We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saladero Eco Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Samoa del Sur(Golfito)(Great Value!)
US$ 45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Purruja Lodge(Golfito)(Great Value!)
US$ 38
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 112
US$ 107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Sierra(Golfito)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
270
17
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
17
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housewonderful hostsprimary rainforestother guestshowler monkeysfamily stylegolfo dulcecosta ricafishsea turtlespaddle boardsspent nightslemongrass teasolar powerosa peninsulabird watchingkayak tour
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Saladero lodge is a place to remember. for it's beautiful setting - rain forest all around, beautiful botanic garden and an amazing gulf... for the incredible verity of birds, mammals, fish and other (friendly) sea creatures... for the healing sounds of animals and silence... for the kindness of Susan and Harvey - their brilliant sense of hummer, sensitivity, open heart and true love for people. Once you let this place embrace you, you'll redefine the term home.
Me and my 12 year old daughter had spent 3 nights in their exquisite yet modest cabins. Ate fresh and delicious food, and enjoyed the company of the other guests (laughed, blabbered and shared space). We thank Susan, Harvey and their kind stuff for making us feel loved and cared for, and promise to return soon!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayelet_LATOVITCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Every person on this earth should experience a primary rainforest. The setting of this lodge right on the edge of the jungle on the shore of this peaceful gulf was like experiencing a lost paradise. The accomadations were beautifully cared for and clean and very comfortable. Watching the tropical birds or listening to the unfamiliar sounds of the jungle made our trip exciting as well as educational. We hiked on the paths through the jungle, learned how to properly open a coconut and paddled kayaks on the gulf as well as up a river amongst mangroves. Just relaxing and visiting with Susan and Harvey as well as other visitors around the table at the evening meal was a highlight of each day. The food was varied and tasty. We would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJKrehbiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This was a special- occasion gift from our children. And what a gift this was! Susan and Harvey are so genuine and welcoming. They are the keepers of this piece of paradise and are sharing it in the best possible way. We stayed in the tree house which offers such tranquility and privacy, worth every step we had to take to get there! The food is as local as can be and excellently prepared with Costarican flavors added by Pauline. The grounds are so beautiful and interesting, and the water is warm and perfect for swimming, kayaking and snorkeling.
This is a true eco lodge where we quickly adapted to the calming rhythm of nature.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We spent 4 days at the Saladero Lodge and it was just amazing! Harvey and Susan treated us like friends coming back to their homestead. We had a peaceful and interesting time. Harvey explained us about the plants growing in the garden and about the rainforest and the mangroves. Paulina was serving excellent Costa Rican food or prepared the fresh fish caught by our American friends Robert and Ken.
Thank you to Susan and Harvey for the great time we spent at Saladero.

Room Tip: There was no Swimming Pool or Fitness center but the see was just in front and it was wonderful to have a swim in the clean and warm water.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DORA_SW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We just returned from 6 days at Saladero and loved every minute. We hated to have to leave! Everything about the lodge met exactly what we were looking for in a tropical vacation - birds, flowers, rain forest, and sea kayaking.

Susan and Harvey were excellent hosts and the food was exceptional - delicious, healthy, and Susan always kept an eye towards producing meals that as environmentally healthy as possible. The family style service allowed us to get close to our fellow travelers which was an added bonus.

We stayed in the Treehouse, which was a bit of a climb as advertised, but it was up in the forest canopy and gave great views of the birds and wildlife. The seclusion gave us the feeling of being off on our own which was perfect for this trip that included Valentine's day.

My wife and I loved Saladero and all the people we met and hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_Boulder_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews