We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bamboo Boutique Hotel(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$ 76
US$ 65
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apartotel Flamboyant(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$ 76
US$ 73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$ 93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beds on Bohio(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$ 38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 412
US$ 400
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croc's Resort & Casino(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$ 310
US$ 279
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
133
211
155
79
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
211
155
79
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorgan's covecosta ricaswim up barsurf lessonsgrounds are well maintainedrice and beanscab ridepura vidascarlet macawsocean frontfelt very safelaid backsan joseshannonpoolsbeachpina
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2015

My husband and I stayed for ten days dec 28- Jan 7 2015. The beach is great,warm,awesome to boogie board and learn to surf and just people watch. Rooms are not fancy but I was pleasantly surprised that they were dated but had a good 'feel' fitting to the locale. Rodrigo te surf instructor is outstanding as is the massage lady-the owners wife-. Easy to walk into town, you can book tours or rent bikes at the lobby as well. Downside is the service. Simply wouldnt go back based on the SLOW service. No one in Costa Rica is in a hurry and that is ok, BUT the management/owners choice not to put on 2 bartenders when it is smoking busy is in fact just rude to paying customers. I was appaled that one-great-bartender was staffed on New Years eve as well, he was a great guy but set up for failure with zero help.The owner sat at the bar and watched all his customers wait OVER 20 minutes for ONE drink. We are not talking a busy night club lineup,just people wanting wine for dinner. Also no activites or entertainment at the resort and the food is passable but not great. Jaco was beautiful,and Morgans Cove a solid,OK. Just know it is a true 3 star.Thats all your getting, NO extras here. Staff besides Josee, massage lady and hazel a cleaning lady were not friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2014

One day the hotel serve a nice buffet for breakfast, but then the other day they change the rules of the game and only one dish on the menu selection. The thing is that only one dish and no refill. The details of the book was breakfast included, but unfortunately..a really disappointing breakfast. Worst thing is the way they handle the situation and the answer was...there is not enough people for the same buffet.lol.

Ask me if I am saying again...

Room Tip: Go to center of Jaco, might be better choices. For me and my friends, a bad service in the breakfast, ruin the one day vacation.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2014

There are three things that make me happy about any place I have chosen to stay.
A comfortable bed for a good nights sleep;
A working shower with consistent warm/hot water;
and a good bartender. This place was a happy place.
The beach is not so good, many stones.
A short walk to town and the locals don't harass you to buy things. We felt very comfortable doing this and did it many times.
We did three tours in the seven days we were there and they all carried out professionally.

Room Tip: I searched Trip Advisor before choosing this place. There were warnings about certain rooms being too close to the pool, too close to the beach bar, too,too,too everything. You get what you pay for and we decided to let the chips fall where they may. We got the dreaded room #19. We had a great time. It was very convenient to the pool; and a short walk to the dining area.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marcus Welby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Staff was great! Surf shack and the instructor (Rodrigo) are highly recommended. If you are looking for an affordable hotel on the beach that locals hold events at on weekends (mingling with the people from here) this is the place. It’s also close enough to walk to the crazy spots but far enough away to have families enjoy the stay. Great place to chillax!!!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2014

The rooms are basic but fine, im glad we could use the bigger morgans cove casino reaort for the pool as the pool in the central one wasn't the best.
Overall we found the staff quite unhelpfull and rude, a smile goes a long way!!
When trying to book an airport transfer we had to try 3 times!
We also nearly got conned out of $16 to pay for a key for our security deposit box, but we put our foot down As it says a deposit box is included.

The main problem here is that the double rooms back onto two open air clubs.... They are soooo noisy you may as well be in the bar, they are only 50meters away.
It was unbearable and frustratingly, no where else on the strip had open air clubs, apart from the two directly infront of this hotel.
If you want to sleep before 2am i would not stay here.

If i return to jaco i would not stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews