We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
339
65
25
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
65
25
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite papaya lounge santa teresa standard room costa rica hanging beds spectacular views ocean view our honeymoon hotel grounds every morning in town included breakfast watch the sunset short drive small hotel spent nights
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

This is just what we were looking for, quiet, romantic, beautiful setting, and different. Love the natural touches throughout. We are staying in the Jr Suite and I am so glad I decided to spend more for it, loving the view from our deck. Lots of breakfast options too! Only thing I wish they had were comforters on the bed. There was a fleece blanket in the closet but other than that it is only a sheet. Not complaining, that is just my preference to have some weight on me. It doesn't diminish the trip and would stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kraboin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moanamanager, Gerente at Hotel Moana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Kraboin,
Thank you so much for your stay and thank you for writing a review.
We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us, specially that you enjoyed one of our ocean view rooms and our breakfast options.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip in Costa Rica and looking forward to your next visit.
Pura vida!!

Bruno Demarco Quiroz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

My best friend and I visited many cities in Costa Rica. We stayed at different hotels but this one was our favorite!!! Great room, spacious and clean. The staff is super nice friendly especially Bruno. He helped us book our travels from Tamarindo to Hotel Moana and booked fun activities and great prices. He also booked our travels to our next city which was tricky to get to but he made it happen!! I can't express how welcoming and helpful he is!! Makes you feel right at home when you're miles away from home. Oh and the breakfast that is included so yummy, Gallo Pinto there was my favorite;) it's a must have! Free beautiful breathtaking view on deck is included with breakfast! Can't wait for my return to Mal Pais and stay at Moana!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Delia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moanamanager, Gerente at Hotel Moana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Delia,
Thank you so much for your stay and for your review.
We are very glad to know that our hotel was your favorite one in Costa Rica.
It was very nice to host you and was my pleasure to help you to organize your trip. We always do our best to make clients feel at home.
Looking forward to your next visit!!
Pura vida

Bruno Demarco Quiroz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

I can't recommend this place enough. We stayed in several places in Costa Rica and this was our favourite. The rooms were really good value for the price point and were modern, spacious, clean, and well kitted out. The staff were really cool and went well out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We spent most of the daytime out and about but still managed to see loads of interesting wildlife in the hotel grounds (including an armadillo strolling past casually, a skunk, a racoon, frogs and some cool little red and purple crabs). It's right in the middle of Mal Pais and Santa Theresa so easy access to everything (beaches, restaurants, ATM, etc). Breakfast was really good (the best gallo pinto we'd had as the eggs were perfectly runny) and there were loads of other options for those who don't want the local food. As it was low season the restaurant wasn't open in the evenings but there are loads if good places nearby if that is the case

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RichardBurrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moanamanager, Gerente at Hotel Moana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Richard thank you so much for your stay and your nice review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay so much. For us was very nice to have you two staying in our hotel and we hope next time you will be able to stay longer. Keep enjoying Costa Rica and safe trip back home.
Cheers,

Bruno Demarco Quiroz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Close to the beach around 7min walk, free breakfast, great location.. it is easy to find it. ATM, restaurants and convenience stores are close as well... and the restaurant has an awesome view of the beach.. ;)

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moanamanager, Gerente at Hotel Moana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Luis G,
Thank you so much for your stay with us and for this nice review. It makes us very happy to know when clients enjoy our hotel, the breakfast and the amazing views from the restaurant.
Looking forward to receiving you soon.
Pura vida!

Bruno Demarco Quiroz
Hotel Moana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and fell in love with the place. The suite was worth the drive down from Liberia alone. The views were breathtaking no matter where you stood in the room and it is so close the the beach, we got to wake up to the sound of the waves in the morning. The staff at Moana were incredible. Once we arrived after hours, the manager, Bruno, even called to make sure everything went okay for us. Cindy at the front desk helped us out with any information or bookings we needed. Breakfast was great every morning. Also, it is perfectly nestled in a quiet area, with only a 2km walk to the very populated beach to the north. We would love to come back!

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank OliviaH1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moanamanager, Gerente at Hotel Moana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Hi guys!!!
Thank you so much for your stay with us and for your nice review. We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay so much.
Hope to receive you again in our hotel!
Pura vida!

Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews