We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of my trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Bada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Jasper, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of my trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This wonderful new hotel was one of the nicest on our ten day trip. The rooms are spacious and modern. The lighting is a little dark, so readers should bring reading lights. The staff went out of its way to try and please us. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MountainNana6163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    256
    72
    25
    10
See reviews for
273
285
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

The location of the hotel has its ups and downs. Yes, it is literally right outside of the entrance to the Manual Antonio National Park so no need to drive or walk far to get there. But what we found out was that they had to clear out some of the park area to build it - so it is literally built "on the grounds of the national park". Also, the view from the back of the hotel overlooks what's left of a neighborhood before any views of the ocean (we were on the 2nd floor so no ocean view for us).

The staff is extremely helpful and willing to go above and beyond to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible - we had Kosher food with us and they were more than willing and understanding to heat it up for us while keeping it double wrapped and unopened and only charging us minimally for drinks in the restaurant. Upon arrival (we came at around 9 or 10 at night) we were greeted with a refreshing fruit drink.

Our room was kept clean - 4 towels were provided for the 4 of us in the room and extras were offered at night when the beds were turned down with a candy on the pillow.

I agree with the other posters with the mildew smell coming from the shower and the cold water situation. We had hot and cold water but when we turned on a certain amount of cold water the pipes would rattle and it was quite unsettling. The tub was really big and a little hard to get in and out of but it was really nice. One day the cleaning service took the floor towel but luckily she was still on the floor cleaning and we were able to secure a new one.

The pool is nice and clean, but I would take precautions about using the slide. It is made of cement and it has a steep turn in it with a bump that looked like it would almost throw my kids into the pool before it reached the bottom! Nevertheless, my kids went on many times without incident. There is a swim up bar but when we ordered from it he had to go to the main kitchen to get the drinks.

Breakfast was more than standard continental. Eggs, pancakes, juice, coffee, cereal, yogurt, rice and beans and other hot foods were plenty and all available.

Overall, the hotel is really convenient and "out of the way" in terms of not being too close to all the action if you are looking for a quiet place to relax and not a Cancun type of resort. Some of the workmanship in the room was a little bit "unfinished" looking but that wasn't a "make it or break it" issue for me. We really enjoyed our stay there and felt the service of the entire staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isleesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

This new hotel is luxurious with a staff who always go the extra mile. Large room with a wonderful king size beds and all of the bells and whistles that you could want.

The restaurant is excellent and prices arw comparable to the other restaurants in town.

Excellant views. From our room we can see the Manuel Antonio beach and Pacific ocean plus parts of the national park. Literally the hotel entrace is 2 steps from the park entrance. Deer were grazing at the gate when we arrived.

There were a few minor glitches which probably are just part of the hotel's learning curve as it has been open less than 6 months. However we have been to Costa Rica seven times and would have no issue whatsoever with returning.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edkravcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Fantastic views and bordering the national park, this hotel is in a great location. It is also walking distance to the beaches and town. The rooms were very comfortable, and the staff were helpful and friendly, albeit slow at times. The beach access is closed after dark, but the pool stays open. The wildlife in the park is very used to people and will come very close and is easy to see.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpimm_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel during the Christmas week. Even though the location, grounds, and architecture of San Bada are beautiful, the workmanship in the rooms is poor. There was a heavy odor of mildew and chemicals in our room. During breakfast, the hotel ran out of coffee, juice and cereal after 9 AM daily. The common areas of the hotel were very clean, but, the guestrooms were not maintained well. In our room, there was a thick layer of construction dust on the shelves, and hangers. Our beds were not made until late afternoon, and there was no turndown service. Most of the time there was no Internet connection in the guestrooms, or common areas.The pool is nice, but the water in the jaccuzzi was cold. There were no beach towels at the pool area. The pathway from the hotel to the beach is muddy, neglected an littered. Since the rate of our room was high, I expected better services.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexiszr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dporrascr, Director of Sales at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Friend,

Greetings from Manuel Antonio!

Thank you for taking your time and write a review of your recent visit to our hotel. We are happy that you pointed our great things about our hotel such as the location, grounds and specially the beautiful architecture that our property has. About the problems with the housekeeping procedures, we have talked with the housekeeping manager in order to work immediately in the improvement of all the things you mentioned.

On the breakfast, which is a buffet and complimentary to the rate we always try to replenish all the bar as soon as we see that we are running out with something immediately, during that day we might suffered some delay but the most it took us 5 minutes to replenish, we are working on this for avoiding this problem for future stays. Regarding the towels, we offer beach and pool towels for the use of our guests that can be find in the reception area right next to the pool.

Thank you again and we hope you can visit us in future, that way we will be able to show you our improvements in everything you mentioned.

Warm regards,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.1 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
2.4 km away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
2.7 km away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
3.3 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
1.6 km away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Property: Hotel San Bada
Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,048 - ₹ 18,670
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing