We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel San Bada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The rooms at this Hotel were nice and spacious and the beds and pillows were comfy. However this hotel was interesting to us the roof top terrace was AMAZING except the bar was unattened and unstocked along with the swim up bar in the pool. We had to call for everything and the prices of drinks were outrageous! This hotel did have a convenient "tunnel" to the beach though, which was great! Most things were walking distance and the National Park is just steps away but it is the furthest hotel down the main road.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room on obe of the upper levels and towards the back if you want a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanteKim, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Erica,
Guests are the most important people in our Hotel!

We very much value your input as it helps ensure we are able to be completely responsive to our guest's needs.

Thank you for pointing out that in overall you enjoyed your stay in our Resort. Certainly since our Hotel is brand new we look for the best comfortable pillows, mattresses and amenities on the market, we are glad that you pointed out this.

We are the gate to the world famous Manuel Antonio National Park, since we are door to door to this nature review wonder. Also as you highlighted we are close to the public beach, through a tunnel that ends at a shortcut that goes to the beach.

AMAZING was a kind and well appointed word to describe the fantastic terrace bar with ocean view we have in the 6th floor, however we do feel sorry that the major discomfort during your stay was the fact that our terrace bar was not available at your convenience . Normally the 6th floor ocean and sunset view bar opens from 12:00pm till the sunset around 6:00pm, we do not know exactly the reason why you found the bar unattended, please feel free to email us to info@hotelsanbada.com and give us more details to prevent this issue happen again in the future. Also during your stay we would definitely appreciated if you informed us about this situation in order address it immediately.

We feel sad that our drink’s prices did not meet your expectations; however, the prices of the drinks starts from $2 to $10, in the cocktails or drinks we use fresh fruits and liquors of recognized brands striving the best quality.

Thank you for sharing your experience, as it helps us become the best that we can be. I sincerely look forward the chance of welcoming you and your husband back at Hotel San Bada!

Pura vida!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 655 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

Just came back from Hotel San Bada.What a great experience. We had been a bit worried by some reviews mentioning poor service, lack of hot water etc. None of those issues were ever a problem for us. The staff is so helpful.They learn it from the "top down" as the manager goes out of his way to cater to your needs, even taking me himself to a ATM at night for me to get some needed cash! The rooms are large with balconies, comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. The park abuts the hotel property so we saw iguanas, deer and monkeys without even leaving the hotel, but when you do leave, it is a 30 sec walk to the park gate! Can't beat that. The beaches in the park are spectacular and even the city beach is beautiful. All in all, a great hotel in a great destination!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lloydray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanteKim, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear lloydray,

Thank you for taking your time and writing us a wonderful review! It was a pleasure to met you in the recent Passover at Hotel San Bada! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and more excited to show others that most of the negative reviews posted in the past are solved or even not right accordingly to the Hotel reality.

We greatly appreciate the time and effort that you took to let us know how much you enjoyed our staff attention, the accommodations and all the National Park wildlife that can be seen from the Hotel.

I sincerely look forward the chance of welcoming you and your wife back at Hotel San Bada!

Sincerely,

Dante Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

From the moment Cristian picked us up in San Jose, we felt so welcome and by the time we left, we felt like family. It wasn't just the beauty of the hotel, the peaceful quiet location, or delicious restaurant, it was the warmth and graciousness of the team at Hotel San Bada. It really has everything - the beauty of the park, walk to the beach, service by the pool and insider access to the best excursions. We highly recommend it and plan to go back soon!

Room Tip: Definitely book the Suite, it's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanteKim, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Kathryn W,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure for all of us to be able to met Madeleine, Kathy and you, and make sure you had a fantastic stay. We are also happy that you were able to really enjoy our beautiful Hotel and the warmth and service provided by our staff.

I was especially delighted to read your comment about "warmth and graciousness of the team at Hotel San Bada" and close promixity we have with all the best attractions in the area, such as been next to the National Park and walking distance from the public beach. We strive to provide a 100%-satisfactory stay for our valued guests.

Thanks again for choosing Hotel San Bada, and on behalf of the hotel, myself, and my staff, we look forward to seeing you girls again soon for your next San Bada adventure!

Sincerely,

Your friends @Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel was perfect. The staff was the best I've ever seen, location was great. From the very unique swimming pool, the beautiful rooms, to an unbelievable restaurant, and a roof top bar that over looks the ocean. Also the monkeys were easy to sight since the hotel was located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park. Also the owner is there everyday working just as hard as the staff and who also is very nice. I would recommend this place for anyone, you will not be disappointed .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Okidoki_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanteKim, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Okidoki_12

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing a review regarding your stay. We appreciate the positive feedback and I will certainly share it with our team.

We are glad that you enjoyed our location, we are right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance and we are considered the gate to the National Park, we have all the facilities such as restaurant, pool, national park tours and tickets tourdesk service, free parking for our guest as well as the comfort with the location of the Hotel, makes your stay remarkable.

We hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Pura vida!

Your friends @Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel is a nice place to stay fro just the night. The pool is nice but the wateslide is really fast and scary. The restaurant is really good for breakfast. Get the pancakes! The staff is really good at booking trips and made the stay much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ticatraveler1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanteKim, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear ticatraveler1997,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your great review. We value all our guest’s feedback and it is rewarding for our staff to read of your comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, it is hard to appreciate Manuel Antonio National Park and surroundings charm in just one day. But we are glad that you loved the Hotel and the staff.

The waterslide more than scary we consider it thrilling, funny and exciting for most of the adults and kids that frequently use it during their stay. We would like to tell our tripadvisor friends that we have a sign next to the waterslide with the rules with safety procedures and using instructions.

I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel San Bada in the near future.

Pura vida!

Your friends @hotelsanbada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.7 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
2.5 km away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
606 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,456 reviews
3.3 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,637 reviews
0.1 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#18 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: ₹ 11,407 - ₹ 28,070 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing