We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
new orleans
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed 3 nights August 2012. This hotel was recommended by our agent as one of the best in Manuel Antonio. The rooms were clean and the only downside was the ant invasion. This
was in the room used by my 20 year old sons, who didn't seem to care, and only told us about it as we were leaving. I would have reported it had I known. Just the fact that the ants invaded a hotel billing itself as 4star is an issue. Hotel service was an issue. Promises to deliver ice to the room(there are no machines) were not kept. The laundry service was poor. We were requested to have our laundry ready by 7:30 am. We then had to make repeated calls to get it back. They kept saying " It's coming"
This went on for two hours until I went looking for it. Finally,
we got it back after they had it for twelve hours. This for cleaning t-shirts for $3.50 each.
The food at the restaurant was mediocre at best. After the first night (a gruesome ITALIAN buffet) we went into town for dinner. The breakfast buffet was ok.
The absolute positive aspect was the grounds and the view from the pool area. The grounds were beautiful and the view of the Pacific was picture postcard.
My conclusion is that if a hotel wants to bill itself as top shelf, then it should carefully control all aspects of the operation, and not rely on the beautiful setting to awe the patrons.
Would I stay there again? No.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msreuscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time out to write such a detailed review; we apologize for the issues you had with our service, because truly that is one of the hallmarks of this hotel. We checked our records and there seemed to be a misunderstanding about the clothing, as we hung it up in your closet after the service and failed to let you know it was there the whole time. We are also sorry you did not enjoy the meal; please know that we are always open to observations and would have been happy to provide you with a dish of your choice. Regarding the sugar ants, they tend to come around when there’s anything sweet on the tables and are truly impossible to eradicate without resorting to very strong pesticides. They can be a bit of a nuisance but are harmless, whereas the pesticides are not. Because our hotel is an eco-resort in harmony with nature, sometimes nature has its way with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,514
    572
    178
    55
    35
See reviews for
670
1,110
49
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Diego was our waiter several times at Hotel Parador. He provided us with outstanding service every single time. He was so great that we’d want to pass by just say Hi to him and always hoped that he’d be our waiter whenever we dined. One day, we told him about our walk on the monkey trail and that we’re dying to see the monkeys but unfortunately didn’t see any. Diego went out of his way to keep an eye out for us and ended up pointing out monkeys that showed up right by the restaurant! It was so great to watch and made us so happy! Diego shows true commitment to his work and is a true professional. Look for him at the Fragata restaurant located on the upper part of the Parador Hotel. He is awesome!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
We just have to let you know Diego blushed a bright red when we told him about your comment! He’s a great example of our hallmark personalized service with a smile  Sometimes the monkeys can be a bit mischievous and play hard to get, but curiosity usually gets the best of them and they end up peeking at our guests from behind the leaves. Did you get a chance to see some sloths? Just a couple of days ago we spotted three of these slow-movers right off of our paths. Come back soon—the sloths and monkeys are waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The rooms were very good, we slept so well! clean and comfortable. The best part was when it was raining, we stayed in our room, and then plenty of monkeys showed up on top of the trees near our room and we enjoyed watching them. The pools are nice, with a nice view of the ocean.
Food is not the strongest part of this hotel - breakfast was not very good, and the flies everywhere really made us leave the table as soon as we could. We also had some food by the pool which was average.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Parador. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed a pleasant and relaxing time in our facilities and most importantly, that you had the opportunity to enjoy watching the monkeys right from your room. We're sorry you didn't enjoy our breakfast—many guests feel it's actually one of the highlights of their day as we offer a wide array of choices including fresh, seasonal fruit, yogurt, made-to-order waffles, pancakes and omelets, fresh pastries and our famous Costa Rican Coffee. Regarding the "flies," please know that these are harmless, stingless sugarbag bees, which like other bees, love to hover around anything sweet. We do apologize for their insistence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Spent 3 days -nice property and pools.
employees are very accomidating . rooms were alright - outdated and small compared to 4 others in we stayed in costa rica. Bad part was all the flies of breakfast. outdoor and open air restaurant. Flies were everywhere. swatted flies as tried to keep off food. emplyees put our saucers of syrup adn friut adn treid to detarct them - terrible andu nhealthly

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thanks for taking the time out to review our property. We see you met some of Costa Rica's busiest inhabitants: the Sugarbag Bees. These little insects are quite harmless (they have no stinger), though they are insistent, ergo the fruit and syrup saucers on the tables to distract them. Unfortunately, they are more plentiful in certain seasons and do have a mind of their own, so we apologize for any inconvenience they may have caused. Please note, however, that they are not flies, just good, clean pollinators in search of ingredients for their honey production. Regarding your room, it was what we call a "standard" and therefore the smallest category we offer. We are currently in the process of making some upgrades, plus we also have a nice variety of other accommodations throughout the hotel. Perhaps on your next visit to Costa Rica we will have the pleasure of your visit again, and we can help you choose another category.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaken not Stirred!
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This was our final leg of a 2 week CR trip, and we could not have been any happier than at this place. We had an ocean view room on the 3rd floor. The entry to the room was on the bay side seperated by jungle, which was inhabited by the 3 species of monkeys, Howler, Squirrel and the Spider Monkey. When you hear the Howlers at daybreak, open your door and you will see them in the tree tops about 50 feet or so away. The others you will see during the course of the day feeding on the various trees etc.The staff goes out of their way to point them out to you as well.
The views on the property are great from pretty much any location, and the restaurant is very good. Did not participate in the nightly buffets. For the money you can get much better menu and experience in town about 5 minutes away. I would highly recommend Victorias for EXCELLENT Italian food, and they happen to have one of Costa Ricas premier guitar players performing every night. Also for a more laid back lunch or dinner spot with an excellent view of the pacific you have to go to Ronnies for typical costa rican seafood, you will be glad I sent you there.
This hotel has every tour you can imagine, and they have the Best guides in the area to help you out. The morning Manuel Antonio tour is one of the best in costa Rica and only costs about $45 per person.

Pura Vida,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank El-Guapo-de-La-Noche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
2.6 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,512 reviews
1.7 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,163 reviews
0.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,403 reviews
1.3 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,358 reviews
1.5 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Property: Parador Resort and Spa
Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,248 - ₹ 32,775
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing