We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Lodge Tortuguero

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

This 'hard to get to' rustic lodge was my favorite lodging on our trip to Costa Rica. Grounds were beautifully groomed, lodge rooms sparse but very clean and comfortable, food was good, staff very friendly, lovely pool and close to both river and ocean. We could hear the ocean waves at night. The river guides were very good and we saw so many birds, reptiles, and monkeys. It was a great experience. Thank You

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chanmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    341
    81
    29
    8
See reviews for
171
314
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Russellville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We had a wonderful boat ride thru' the jungle on a sunny day to get to Laguna Lodge - there are no roads at all. We saw lots of unusual animals and birds, and our initial impression of the lodge itself was very good. It is between the river and the Caribbean Sea. The main buildings are attractive, and the dining area was spacious. The food was ok - all buffet style, and guests were mainly our tour group and other tours. Our room was more even more basic than we expected, as was the bath. We finally got someone to fix our hot water, but it wasn't reliable. The grounds were very pretty, and we got to see the red eyed tree frog, the symbol of Costa Rica. The beach is nesting ground for turtles, and some of our group got to see the last of the baby turtles trying to get to the sea - a real treat. The second day it was raining, and we set out in open boats to tour the canals and look for more wildlife. In spite of the furnished ponchos, we were soon soaked to the skin. The humidity was so high that my good Canon camera quit and never restarted. We returned to the lodge for lunch and were able to get into dry clothes, but we didn't go on the afternoon tour - not interested in getting soaked again. Our room was not very comfortable for spending an afternoon, but there was nowhere else to go. The lodge did offer to dry our clothes, which was our only hope of ever getting them dry in that humidity, and our tour guides saw to it that we got them back in time to pack for the next morning departure. That boat trip was better, as the boat was covered and it was not raining as hard. So - there were good things about this adventure, but all in all it's not one we would repeat.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bojean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
351 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed two nights at the Laguna Lodge and enjoyed them both very much. The lodging is certainly not fancy, but more than adequate when you consider that the lodge is located far off the beaten path, as in "there aren't any roads out there." All travel is by boat on the canals. Our room was very basic, with a bed, nightstand, shower, sink and toilet. It was clean and dry, no bugs and the roof was free of leaks. The windows were screened, allowing for a flow of air through the room. An oscillating electric fan hung from the ceiling to provide further air movement. Two chairs were out on the covered porch for our use. The room was part of a four-unit building. The common buildings (check-in, conference room) and water-side benches at the dock were somewhat unique in that they featured Gaudi-like design elements. The open air restaurant facility was right next to the canal and featured good and wholesome, but not fancy, food on a buffet line for all meals. There was easy access to the beach on the ocean side. Bird watching was great, especially watching members of the colony of Montezuma Oropendulas located on the property. Land-based and boat crews were all great people, courteous and helpful. Overall a very favorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WYbirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Va
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We were a group of 3 adults and 2 kids. The rooms are basic but just fine- laid out in buildings of 4-6 units each around the grounds. We had rooms up against the beach, which was nice. The kids loved the pool - it is large and has a bridge and a waterfall. There is a frog garden, and they loved hunting for frogs in the dark. The buffet style food was decent - we loved the fresh fruit always available, and the bartenders were very friendly. I will say that pouring rain on the tin roof was very loud trying to sleep, but we just chalked it up to part of the rainforest experience. Loved the park, and loved the lodge experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

As a lodge on the edge of a river in the jungle we didnt expect much regards accomodation and sadly werent disappointed! The gardens are really lovely, and there is a nice pool The rooms arent bad if basic, but the hot water supply was unreliable, and the food in the canteen like dining room was horrendous, with chicken cooked to a leather like consistancy, and fish the same way. An awful breakfast was also provided. Staff were nice though, particularly the barmen, but as for the rest of the place, no thanks.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orangytangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.3 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
2.9 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.9 km away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.4 km away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
2.8 km away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 33 in Tortuguero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Lodge Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Lodge Tortuguero

Property: Laguna Lodge Tortuguero
Address: BARRA DE TORTUGUERO , CARIBE NORTE 173. | ZAPOTE Limon, Tortuguero 2015 , Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Tortuguero
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,330 - ₹ 43,357
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Lodge Tortuguero 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Laguna Lodge Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Lodge Tortuguero Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing