We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very poor costumer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Jaco
1 review
“Very poor costumer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I call to make a reservation and they confirm it. When I arrived the hotel at night i realized they didnt have room for me. The reservation was made 4 days previously.
They couldnt solve my problem

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldmatag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    43
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
32
34
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

My Boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night in Sept 11. So glad it as only for the night. We were the only ones at the hotel (low season) yet that did not help budge the price down from the Hotel Manager. The hotel was in dire need of complete refurbishment. The bathroom had seen better days as there was cracked tiles/shower door and dirty lime scale everywhere. There was even plaster work on the bathroom floor where some repairs had been made. The dinning area was crumbling and the pool was half empty.
On the plus side the waitress provided us with a decent breakfast and the bed sheets were clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-lover1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaco hotels

Sallisaw, OK
Level Contributor
182 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

It's been a few years since we visited, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were there in early June, and had excellent weather, excellent surf and an overall excellent time. We had the room closest to the ocean. Admittedly it was small, and lacking many amenities, but this suits our needs. We don't really need several rooms, turned down beds, and all the other five star comforts. We can fend for ourselves, thank you. The property was clean, and quiet, easy to find and had extremely easy access to downtown. Clean pool. Well kept yards. Excellent little restaurant. Friendly iguana about the size of my wife. Of course, the beach was only about 10 yards from the front door. Excellent security, everpresent guards, friendly staff. The electricity went out one night during a thunderstorm, but we had an astounding natural light shown from the porch overlooking the pacific. If you really must have a full luxury resort where you are catered to at all times, this is not for you. But if you are looking for a decent and safe bed and a central base of operations, this is a very good deal. We stayed in 2007. --Chuck

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chafraho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva, WI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We do business in Costa Rica Medical Care.com and we always put 2 or 3 days in a trip to go here for some R & R. They have wi-fi and I love working or calling some one back home with the waves behind me.

Only 75 minutes from San Jose it is the perfect get away. We send our patients that wish to go to the beach here as well.

The staff is very helpful and will do anything for you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lildoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We were a family group of two sisters, a brother, and our spouses who spent a week at this hotel. During the week, the hotel was extremely quiet. It became very busy with Costa Ricans getting out of the city on the weekends. The staff were so helpful and friendly, bringing us ice and other things whenever we asked. The rooms were spotless, even after we drug in lots of sand from the very empty beach. The security was great. As the hotel was so quiet, we even brought in grills and made dinner with a local friend in the covered area near the beach. The a/c was a quite effective and a welcome respite from the intense heat. There was surfing right on our beach.. Breakfasts were okay, but we found the fish at lunch to be delighftul. The grounds were very well kept. It is a bit far from town, though we did walk in a couple of times. The parking was in a secure area. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizinCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.4 km away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#14 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Balcon del Mar
Hotel Balcon del Mar
#29 of 45 in Jaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#28 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#16 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.6 km away
Bar and Hotel Oz
Bar and Hotel Oz
#34 of 45 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Property: South Beach Hotel
Address: Jaco Beach | Jaco Beach Municipal Palace 600 Mts South, Jaco 1139-1250, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Arenal Pacifico)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,508 - ₹ 12,870
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Oasis of Jaco Beach. Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments located at the southern, most tranquil and beautiful part of Jaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Pacifico Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing