We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location/Good Menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bubba's & Bohio Beach Bar - CLOSED

Cuisines: American, Seafood, Mexican, Bar, Pub, South American, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
76 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location/Good Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great location on Jaco Beach with a lively bar scene and non-ending flow of locals and tourists alike. The fish tacos are their claim to fame with all fresh ingredients, a variety of toppings and ways to prepare. (It is nice to pick and choose to personlize to the diners taste.) Other standard fare, ie: burgers, chicken sandwich, the menu covers a decent variety. This is a must do when company comes to Costa Rica. The view of the beach is wide ranging and relaxing. A fun place to people watch, relax and unwind!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank LisaPuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    47
    6
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
306 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

After reading the good review of Bubba's, my expectations were high. It is a nice location on the beach but it went downhill from there. We had to wait several minutes before anyone came up to seat us. The prices were higher than I was led to believe by other reviews. We ordered the fish taco, shrimp taco and a Mahi Mahi dinner. My shrimp taco was a disappointment. The shrimp was over seasoned and very salty and the slaw they put on the taco was cole slaw with dressing (I found that odd since you usually get undressed cabbage). My husband's fish taco was the same it was just OK. The sauce given for the tacos was tasty. The mahi mahi dinner came with steamed vegetables and rice. The Mahi seemed dry and over cooked. The food came fast but service after that was extremely slow. A guitar player came to our table to play and sing for us; when he was done he just stood there waiting for a tip - very awkward situation to dig for money while you are eating plus we never asked him to perform for us - he just did it. After we left the restaurant I did not feel well at all. Will not go back

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Borioles97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
“Amazing Beach Bar with great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Great location on the beach with the best ceviche I have ever had!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This has been my family's favorite restaurant for the last 2 1/2 years in Jaco. LOTS of good food!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Imblsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique glass blowing exhibit at bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Service was always perfect. Very friendly atmosphere, the entertainment was one of a kind and a must see! Glass blowing of corona beer bottles! Amazing! Great food....calamari and ceviche with chips! Great!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kingfish_1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bubba's & Bohio Beach Bar also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing