We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, but not what we were expecting”
Review of Hotel La Palmera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Palmera
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is a nice place with a very helpful staff. We asked for three beds and we got two, but this seemed to be the trend for the rest of Costa Rica on our trip. It is maybe two or three blocks farther from the beach then I would have liked

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takman623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

I live in san jose and wanted to spend one night at the hotel with my family, the same day at night I recceivea call that a member of my family past away and had to live without using the room, I had payed the room already and soposely I was going to get another night NOT FREE but at least with a discount, the administrator (FRENCH GUY) was very rude when I called him back to see if posible to get a diferent night maybe for a different room. Now talking about the place PLEASE look for adifferent hotel, the bathroom are terribles. the towels seems they have them since 1990 WHAT KIND OF SERVICE IS THIS THEY NEVER SHOWD EMPATHY THAS ALL WE ASKED AFTER LOSING A NEPHEW.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

La Palmera is located just five hundred meters away from the beach (you are allowed to park your car right on top of the beach). This small hotel is carefully attended by their owners, a courteous French young couple. The rooms, though small, are larger than those in two-star Paris hotels and are equipped with television and air conditioning. The room surrounds a well-maintained small garden as well as a clean swiming pool perfectly comfortable for making laps. The room price includes a sumptuous breakfast. To reach "La Palmera" from San José take the westbound road to Orotina and be ready for a sign to Jacó right after the Orotina toll booth (otherwise you will end up in Caldera, a Pacifique Ocean Port).
Upon reaching the first entrance to Jacó (an hour and a half from leaving San José) continue driving until you see a “Municipalidad” sign at your right. Every now and then the sign disappears, due to car crashes, and you will end up in a desert beach; in that case, turn back and then left at the second entrance to your left. You will find “La Palmera” about one hundred meters from the road, at your left. You will enjoy very good hospitality at low cost.

Room Tip: front rooms for swimers back rooms for sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Several adult family members stayed here in separate rooms for several days. All of us were extremely satisfied.
The hotel is a few blocks from town, which was, to us, a great advantage. Quiet and peaceful.
The rooms are very basic (shelves and closet, no drawers) and VERY clean. A refrigerator is in each room, which was great. The beds are very comfortable. You will need to bring your own amenities (shampoo, moisturizer,conditioner, etc.).
That a good breakfast is included was a bonus: fresh fruit, rice & beans, scrambled eggs, toast, oj, coffee.
The pool area, which includes a covered seating area, got lots of use by all of us. (There are board games in the lobby to use here.) The landscaping is magnificent, and some of us sat outside just to admire the myriad palms and hibiscus.
The service was congenial and, when my sister needed help with the air conditioner, speedy and efficient.
Sure, it could use a fresh coat of paint. That is my only criticism, and for what we paid, I am fine without it. We're coming back!

Room Tip: Room D has a seating area. We took up 5 rooms and everybody was happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was our second time here, and we loved it again! The pool is HUGE for Costa Rica. The rooms were nice and the AC was cool. The free breakfast was great. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Close to town, yet far enough to be quiet. We would definately come back here!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarkChw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Ibiza
Hotel Ibiza
#8 of 40 in Jaco
99 reviews
0.8 km away
Sports Bar and Hotel Oz
1.1 km away
Blue Palm Hotel
Blue Palm Hotel
#33 of 40 in Jaco
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#14 of 40 in Jaco
116 reviews
1.8 km away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
2.1 km away
Hotel Green
Hotel Green
#22 of 40 in Jaco
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Palmera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Palmera

Address: 400 metres east from the municipality of Jaco, Jaco, Garabito Municipality 4023, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Garabito Municipality > Jaco District > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Jaco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Palmera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 90 minutes from the international Juan Santa Maria airport, Jaco offers trendy gourmets restaurants, entertainment framed by a colourful and friendly town, on the Costa Rican Pacific Ocean.La Palmera Hotel is a family friendly hotel and it is an ideal place to relax and enjoy nature and adventure in your own little paradise. The Ocean and the city center are only a few minutes walk from the hotel (about 700 meters).This charming hotel offers you a really nice pool, a private parking with security 24 hours a day, and a free wireless connection available in public areas, 15 very nice and confortable rooms, all in a luxurious tropical garden, with so many palm trees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Palmera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing