We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Jaco Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Club del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Club del Mar
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Jaco Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We spent 8 nights in a condo (unit 9). It was perfect. We booked a 1 bedroom, but they gave us a 2 bedroom unit. It was clean and well maintained and HUGE. We did have a couple of problems with things, but when we called maintenance came quickly and fixed them. It was wonderful to have a washer and dryer in the room.

The grounds are better than most of the Jaco hotetls, with some areas with grass, and many trees to provide shade, including around the pool.

The beach at Del Mar is the best beach in Jaco. While not the best beach in the world, it is very nice, and by the Del Mar there are far fewer stones than the opposite end (near Best Western).

The owner lives at the hotel and is very nice and makes sure the guests are looked after. I would recommend the Del Mar to anyone, but it especially good for families and more mature people. Twenty somethings might prefer to be closer to the center of town so they can hit the bars. Del Mar is more of a quiet hotel.

Room Tip: Condos are further from the hotel and are quieter. We were in room 9, closest to the pool and bar, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    106
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
126
120
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Just got back from my 40th birthday celebration with a girlfriend and I had a wonderful experience in Jaco and it all started at Hotel Club Del Mar. Perfect location - close to the Jaco nightlife but with a laid back vibe. You will come as a guest but leave feeling a part of the Hotel Club Del Mar family. Each morning you will be greeted by name by the wonderful attentive, professional staff and if it suits you, other guests will quickly become your friends. I met people that I hope to be in touch with throughout my life. The rooms are perfect - clean, spacious and all right on the beach - roll out of bed to your surf lesson with the awesome onsite instructors. Food (especially the ceviche) - awesome. Loved it and going back in March! Wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: the property is small so all rooms close to pool and beach w views. For me the rooms w kitchen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elena a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I went with my 3 children, ages 10, 14 and 15, and despite the quiet night life, we all had an amazing time! we were way too exhausted at night to do anything anyway, other than congratulate ourselves on some excellent surfing and eat yet another healthy, yummy meal at the Hotel Club Del Mar!~ I am a single mom, and even I met a few other adults to enjoy a glass of wine with and watch the stunning sun sets. Extremely friendly, TONS to do, and great, spacious accommodations. The staff are like family by your second day. We plan to go down again soon and see all our new friends at The Hotel Club Del Mar. It oozes cool!
Libby, Toronto

Room Tip: we stayed in the 2 bedroom condos. They have a full kitchen and it is a $3 cab ride to a grocery st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

If one is a person who is always on alert for flaws and imperfections, they can be found anywhere. But if one is coming to Costa Rica for a vacation, be it an active one or total relaxation, this is the place to stay at. First of all, it is comfortable, clean and well maintained. Friendly and professional staff will always make you feel welcome. I've been visiting Costa Rica for the last 7 years, at least 2 or 3 times a year, and I found that, as far as hotels go, there are two choices. One can either select a luxurious resort which would be like any other anywhere in the world, or one can go with "Costa Rica" experience, where you'll be missing too many things a hotel should have. At Club del Mar they succeeded in creating a perfect balance of the two, so you will have comfort with Costa Rica soul. As far as I am concerned, no other place in Jaco area comes close.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papiluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

This hotel was the final stop in our week long tour of Costa Rico. Was nice and comfortable. Great to be able to wash all those wet clothes from the week! Not much of a beach to sit and relax. Kind of rocky.

Food was okay - very much typical hotel food. Location was nice. We loved the view in the evenings. Our girls learned to surf which they loved. Overall a good value.

Room Tip: We wish we had had a beach view room. We were only 20 steps from the beach though. Try to book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.3 km away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
10.7 km away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
2.3 km away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club del Mar

Property: Hotel Club del Mar
Address: | Jaco Beach, 300 meters south of El Arroyo Service Station, Jaco, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Jaco
#4 Family Hotel in Jaco
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,585 - ₹ 18,151
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Club del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Club del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mar
Resort Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing