We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Find in Tortuguero!”
Review of Manatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manatus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Was so sad to leave this place yesterday having spent 3 nights here. The hotel is situated on the Tortuguero River and is a small boutique hotel of 12 rooms, hence a feeling of being a family with an extremely personal touch! From guides to restaurant staff to management there is an overall feeling of being cared for and belonging. Our 2 guides ( Luis & Luis) were so passionate about their jobs and their surroundings but equally attentive to the guests - thank you so much for your inspirational tours! The Waiters were extremely friendly and made our daughters 19th birthday so special - thank you so much too! Manatus...... we will be back! :) A perfect start to our 14 day trip around Costa Rica!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Almajema123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManatus, Public Relations Manager at Manatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

At Manatus, we will be thrilled to have you back. We are happy that you feel so welcome in Costa Rica and we are happy to be part of one that many trips. Thank you so much for our amazing words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

The setting of this hotel is amazing with a lovely pool overlooking the river, the wildlife is abundant and the guides and restaurant staff great. Luis senior and junior did a fantastic job of escorting us around and we saw everything from sloths, river turtles, howler monkeys hurling fruit from trees to the leatherback turtle laying her eggs. The aircon in the rooms was also an added bonus and the food was great. Would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManatus, Public Relations Manager at Manatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

And we are incredibly thankful for such recommendation. We work hard to provide an unforgettable experience to our guests and we love to read kind words like these. Thank you again for your time at Hotel Manatus!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We had a wonderful stay! Rooms are spacious and while our daughters enjoyed the AC my wife and i loved the freshness of the air and the sounds of the sea in de distance. The staff in the restaurant were lovely and the grounds are wonderful green and spacious. The only remark i have concerns the guides. Not the spotting of animals as that is something they do really well but more the interaction with guests. One can tell they do this on a day to day basis and they do not really bother what your expectations/wishes are. That is somewhat of a shame......Commnication on programs is also somewhat scarce.....having said that, we saw lots of animals and macaws.......

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hansNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManatus, Public Relations Manager at Manatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that you took the time to write it and we took note of the observations made about the interaction and what is expected from it. If you return to this amazing place, we hope you will choose our hotel again as your destination. We will work hard to get you the best possible experience. Thanks again for your time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This was a bit of an anti-climax for us. The hotel is well located and has lots of charm with great bedrooms. But, there are a few things we would have changed to make this worth some of the rave reviews:
- service - some of us waited an hour and a half for lunch. Not great with 4 kids. We had to ask 3 times just to get water and some of the staff were not up to scratch.
- facilities - there is so much opportunity to make a nice outside seating area to relax in the morning and evening, but other than the restaurant there is nothing.
- wifi - only really works by reception, so no good if you need to keep in touch with work.
On a positive, the tour guide was amazing. My kids felt as though they covered GCSE geography in 1 day.

Room Tip: Room 8 upwards if you don;t want to be woken by monkeys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Helsandboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManatus, Public Relations Manager at Manatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your recommendations and we will take note on them to avoid similar situations in the future. We appreciate your kind words about the tour guide and we are glad that your kids had such a great learning experience. Next time you visit us, we will provide you an amazing service. Thanks for your time you took to write this comments, we appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend. We had a fantastic experience and learned a great deal about the location, wildlife and village of Tortuguero. Our guides, Luis Sr and Luis Jr were fantastic and it was easy to see the passion they had for the wildlife and flora/fauna.The Night-time turtle nesting tour with Luis Sr was beyond compare and an experience that we will remember for years to come...During our stay, we even had a slight mishap with domestic flights leaving Tortuguero, and hotel manager Sergio was gracious and immensely helpful in coordinating our transport at the end of our stay. Overall, I think Manatus hotel is the best kept secret of Tortuguero and is severely underrated compared to its competitors. Most definitely would recommend this hotel and its staff!

Michelle

Room Tip: Night-time walking tour through jungle or the night-time turtle nesting tours are worth the value an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManatus, Public Relations Manager at Manatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

As a secret, we are willing to be shared. And beautiful reviews like this are perfect to make this secret available to people all around the world. At Manatus Hotel we cannot be more thankful for your detailed words and we are glad to read that you enjoyed the wonders of Tortuguero so much. We would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.1 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,086 reviews
3.0 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
268 reviews
2.8 km away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 34 in Tortuguero
720 reviews
1.7 km away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,283 reviews
1.6 km away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatus Hotel

Address: located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park | located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 454-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range: ₹ 19,928 - ₹ 35,624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manatus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manatus is the only hotel in Tortuguero that offers all the comforts of the modern world in an exotic and wild environment. Our hotel is an oasis of peace surrounded by a real wildlife sanctuary. Experience ecotourism and adventure, and then relax and enjoy the wonderful amenities of our hotel. Come live the Manatus experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Manatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manatus Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing