We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape”
Review of Villa Caletas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Caletas
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great escape”
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

This place is in the middle of nowhere in the rain forest overlooking the ocean. you can see monkeys birds in the Iguanas from your room. I would recommend a Junior suite overlooking the ocean with the Jacuzzi on the terrace. it was so quiet it felt like no one else was at the resort. the hike down to the beach is strenuous but you can also take a shuttle. it's a private beach and we were literally the only people there at one point. it's hard to swim in the water due to the rocks but very relaxing this place does not have nightlife butnightlife is close by. I would recommend several things like having a car. the taxis here are very overpriced 5 km for $20 and of course you need to get back. The drinks and food here are very overpriced as well but we bought things at the supermarket to make things work out. it's totally worth everything with the view and the scenery surrounding you. if you're looking for a honeymoon which we were on and to be secluded this is the place each villa is not close to the other villas. take one night away from this hotel and go to the Tabacon Hot Springs. Thins was the best

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank sfty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice review, we are glad to know you had such a great time with us. Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    222
    92
    62
    27
See reviews for
203
762
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed here in a suite with a private pool for 6 nights. Their 20 year anniversary special really makes staying here affordable.

Service - the service at the reception desk was not amazing but it was adequate. I never felt like they were rude at all. Just to the point and helpful when asked. They were very responsive to requests for things in the room such as ice. The service in the restaurant was good too, nothing to complain about. The concierge desk service was fantastic. Friendly people that went out of their way to help.

Room - My room was amazing, very clean and the pool was fantastic, no view but great privacy. I read about the roaches and such so every night I did a bed inspection :). In 6 days I only found a beetle and a spider. Not so bad for the jungle.

Food/Drink - Loved the ceviche...amazing. Drinks were good to but STAY AWAY FROM THE CORONO. 10 dollars for that beer after a tip. Get the local been for 3-4 dollar.

I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Osuman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice comments. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed not only your room, the private pool but the whole experience at Villa Caletas. We hope to see you back with us soon. Best regards.
manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escazu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I are very pleased and happy we went to Villa Caletas, is so beatiful, the service was grate, the food excellent, breath taking views!!! Is a hiden Paradise...

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Darny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice review. We are very happy to know that you had such a great time us. We hope to see you back soon. Best regards. manager@villacaletas,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Our vacation started off a bit rocky with our first stop at Villa Caletas. We stayed for two nights in a Junior Superior Suite with "panoramic ocean views". We reached the hotel by noon and assumed the room wouldn't be ready, but we stopped in at the reception to let them know we had arrived. I had read the complaints about the reception staff, but I was shocked to see how true they were. Not one person smiled. I've never experienced such awful customer service. We had drinks and appetizers by the pool while we waited to check-in at 2pm. We returned to the reception at 2pm as instructed. At this point we were exhausted from being up all night and ready for a shower & a nap. We were then informed that the previous guest failed to check-out on time and the room would not be ready for another hour. A situation like this typically wouldn't bother me, but it was the rude manner in which the reception staff treated us. After returning to the reception for the third time, we were told to wait outside and someone in a golf cart would take us to our room. We waited...and waited....and waited. Finally, my husband took matters into his own hands and tracked someone down to get in our car and show us to our room. We were given room #82. Our "panoramic ocean view" turned out to be a view of the trees with a very small peek-a-boo ocean view. This was so disheartening, as this was the only part of our trip where we were staying near the water, and the sole reason we booked Caletas was for the view. The website is very misleading. It warns that you may have limited privacy because of the pool, but it does not mention the possibility of an obstructed view. We still enjoyed the room, very beautiful and extremely clean. Just a warning: The rooms aren't very soundproof. The first morning it sounded as though the people upstairs were rearranging the furniture at 6am. The second morning there was a child doing cannonballs in the pool at 7am. The restaurant staff, bar staff, and everyone else in the hotel made up for the disgruntled employees at the front desk. The sunsets at the amphitheater were truly amazing and the food at the Mirador restaurant was incredible.

Room Tip: Avoid the junior superior suites 81 and 82.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHope715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear friends, thank you for your review. We feel sad you had these mixed feeling during your stay.
We realy strive to give the best service we can to our guest, and it seems that we have failed you. We take great importance of our patrons comments and i can assure you that we will work harder than ever to solve the matter. We are glad to know that you could enjoy the hotel, the view, our restaurant and the service that provide the hotel. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hills, Ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We were fortunate to stay in one of the squites in Zephyr palace. We stayed in the "Egyptian" and our adult daughters stayed in the "New WOrld". There was a hot tub in each one. THe room was spacious and luxurious with beautfiul views of the ocean. The Zephyr Palce wing had it's own "infiniti" pool. Worth driving the 2km driveway!

Room Tip: We reserved our rooms on "Cyber Monday" what a great deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Mbenoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Villa Caletas, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Friends, thank you very much for your kind words. The Palace is definitively a place to discover as the experience will stay for ever in your mind !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
5.6 km away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
549 reviews
8.4 km away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
3.6 km away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.3 km away
Zephyr Palace Luxury Rental Mansion
7.7 km away
Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Caletas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Caletas

Property: Villa Caletas
Address: 2 km after Punta Leona | Herradura, Jaco 12358-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaco
#2 Family Hotel in Jaco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#4 Business Hotel in Jaco
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,399 - ₹ 36,946
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Caletas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Caletas, a luxury romantic boutique hotel inspired by tropical Victorian architecture with a touch of neo-classical influence shining like a jewel among resorts, prized not only for its location, design and décor, but also for its outstanding facilities and first class service. Villa Caletas expresses a truly unique combination of mountain and seaside resort. Nestled 1150 feet above the Pacific Ocean, this unique hotel overlooks the Nicoya Gulf to the crescent beaches of Jaco, Herradura offering spectacular 360-degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Caletas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Caletas Hotel Jaco
Caletas Hotel Herradura
Villa Caletas Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing