We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tommy G's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tommy G's Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Jaco B&B and Inns
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

A delightful stay wonderful hosts. Very best wishes Barbara and Tommy.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 9Ruby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Ulm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Our stay at Tommy G's was a highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. We went on a referral from a family member, and they were right about how wonderful it is. Tommy G and Barb are two of the nicest, friendliest, amazing people we have ever met, and they are the ideal small hotel owners. Experiencing them alone would be worth the trip, and the hotel is a nice bonus experience. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well-appointed. Rooms have kitchenettes, cable television, private baths, sitting area and bedroom and are air conditioned. The upstairs units have balconies with views of the ocean and sunset. While not directly on the beach, they are only a block away and it is very convenient to everything in Jaco - shopping, restaurants, beach and tours. The pool area and swim-up bar were a great place to relax. I had read that Jaco can be a little rough around the edges, but we never had to worry about that at Tommy G's and we felt safer there than in our own home. They have the hotel designed so that only guests can enter the grounds with a key, they have a night guard so someone is always awake and moving around, and they are very particular about their clientele. Tommy and Barb live at the hotel, so they are available to answer questions, provide referrals and recommendations, address any concerns, or just chat if you would like. And I would recommend that chat - they are such interesting people, it would be a shame to visit and not get to know them. If you are planning to be anywhere near Jaco, book a room at Tommy G's. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Rooms 3, 4 and 5 have the best views of the ocean and sunset from their balconies. Some rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewUlm-gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed at Tommy G's during a short jaunt to Jaco with our friend from CO. Clean, nicely furnished and very confortable. The pool is great, and you cannot beat the location. Within walking distance of everything you want to see and do in Jaco.
And yes, there really is a Tommy G. He and his wife live on the premisses. They let us check in early and check out late. Our "go to" place in Jaco.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mingo425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We came down early to go on a cruise. Tommy G's is located close to the town and close to the beach. Great small suite very clean and wonderful hosts Barbara and Tommy. You feel like an old friend. Great price and great value. A view of the ocean, a river wonderful pool and courtyard. We will come again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huron68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

SIMPLY PERFECT! The place is immaculate, rooms are spacious, and the service is great. I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.3 km away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#14 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.7 km away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
0.0 km away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#17 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.2 km away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.4 km away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tommy G's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tommy G's Hotel

Property: Tommy G's Hotel
Address: Jaco Beach, Jaco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,096 - ₹ 6,827
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing