We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens(Tortuguero)
US$ 212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Evergreen Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$ 486
US$ 471
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Pachira Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$ 486
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 502
US$ 487
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Aninga Lodge(Tortuguero)
US$ 486
US$ 471
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Aracari Garden Hostel(Tortuguero)(Great Value!)
US$ 50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Turtle Beach Lodge(Tortuguero)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Casa Marbella(Tortuguero)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Toucan & Tarpon(Tortuguero)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
394
132
20
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
132
20
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showersmall hotelthe air conditioningcosta ricathe rivernational parkhowler monkeyssan joserooms are bigboat captainrestaurant staffan excellent guidespotting wildlifenight walkboth waysenjoyable stayturtle laying
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

The setting of this hotel is amazing with a lovely pool overlooking the river, the wildlife is abundant and the guides and restaurant staff great. Luis senior and junior did a fantastic job of escorting us around and we saw everything from sloths, river turtles, howler monkeys hurling fruit from trees to the leatherback turtle laying her eggs. The aircon in the rooms was also an added bonus and the food was great. Would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManatus, Public Relations Manager at Manatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

And we are incredibly thankful for such recommendation. We work hard to provide an unforgettable experience to our guests and we love to read kind words like these. Thank you again for your time at Hotel Manatus!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We had a wonderful stay! Rooms are spacious and while our daughters enjoyed the AC my wife and i loved the freshness of the air and the sounds of the sea in de distance. The staff in the restaurant were lovely and the grounds are wonderful green and spacious. The only remark i have concerns the guides. Not the spotting of animals as that is something they do really well but more the interaction with guests. One can tell they do this on a day to day basis and they do not really bother what your expectations/wishes are. That is somewhat of a shame......Commnication on programs is also somewhat scarce.....having said that, we saw lots of animals and macaws.......

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hansNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManatus, Public Relations Manager at Manatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that you took the time to write it and we took note of the observations made about the interaction and what is expected from it. If you return to this amazing place, we hope you will choose our hotel again as your destination. We will work hard to get you the best possible experience. Thanks again for your time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This was a bit of an anti-climax for us. The hotel is well located and has lots of charm with great bedrooms. But, there are a few things we would have changed to make this worth some of the rave reviews:
- service - some of us waited an hour and a half for lunch. Not great with 4 kids. We had to ask 3 times just to get water and some of the staff were not up to scratch.
- facilities - there is so much opportunity to make a nice outside seating area to relax in the morning and evening, but other than the restaurant there is nothing.
- wifi - only really works by reception, so no good if you need to keep in touch with work.
On a positive, the tour guide was amazing. My kids felt as though they covered GCSE geography in 1 day.

Room Tip: Room 8 upwards if you don;t want to be woken by monkeys!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Helsandboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManatus, Public Relations Manager at Manatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for your recommendations and we will take note on them to avoid similar situations in the future. We appreciate your kind words about the tour guide and we are glad that your kids had such a great learning experience. Next time you visit us, we will provide you an amazing service. Thanks for your time you took to write this comments, we appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend. We had a fantastic experience and learned a great deal about the location, wildlife and village of Tortuguero. Our guides, Luis Sr and Luis Jr were fantastic and it was easy to see the passion they had for the wildlife and flora/fauna.The Night-time turtle nesting tour with Luis Sr was beyond compare and an experience that we will remember for years to come...During our stay, we even had a slight mishap with domestic flights leaving Tortuguero, and hotel manager Sergio was gracious and immensely helpful in coordinating our transport at the end of our stay. Overall, I think Manatus hotel is the best kept secret of Tortuguero and is severely underrated compared to its competitors. Most definitely would recommend this hotel and its staff!

Michelle

Room Tip: Night-time walking tour through jungle or the night-time turtle nesting tours are worth the value and incredible!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManatus, Public Relations Manager at Manatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

As a secret, we are willing to be shared. And beautiful reviews like this are perfect to make this secret available to people all around the world. At Manatus Hotel we cannot be more thankful for your detailed words and we are glad to read that you enjoyed the wonders of Tortuguero so much. We would love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

What is there not to like? Spacious rooms, beautiful grounds, kayaks to use and good food with a fun wait staff! Our trips into Tortguero town and National Park with Louis Senior was a good learning experience. Forgot about relaxing in the pool and looking at the grounds and river while keeping cool.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sailtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManatus, Public Relations Manager at Manatus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you so much for your comments about our facilities and the work of Luis! If you return to Costa Rica and decide to book at Manatus Hotel again, we will be more than pleased to make your visit a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews