We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Lantana, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Find”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had booked this hotel on line with the help of a travel agent. I had never heard of it but I knew it was near Manuel Antonio National Park so I figured we would give it a shot. When we arrived the room that was shown to us did not meet my expectations at all. We were given an alternative room for an upgrade and then we ended up negotiating the rate of a suite down substantially - good move! The suites are newer than the rest of the hotel and come with their own private pool. The staff was great and we had views of the bay and ocean from our suite. Our morning wakeup call was at 5AM from a howler monkey. The views of the monkeys and sloths from our balcony were just amazing. The spa needed a bit of a touch up - there was a wasp nest in the shower by the pool that the staff was not aware of and mold in the ladies shower. We were not given robes or slippers and the woman who gave me my facial did not identify herself..she just came in and started the treatment. I found that to be a bit odd although the facial itself was delightful. Breakfast was good and offered a selection of food to meet everyone's needs. Happy hour in the bar area was from 6PM to 7PM - 2 for 1 and had a selection of appetizers. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the staff was very friendly. Had we not upgraded to the suites, I am not sure if we would have had the same experience.

Room Tip: The suites are the way to go...the original garden room we booked was not desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefbynature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you so much for bringing the wasp nest and mold to our attention. Thank goodness no one was stung! We are glad you enjoyed all the exotic animals that are running around the property. We hope you can return again soon for another wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    577
    180
    55
    35
See reviews for
681
1,121
50
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at the Parador hotel for four days this summer. The hotel has a great location and the hotel itself is very nice & clean. There is an adult swimming pool that is open 24 hours, which is great!

They also have a happy hour at the bar each evening, which is a formula of 2 cocktails for the price of one. The only problem we had was with the service. The waiters are not really keeping an eye at the tables so you have to go to the bar if you want to have another cocktail before the happy hour is over.
We also had to switch to another table because the waiters were ignoring our table for some reason!

The prices for dinner are quite high. That's not a problem but you expect to have very nice and fresh food for that price. Unfortunately, I ordered a vegetarian lasagna and it was frozen inside... They apologized like 5 times and we were offered a free dessert. Very nice but too bad the food is not that fresh after all...

I must say the staff is very friendly and polite! They also offer lots of great tours so you won't get bored. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bvdh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
We are terribly sorry about the issue with the lasagna but hope you enjoyed your dessert. We are surprised that the staff was not responsive during happy hour but we will certainly make sure they are more aware of being attentive. Overall though we are very happy you had such a pleasant time and enjoyed all the tours and beautiful scenery. We cannot wait for you to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Last week I was in Quepos and went to El Parador for the afternoon and watched the sunset from the terrace at the main restaurant. We ordered sushi (dragon rolls, tiger rolls) and a couple of bottles of a nice Argentinian white wine. I was very well impressed with the installations. One of the staff showed us a beautiful suite with the most wonderful unobstructed view of Manuel Antonio. The suite had a huge balcony with a jacuzzi, the main bedroom was large and beautifully decorated, the living room had a balcony that overlooked the pool of the building. The new building is very tastefully decorated with all the modern comforts of a resort. I highly recommend this beautiful place in the middle of nowhere with great amenities and ocean views.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighHeelsTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Parador!

It's remote, but they have shuttles both to town and to the National Park that you can sign up for in the lobby.

If the rooms had a clock, the bellboy hadn't left the luggage to get wet in the rain and the rooms had wifi, it would get a 5. Oh, and I didn't like that you had to walk through the restaurant to get to the rest of the hotel. Rooms or pool from the lobby, you'll walk through peoples' meals.

Grounds are lovely with gardens and statues. Pools are nice, bars are nice. Restaurant is wonderful and the view is breathtaking!

Bed was comfortable, had lots of pillows and they spread flower petals on the bed.

Luggage stand present, and when the ground floor patio door wouldn't lock, they sent maintenance over immediately to fix it. Which they did.

Bathroom towels are small, white scratchy things. The pool towels are much nicer. Shower water pressure great and temperature hot. No tub, it was a stand up shower with a glass door. I like that, but if you prefer a bath, then you'll have to ask.

I was in a ground floor room and there was no noise from overhead, though the room was filled. I was also close to both the pool and restaurant, but neither could be heard in the room. Love that.

Monkeys play in the trees in the afternoons. They're adorable to watch and make the stay even better.

TV had a few English channels and that was nice before bed. I'd return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room. 102 was lovely and I could get wifi weakly from the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sonoran_Skies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopot, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Superb service, excellent location, great food. Four pools, one for individual tastes. Bars. Friendly service. Peace and quiet. Close to nature. Ocean on the horizon. Just a fairy tale :)) honestly recommend. I'll be back there alone and with groups!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nowakadventuretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvia H, Guest Relations Manager at Parador Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We have never been described as a fairy tale before. We would love to welcome you back alone or with a group, either way we will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.6 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,535 reviews
1.7 km away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,193 reviews
0.4 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,429 reviews
1.5 km away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
527 reviews
1.3 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Resort and Spa

Property: Parador Resort and Spa
Address: | Punta Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,695 - ₹ 34,727
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parador Resort & Spa, Costa Rica’s premier eco-luxury resort. Sitting high above the Central Pacific coastline, this award-winning hotel is built on 12 acres of rainforest in beautiful Manuel Antonio, just minutes from Costa Rica’s best beaches.Known for its dedication to preserving and protecting Mother Nature as well as its first-class amenities, Parador offers a long list of activities for your enjoyment and a staff ready to accommodate your every need. Experience inspired cuisine. Take a walk along a white sand beach. Swing through the rainforest canopy. Or simply relax and take in the view from your splendid suite. It’s all about responsible luxury, pura vida style. Parador Resort & Spa… Where Green Is More Than Just A Color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Parador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing