians, reptiles, mammals (kikajou!) and insects. We had a great guide who was very friendly and knowledgable - and could mimic frog calls like a pro! We walked over to the Butterfly Garden the next morning and learned about the different scientific studies and conservation meausres the property supports. It was great!

This is by far, the best place to stay in Quepos - perfect for all ages!

Room Tip: Spring for the Ocean View Room.....you will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraLovesZippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

i have been traveling to Costa Rica for many years and appreciate the fact that the staff and facility at Si Como No has maintained the ability to deliver a true Costa Rican experience while providing the luxuries that made the trip super comfortable. Attention to detail, warm staff, clean rooms, and great food.. makes me wonder where the two weeks went.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Great hotel. Rooms were spacious and very nice. The a/c was great as the humidity was very high. Spent 2 nights and then one morning, we watched a troop of monkeys walking across the rooftops right in front of us. Braekfast food as ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahovagim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful facility. Our room was excellent and the view was absolutely amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our morning breakfast buffet (included) and other meals at both Rico Tico and Claro Que Si. They also provided a free visit to their butterfly garden which we enjoyed. The staff of the hotel also was very helpful in arranging our excursions and assisting us with renting a car. The only complaint was with the showers. For some reason, we were unable to get hot water (lukewarm to cool showers aren't my cup of tea) and the hotel seemed to think this was acceptable when we brought it to their attention.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanfromMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.6 km away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
1.6 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.4 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
1.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.7 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Si Como No? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Si Como No

Property: Hotel Si Como No
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,793 - ₹ 23,521
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Si Como No 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge is a central-Pacific coast resort in the jungle-covered hills just above Manuel Antonio National Park. It’s barefoot luxury with a pura vida vibe, perfect for families and couples who love the beach, tropical adventures, spa, pools, superb dining and four-star accommodations. This award-winning eco-design nature resort & spa offers its guest its own signature version of "barefoot luxury." Panoramic views are yours to enjoy from beautiful balconies looking down from the most idyllic hilltop in the area. Enjoy nearby beaches, Manuel Antonio National Park and the hotel’s private Wildlife Refuge and Butterfly Atrium, adjacent to the property. Renown for warm, friendly service, guests can choose from two excellent restaurants, guided nature and adventure tours plus shopping, fabulous nightlife and our own private cinema. And for Costa Rica weddings and honeymoons, this is where life memories are made, one tropical sunset at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Si Como No reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Si Como No Hotel
Si Como No Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing