We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming in the wild”
Review of Manatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manatus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We liked the hotel overall, the rooms were nice but lacking in amenities (no hot water in the sink, no robes or slippers, no phones in the room to call the front desk), and the food is very underwhelming. That being said, the service is amazing, the transportation was effortless, and the location ideal to explore nature. Could be more luxurious for the money, but a very pleasant experience nonetheless.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkTravelstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 275 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

We visited the Manatus for two nights as part of a package and will stay longer when we return. The lodge is a well appointed lodge of 12 cabins with the owner on site. we were looked after in an exemplary fashion by all the staff and were made feel welcomed and appreciated. The food was excellent and I could not fault the Lodge in any way.

The boat trips through the backwaters were taken at a sensible pace and provided an excellent wildlife experience.

An excellent destination, we will return and have time to appreciate the wonderful peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbotsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

After a long boat ride through the river, with cool wildlife we approached this small hotel. We were welcomed with a nice fruit juice and shown our rooms. You must remember you are in the middle of the jungle. The rooms were comfortable, most importantly with air conditioning. The restaurant did a nice job with our meals. There is a nice bar also serving all different kinds of drinks. The boat tour through the river was the most outstanding aspect seeing the wildlife. It was a very cool intro to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Almost everything about this place was top notch. The room was wonderful and attention to detail was everywhere. Everything was clean and well looked after, including the grounds and communal areas. The staff - especially Ray, Moises and Gregory, were extremely friendly and helpful as well as knowledgeable about the area and we had a great evening getting to know them and their stories a bit better.

The morning boat safari was amazing. It was raining when we started, so we set off with our ponchos on thinking we might not see a lot. But then the sun came out and all the animals and birds started appearing to bask in the warmth. It was a fantastic experience and our guide, Ray, and his colleague had very sharp eyes and a seemingly encyclopaedic knowledge of everything around us. There was also the path through the forest, the trip to the village, the viewing deck and the lovely pool to keep us busy.

The only criticisms I can think of would be that the quality of the food could have been a bit better and the surly lady walking everywhere with the very cute dog was a rather unsettling. Other than that, I would recommend this place happily.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We enjoyed our stay (two night, three day stay.) The value of the room which includes transportation, meals and the guides made the lodge an excellent deal. We got picked up in San Jose and got a nice feel of the countryside with stops along the way (banana plantation, breakfast) and information pertaining to animals and plants. The final leg on the boat was fun and exciting (its "sport" to see how fast they can go) The owner welcomed us with a cool towel and a refreshing drink. The overall food experience was good. The selections allowed something for everyone but it was the service and chance to talk to other travelers that made it really fun. Pricing for the alcohol was reasonable. The tours in the canals were great and we really could take our time, take lots of pictures and ask questions. Our room was big and clean with fridge, safe and a large shower area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomeHelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.1 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,104 reviews
0.4 km away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
3.0 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
65 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Ilan-Ilan Trails & Lodge
1.6 km away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 34 in Tortuguero
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatus Hotel

Address: located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park | located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 454-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price Range: ₹ 20,367 - ₹ 37,025 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manatus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manatus is the only hotel in Tortuguero that offers all the comforts of the modern world in an exotic and wild environment. Our hotel is an oasis of peace surrounded by a real wildlife sanctuary. Experience ecotourism and adventure, and then relax and enjoy the wonderful amenities of our hotel. Come live the Manatus experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Manatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manatus Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing