We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and Great Hosts!”
Review of Wild Ginger

Wild Ginger
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Tortuguero
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Inventive fusion cuisine made with fresh ingredients. Not one single canned good goes on to our plates! All our breads and sauces are homemade, and all of our recipes are original to Wild Ginger.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Amazing food and Great Hosts!”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Very glad we found this restaurant in Tortuguero! The hosts Jen and Jorge are amazing people and provided us two amazing meals and evenings at the Wild Ginger! Happy hour is a great bonus, Jorge made the best pina colada I have ever had ... actually all his fruit coctails were amazing and fresh! Missing them already. We sat on the hammocks on the beach outside the restatuant enjoying these amazing drinks...perfect loaction to relax and undwind! Now for the food....it was amazing. Not one bad thing to say about it! The crispy plantain basket was my favorite appy...a must try if you go here. Jen puts an amazing spin on a classic costa rican dish. I loved the caribean stew ... I wish I could have taken some home with me. I dont think I will ever find anything like it in canada! Over all, this restaurant is a must if your in tortuguero! I wish Jen and Jorge had opened this place in vancouver canada, as I would be there every day!

Thanks for the company and the food!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NursesRock333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    57
    22
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Tortuguero”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Not much to add to what everyone has raved about, but just wanted to add our experience. Jorge and Jenny, the owners, are very friendly and truly took an interest in us. My wife loved the mango smoothies and the main courses we got (Spaghetti Carbonera) were very good. Responsive service and good food.

You will not regret the visit and you'll appreciate the friendly service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cmud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“you must go here!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

when in Tortuguero, you have to go here. We had lunch, chatted with the lovely owners and then took daquiris over to the hammocks nestled in some palm trees overlooking the beach, not more than a couple of metres from the restaurant. There we stayed, snoozing and drinking yet more daquiris (it was happy hour!), accompanied by a dog and a very friendly cat. Breeze off the sea, dappled sunlight. Perfect way to spend an afternoon!!!! Oh yes, and high speed wifi should you need it plus I think they take all kinds of cards.

Wish we´d gone on the first day. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkclarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Great food and very hospitable hosts.Restaurant is situated right next to the beach

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Tortuguero Meal”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I ate at this restaurant, tucked away by the beach, several times during my time in Tortuguero. On the last 2 occasions I took my parents and we had two of the best meals that we have had in Costa Rica. All meals are well cooked and combine great flavours that wont leave you disappointed.
Jen and Jorge are great hosts and will make sure that you are very well looked after. Make sure that you take the very short walk out of town to this excellent restaurant which has the best location of all eateries in Tortuguero!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillipsrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Ginger also viewed

Tortuguero, Province of Limon
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
 
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
 
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
Tortuguero, Province of Limon
 

Been to Wild Ginger? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing