We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch the crowds walk by” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coffee Shop

The Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Home made breakfast and lunch.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Watch the crowds walk by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Good food, slow service. Wait staff are generally not Ticos or Ticas (Costa Ricans).

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank redrider52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    38
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elgin, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

First of all, all that know me can vouch that I am the undisputed breakfast master! 35 years and still going strong. The coffee shop is a tad over rated! Let's start with the ham and eggs. The ham is thin sliced processed pork parts that rates on the lower end lunch meat scale. Together both 3" square prices don't bust an eighth of an inch thick. One toast two eggs and a small handfull of potatoes. The bacon was two pieces taken off a pug on weightwatchers. However, looking at the positive, they have great coffee. If you looking for a great breakfast try the sunrise cafe across from KFC or keep heading north a block further and there are a couple breaks fast places that really lay a foundation out for the day. Our poor waitress must have been dealing with some personal issues as for the hour there she never smiled once. She is a very beautiful girl and I'm sure she has a beautiful smile. We wished we had seen it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarpJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Completely and surprisingly delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stopped in here for lunch one day as we were struggling to find a place that wasn't PACKED, so we could actually get a table (or at least chairs) at which to dine. We came into the coffee shop and just as others have reported here, were happy we did. All we ordered were 2 sandwiches: 1 chicken and 1 fish. Somehow both were extremely delishious beyond what a normal sandwich of these ilks should be. Not sure why or how (maybe we were really hungry), but nonetheless, I'm just reporting the facts as I remember it.

bon appetit!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank From5280ToZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum-o!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We ate here for breakfast several times during our stay in Jaco. The service is ok, but the food is outrageously good!! The bread is delicious and I recommend the vegetable omelette. Don't miss out on the guava jam!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rekman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Darn Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

What first caught my attention of this spot was how clean and inviting the shop was. Also, it was the only spot with multiple ceiling fans, which makes dining in Jaco much more comfortable. The cappuccino and espresso were superb; the toast, was thick, whole grain, and just plain delicious. We even ordered extra slices for the table. Overall very good service & great location right tucked in but right on the street for people watching.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tkmanthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee Shop also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing