We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“OUTSTANDING! The best of Mal Pais/ Santa Teresa.”

Review of Casa Blanca

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mal Pais, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
lizneutro...
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUTSTANDING! The best of Mal Pais/ Santa Teresa.”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This house is beautiful, well-appointed, and perfectly suited to a get-away-from-it-all in Costa Rica. WE LOVED IT SO MUCH! There were several days of our 10 day stay when our group of 6 didn't leave the house at all-- it's that amazing. The only thing I'd mention is that this location is very remote, and the roads leading up to it are not great. We came in the dry season and had no problems, but there are some stomach dropping inclines and turns! If you need a lot of easy access to things (besides an amazing home), this location might not be for you. But if you like being away from the hustle and bustle, there is absolutely no better place to go. (You can also have many things come to you-- we had in-home massage therapists, several gourmet meals cooked for us in our kitchen, a bird watching expert come pick us up for a walk about... fantastic!) I would revisit Casa Blanca again in a heartbeat, and plan to soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the solitude!
Liked least: The road leading to the house.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thanks for the wonderful time and we wish you come back again shortly.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mina K
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Casa Blanca is luxurious, unique, and magical retreat. This is our third time renting it, and we honestly feel like it has become our home away from home. The house is equipped with everything you need, from the awesome kitchen with every appliance and kitchen tool available, to luxurious bed sheets and countless towels, yoga mats, movies, outdoor kitchen and bbq, and many many more. The ocean and jungle views, infinity pool, modern design, gorgeous garden, numerous outdoor lounging and dining areas, and stunning outdoor landscaping, make this place a true paradise.

Every year we return and find that the house is maintained impeccably, and there are also new improvements to accommodate the guests’ stay. The young couple that takes care of the property is wonderful. They do an awesome job cleaning and maintaining the place like a five-star hotel, they can arrange taxi transportation, and even can make homemade breakfast or dinner for you.

We travel all over the world and stay in many luxurious places, and Casa Blanca still remains our favorite place in the world. We can’t wait to be back there soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thanks :) Come back soon. Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliffCrab...
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences of my life!!!”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

There is nothing about this property that is not legitimate in every way. The photos do not do it justice and they are amazing! The home has everything you need and then some! We took are 4 grown children and we all the time of our life! Michael is one truly amazing person, his flexibility and sincerity and character show thru in everything he does and the work he has put into this home is truly a labor of love! We have never traveled outside the U.S. so this whole experience was new to us, and Michael had such incredible patience. We emailed him so many times with questions and he responded immediately every time. In some instances he just called and always made us feel important. The next thing you need to know when you get there, his caretakers (David & Lizbeth) are two of the most amazing people I have ever met in my life, they treated us better than we deserved! We have added them to our family! We all cried when we left them especially my wife! You should definitely let them cook for you at least once, they are amazing cooks! David set up everything we wanted to do and he knows everyone! We were very nervous obviously being rookie travelers and he always was watching out for us! Costa Rica is an amazing place and this home is not a typical place, we spent several days just listing to music, cooking at the house and playing in the pool and it was so special! Our night sitting around the beautiful circle table and having dinner were priceless. My name is Cliff Crabtree and I live in Raleigh, NC, that should be enough for your to find me if you don't believe my review. Call me anytime! Michael, thank you will be back soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The caretakers of the property
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
You're the best! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you'll come back soon.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corry S
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“PARADISE”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I wanted to plan a retreat for my friends - something unique and special. We finally settled on Costa Rica and then found Casa Blanca. The owners were incredibly helpful with the many questions we had about planning the trip, travelling to Costa Rica as well as the details of the Villa and staff. All was confirmed and we were ready to go. When we drove up to the Villa and finally arrived, it was beyond our dreams! Davie and Lizbeth greeted us and escorted us inside. When you walk through the front door and then see the view from the Villa – WOW! And then look around at the house – a double WOW! We had the most amazing reunion of friends thanks to the everyone at Casa Blanca. The beautiful thing about our trip was that we had the Villa to ourselves and it brought out group of friends closer together making our reunion something to remember. We surfed, went cliff diving, enjoyed scuba diving, went horseback riding on the beach… and had a masseur at the house and even had a yoga teacher as well. What more can we say? The list goes on and on…. This Villa will not let you down.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
You're the best! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you'll come back soon.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie W
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise and then some”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

When you book a holiday, you always wonder what you’ll get. We got it and so much more! My girlfriends and I planned a yoga/massage retreat. The folks at Casa Blanca catered to our every need. We had a private yoga instructor at the Villa. The Yoga Cabina is amazing and the back garden deck was great for the group. Plus we hired a private masseuse for two days – beginning and end - should have done it every day! The view overlooking the water never gets old…absolutely gorgeous. We woke up in the morning to sounds of the jungle behind the house. Then spent our days swimming or walking on the beach or exploring. We had delicious fresh seafood caught by local fisherman! I even enjoyed a cup of coffee one early morning with the prettiest praying mantis I've ever seen! The modern, gorgeous house surrounded by all that nature is just heaven. This villa is perfect for a family reunion or group getaway…or perfect for a honeymoon. The caretakers, Davie and Lizbeth, were great. They really looked after us. I can't wait to go back again!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the privacy, the view, and the house
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2018
You're the best! Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you'll come back soon.

Team Casa Blanca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing