We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Hotel Mar de Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Luz
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Excellent hotel located right in the center of Jaco Beach. Subway restaurant is on the corner making it easy to locate the hotel. Beach, shopping, everything one needs is within a 5 minute walk. Hotel has 2 huge pools; a jacuzzi; cooking/kitchen facilities in the room; and excellent individual controlled quiet a/c. Outside each room are tables and chairs making it easy to eat in a patio atmosphere. There is also a covered reading area with sofas and facilities for entertaining.

Breakfast is hearty; staff very accomodating and friendly; owner on site; and parking is free. A comfy, convenient yet secluded hotel with a homey atmosphere. Very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

A good choice In the center of town short walk to the beach

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

My wife, son and I stayed in Hotel Mar de Luz last night. I was a good hotel, with a small kitchen in our room and a nice breakfast. My son loved the two pools and didn't want to leave. The rooms are a bit retro, but the atmosphere is comfortable and welcoming. The best part of our experience was when we left to drive South to Manuel Antonio area but got a flat tire - after we change the tire and put on the spare, we drove back and asked the owner for advice about where to get the flat tire repaired or replaced, and he was extreemly helpful. It is invaluable to have good help and advice when dealing with car trouble in foreign places! THANK YOU, Victor!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanderD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

good hotel! it's in the center of jaco but its in a side street and quiet with a beautiful green garden with swimming pool! we have had a really nice time with a friendly owner and staff! the rooms are clean and big! the breakfast was excellent, there is a choice to make!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick-Janneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

At first blush, the place looked nice, but then we got to our room which reminded me of a log cabin that someone's grandmother decorated. It smelled of mildew, the bathroom door had to be kept shut and the window open to let out the sewage smell, and there were bugs everywhere - nothing like we experienced else. Breakfast was medicore at best. We asked to have them turn on the hottub to relax our backs and discovered that, like our shower, there was no hot water. I took a dip in the pool but then started to wonder if it had any chlorine and got out. The sheets had to be like a 10 thread count and all the bedding was funky and dingy and ripped. Our maid had left the room only partially clean with a scrub rag and toilet drop in the bathroom, so we had to wonder what all really got cleaned.

The whole experience was almost laughable (thank god just for one night). They claim to speak 3 lanugages and teach Spanish but they sure didn't speak much English - the hotel guide in the room had the worst possible English translation we've ever seen (we speak 5 languages between the two of us). And they bill this as a strictly family joint (guide said "this is familiar hotel. No scandal after 10") with a huge sign out front that says no prostitution or drugs. Ok. but for a family place, it's down a dark alley that I wouldn't walk alone after dark.

I would find another hotel. This one just needs a lot of updating. I've stayed at worse, but this was our least favorite of 6 hotels during our trip and there's just too many hotels in Jaco to settle for a poor one.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldKimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor-MardeLuz, Owner at Hotel Mar de Luz, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

First of all we want to thank you for your write up referring on your stay in our hotel. We indeed are very grateful for any kind of feed back as long it is fair.

My opinion is that room decoration has to do with taste. We choose for an cozy environment and most of our guests liked it.

Due to the fact that the time you came we had enormously heavy rainfall the neighboring land was over flooded and this causes sometimes problems. We are working on this. I apologize for this inconvenience, nevertheless if you had spoken with us the same night we would have given you another room.

Our Jacuzzi is indeed not a hot tub. With our temperature I think it is not necessary. The room did had hot water.

Our swimming pool is controlled daily. In case you would feel the chlorine we really would make a big mistake!

I'm dutch and I speak seven languages but I confess not speaking English on a perfect way, but most of my staff is able to have a normal conversation in English and I belief you didn't have problems understanding them?

About the dark alley there is abundant light during the night and we have
two employers taking care. Well I hope to convince you to come back to our hotel and enjoy a relax stay
with us.

Your Truly,

Victor L.A.Keulen
Owner of the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
2.3 km away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.6 km away
Hotel Villa Creole
Hotel Villa Creole
#12 of 40 in Jaco
104 reviews
0.6 km away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 40 in Jaco
593 reviews
1.9 km away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
7.0 km away
Hotel Tramonto
Hotel Tramonto
#17 of 40 in Jaco
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Luz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Luz

Address: Mar de Luz street, Av. Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#6 Family Hotel in Jaco
Price Range: ₹ 4,670 - ₹ 10,573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar de Luz 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Mar de Luz you will find an oasis of peace where you can relax after a day of discovering the many attractions of the area. Only a few steps from the hotel a long, sandy beach allows for many activities and where ocean waves have invited surfers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Mar de Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar De Luz Jaco
Mar De Luz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing