We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
71
60
22
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
60
22
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews laundry service close to bus stops friendly security nice pool breakfast is served nice hotel stay there again hotel is located grocery store other hotels manuel quepos tour cr
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Before I get into the reasons for my low rating I would like to say that my wife and I do a lot of travelling, we’ve stayed in hotels ranging from 2 to 5 stars in close to 15 countries. This is our second visit to Costa Rica and between the two trips we stayed in 9 establishments throughout the county, many of which were managed and run by Ticos. We based our expectations on the experiences we had in similar establishments.

This hotel has a handful of staff and none of them speak English. While I am not arrogant enough to expect to speak English everywhere I go in a Spanish speaking country, I would expect somebody in a hotel in one of the most visited parts of the country to be able to manage in English. If that’s not the market they are catering to, fine, but then why have an English website? It sets a certain expectation.

The website states they have a tour desk and a concierge which is a complete falsehood. Perhaps the manager doubles as those things, but seeing as he’s rarely ever at the front desk, it’s of little help.

There is a bell you can ring if you arrive at the front desk and no one’s there and the manager usually comes within a minute. This is unless it’s his lunch time in which case you can ring all you like with no effect. As we needed to get our room key, which was behind the front desk, we persuaded the cleaning lady to get him for us. It shouldn’t have to be that difficult.

They advertise a laundry service and promise to return the clothes within four hours. We dropped most of our clothes at 2pm and still hadn’t received them back by the following morning. At breakfast we enquired and were able to surmise the person who does the laundry didn’t work in the afternoon. So four hours turned into 24 while we were stuck in the same sweaty clothes. Again, this type of misunderstanding wouldn’t happen if at least one member of staff could communicate with the international tourists.

During our visit there were only three rooms occupied and they placed us in a room overlooking the pool. Breakfast is served at an outdoor kitchen next to the pool from 7am and that’s when they start blasting music onto the pool deck. As most of the rooms faced the pool, we were shocked they didn’t seem to notice this might wake up the guests. We asked the manager to turn down the music and the following morning he did, but shouldn’t it be a given you don’t play loud music when guests are still sleeping?

To summarise, I felt they don’t put the needs of the visitors at the forefront. They appear to do what they want and the guests’ needs aren’t really considered. Manuel Antonio has literally a hundred hotels to choose from. I would recommend looking into the other options.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allstaryvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florblancacr, Propietario at Hotel Flor Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017
Google Translation

Hotel Flor Blanca les saluda desde Manuel Antonio, cuando llegamos a un establecimiento hay reglas que se deben seguir en Costa Rica como en cualquier parte del mundo.
1] No fumar en las habitaciones
2] No dañar artículos dentro de las habitaciones
3] Actuar con respeto dentro del establecimiento.

Se le recomendó no fumar dentro de la habitación y la habitación la ha dejado sin posibilidad de poder rentar por tres días debido a que fumo dentro de la habitación
Dañó el lavamanos cuyo costo en dolares llego a $65.oo.
La forma irresponsable de tratar al personal no tenía límites, nos preguntamos como hacía sugerencias al personal si ninguno hablaba INGLES? APRECIADO CLIENTE TENGAN SEGURIDAD QUE TRATAMOS DE MEJORAR DÍA CON DÍA PARA SU SERVICIO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Hotel Flor Blanca was a nice surprise. Very welcoming atmosphere. We stayed 1 night as we had an early morning Canopy Tour. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by the owners with a bottle of water. After checking in, the friendly security guy helped carry our luggage down to our room. (Which was much appreciated after a long day!)

Pool area was nice. The owner offered us to come back and use the pool after our tour was complete, even though we were checked out. Had we had more time, we would've done that!

The room was clean and provided a good nights sleep for 6. The breakfast in the morning was an added bonus.

Great Staff, Nice Atmosphere, would recommend!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank 1TravelFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florblancacr, Director de Recepción at Hotel Flor Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tan hermoso comentario.
Para nosotros ha sido un gran privilegio que
nos haya elegido en su estadía aquí en Manuel
Antonio.
Nos esforzamos para que nuestros clientes estén lo mejor posible.
Nos es un gran placer saber que la pasaron bien.
Siempre a la orden.....
Saludos del personal...... Flor Blanca


Flor Moscoso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We liked our staying at hotel Flor blanca. The owner was always available for us and helped us getting to know the town a little bit better by recommending few restaurants or bars where to hang out. The building is provided with a nice small swimming pool and they serve a good breakfast as well. The only observation we have is regarding the laundry service that they provide. After the laundry our clothes were cleaned but still stained and we had to take them to a proper laundry shop in order to have the clothes cleaned again. Having said that, if I were to return in Manuel Antonio I would stay there again

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Inca2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

owners are really friendly and helpful, they have a gorgeous little dog too! breakfast was really nice too, room was clean light and airy, it also looked over the pool which was pleasant to lounge around. lovely place to stay especially after staying at the paz de parisio! definitely worth paying a bit extra. location- it's near some good restaurants but a good walk from the beach or a bus ride which is really cheap anyway!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank claire178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

we stayed here one night and were happy with the service. Room was very clean. We used the little pool in the evening to cool down after the heat of manual Antonio. Breakfast was fine. The local bus stops near enough outside and is frequent. It costs 295 colones flat fee so wherever you stay it's the same fare to go to quepos or to manual Antonio park. Daniel was very friendly. We spoke a mix of English and I practiced some spanish. Wifi worked ok. . We didn't have a car but there is plenty of parking across the road in the shade if their car park was full. The main things I would say mostly about this hotel is that it was very clean and a cool temperature away from the Costa Rican heat. It was Good value for money and the hotel is very close to sanchos American bar/restaurant with great views.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank waihi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews