We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing couple of days - forest, water, lovely staff, beautiful surroundings”
Review of Manatus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manatus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing couple of days - forest, water, lovely staff, beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Almost everything about this place was top notch. The room was wonderful and attention to detail was everywhere. Everything was clean and well looked after, including the grounds and communal areas. The staff - especially Ray, Moises and Gregory, were extremely friendly and helpful as well as knowledgeable about the area and we had a great evening getting to know them and their stories a bit better.

The morning boat safari was amazing. It was raining when we started, so we set off with our ponchos on thinking we might not see a lot. But then the sun came out and all the animals and birds started appearing to bask in the warmth. It was a fantastic experience and our guide, Ray, and his colleague had very sharp eyes and a seemingly encyclopaedic knowledge of everything around us. There was also the path through the forest, the trip to the village, the viewing deck and the lovely pool to keep us busy.

The only criticisms I can think of would be that the quality of the food could have been a bit better and the surly lady walking everywhere with the very cute dog was a rather unsettling. Other than that, I would recommend this place happily.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    113
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
139
253
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We enjoyed our stay (two night, three day stay.) The value of the room which includes transportation, meals and the guides made the lodge an excellent deal. We got picked up in San Jose and got a nice feel of the countryside with stops along the way (banana plantation, breakfast) and information pertaining to animals and plants. The final leg on the boat was fun and exciting (its "sport" to see how fast they can go) The owner welcomed us with a cool towel and a refreshing drink. The overall food experience was good. The selections allowed something for everyone but it was the service and chance to talk to other travelers that made it really fun. Pricing for the alcohol was reasonable. The tours in the canals were great and we really could take our time, take lots of pictures and ask questions. Our room was big and clean with fridge, safe and a large shower area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomeHelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Having travelled and stayed in good hotels, Manatus was an excellent example where the staff were exceptional and made our stay most unforgettable. We had a lot of rain, but Greg Moses, Ray and the hotel manager did everything they could to keep us happy.

The overall value is excellent as it includes the transfers, all food and tours if you book the 2 night package.

The only negative we had was that the bathrooms were not very inviting and lighting in the rooms was very poor.

Room Tip: Room No 2 is close to the reception and better in rainy season
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had a lovely stay at Manatus hotel. We booked the 2 nights/3 days package, which at the beginning appeared to be expensive, nevertheless we have to admit that it is right the opposite, since it included everything we needed at our stay in Tortuguero, such as transportation from/to San José, breakfast, lunch & dinner, and two tours through the channels to see the rainforest and wildlife.

Hotel location was perfect, since it is integrated in the main channel heading to Tortuguero natural park. Hotel has a small and very nice swimming pool, and a private path in the rainforest, where we had the opportunity to see dozens of red frogs, blue jeans frogs, birds, butterflies…(and unfortunately thousands of mosquitoes, be careful!)

Rooms were very comfortable and nice. They even had a second private shower located outdoor.

Food at Manaus was outstanding. There were several options for each meal, which included very nice and tasty typical Costa Rica or Caribbean dishes. All personnel did continuously their best to ensure we had a very pleasant stay, and we would like to make a special remark on the very good service given by both Gregorio and Moisés (our waiters), who tried always their best to pleased us.

Tortuguero was our first stay in a two weeks trip to Costa Rica, and we still had some reservations to make. Margie, the Manatus guide at the bus, provide us with very useful recommendations, and we can say that we completed successfully our tour thanks to her advises.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChillSeekers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We were so lucky that friends told us to stay in manatus. Otherswise we probably hadn't as it is quiet pricy. Fortunately we did follow our friends recommendation. The
Hotel is awesome! The food was really good and the restaurant area is very nice. So is the pool... Our room was very clean and the staff was always great. Definately do the boat tours they offer through the national park and turtle watching!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schoppenizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
1.1 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,063 reviews
3.0 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
263 reviews
2.8 km away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Pachira Lodge
Pachira Lodge
#4 of 35 in Tortuguero
1,239 reviews
2.2 km away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 35 in Tortuguero
693 reviews
1.6 km away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 35 in Tortuguero
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manatus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatus Hotel

Property: Manatus Hotel
Address: located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park | located 3 minutes from the Tortuguero National Park, Tortuguero 454-4005, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tortuguero
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,677 - ₹ 29,355
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manatus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manatus is the only hotel in Tortuguero that offers all the comforts of the modern world in an exotic and wild environment. Our hotel is an oasis of peace surrounded by a real wildlife sanctuary. Experience ecotourism and adventure, and then relax and enjoy the wonderful amenities of our hotel. Come live the Manatus experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Manatus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manatus Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing