We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good italian but expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paparazzi

Paparazzi
Ranked #73 of 152 Restaurants in Jaco
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: It is a family business run by its members, happy to share their Italian heritage. Fresh ingredients, handmade pasta, along with imported Italian products offer a genuine italian experience!
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“very good italian but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

the pasta was perfect, and so was the carpaccio. the wine was very good, and the italian couple working there were very friendly. you really feel welcome here. however, they should change the ugly decor, as it does not meet the quality of their meals, and it does not look very italian. pricey.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spacecadet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
306 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Previous renters at the condo we were staying at raved about Paparazzi so we gave it a try. We were greeted promptly. The menu was full of pasta dishes as well a pizza, chicken and seafood. We were give complimentary bruschetta (delicious) My husband and father had spaghetti and meatballs that they enjoyed and I had the seafood linguini. It was full of fish, baby clams, mussels, baby shrimp, and a few baby crab legs prepared in olive oil and garlic herbs. Delicious but I would have to say the shellfish were a bit over cooked but edible. For dessert we had the freshly prepared banana crepes - outstanding. Service was perfect and very friendly. We met the owner who was incredibly kind. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Borioles97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hard to rate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Went to this place after some recs from some people living in the area. Hard to rate because my dish was absolutely awful but my dad's was great. I had the seafood pasta, the mussels, fish and shrimp were all in edible. I would have sent it back but the meal preparation took about an hour, so I pushed the seafood aside and just ate noodles. Dad had Gorgonzola ravioli which was very yummy. I would give it a try again because the prices are reasonable, but I would never ever order seafood there. Ps the wine is reasonably priced but they also let you bring in your own bottles.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LankaLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A really great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We spent three weeks in Jaco last August so had lots of time to explore the restaurants. Paparazzi was a real find...tucked away on a side street near to our hotel, we passed it by too many times! When we finally tried it, we were very impressed with the service, the quality of the food, the atmosphere and the pricing. The only italian restaurant in Jaco run by Italians....it is family-owned and delicious! Can't wait to get back there!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
76 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian & Reasonable Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Excellent menu with a wide range of pasta dishes, appetizers, Italian wines, great waitstaff and attentive owners. Fantastic flavor on all the dishes with attention to fresh ingredients and true authentic Italian cuisine. This restaurant is a must do in the Jaco Beach area!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank LisaPuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paparazzi also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Paparazzi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing