We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!”
Review of La Casona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casona
Ranked #5 of 9 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would like to thank all of you for your attentions and services. We were delighted with your hotel to which we hope to return in the near future, not only for the decoration, location and quality, but above all for the kindness with which we were treated. Really an unforgettable experience in the most beautiful city in the world: Quito!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasonadetortuguero, Gerente at La Casona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi José :) thank you sooo much for your beautiful words.... we appreciate it... people like make our work easier and happy.... we hope to see you again... Best regards, Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

So glad I booked this hotel! Quick overview of my long review: friendly, breakfast included, access to a kitchen, well located, safe and well connected to tours. It's a family run hotel, the daughter Sara appears to be in charge of the hotel (does the front desk shift during the day) while one brother David runs Costa Roots (ie. canoe tours, turtle viewing) and the other runs Tortuguero Adventure (ie. kayaking tours, fishing). I was really impressed by how professionally this place was run with good attention to detail, particularly daily cleaning. The rooms are typical of budget accommodations - they aren't fancy or brand new but they have everything you need at a good price. You should be aware the rooms only have fans (there is no A/C) and it does get hot during the daytime but that's the norm in Tortuguero. There is a lovely lounge area that I spent a lot of time in and it was never too crowded. The wifi has limited service in the rooms but is very strong in the lobby, lounge and kitchen. I booked because they included breakfast and didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised by the quality and quantity of breakfast. The pancake morning was my favourite. You wouldn't get better breakfast in the restaurants in town and it's awesome to have one less thing to worry about. Another plus is that they let you use the kitchen for lunch and dinner since they only use it for breakfast. Being able to chill my beer and prep a meal was very helpful. The staff are super friendly and accommodating. Sara's English is fantastic and she was able to easily get all my tours handled through her brothers company. Don't be afraid to book your tours through the hotel! You don't pay more and you get the best guides in my opinion. Costa Roots (the family tour company I did my canoe and turtle tours with) was reasonably priced, and very professionally organized. I highly recommend you do those two tours minimum while in town. The hotel is well located. It's not beach front but you can see the beach from the entrance so close enough in m opinion. It's a very flat short walk from the boats. Be aware that regardless of where you stay in Tortuguero the paths aren't built for suitcases on wheels (like many tourist spots in Costa Rica) so do yourself a favour and get a backpack if you were planning to bring a suitcase on your trip. Last but certainly not least, I felt very safe at this hotel. They lock the front gate at 8pm and you have a key to get yourself in the side gate so no one can just wander in. Plus the crowd the frequents the hotel are seasoned backpackers so everyone is respectful of each other and a great source of info for future destinations around the country. In finale, if you want the best in budget accommodations that Tortuguero has to offer, book this hotel!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ShawnaCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasonadetortuguero, Front Office at La Casona, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Shawna,

Thank you so much for you detailed feedback.!!! It was a really pleasure to host you, thanks for choosing us.!!!


Best regards,
Rodrigo Alfaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

La Casona is a rustic, family run guest house in a great location close to all the amenities of the small town of Tortuguero. The rooms were clean, spacious and typical of this type of accommodation in the area - although I doubt anywhere else would give you the same warm welcome as Sarah did when we arrived. The breakfast was simple but delicious and the coffee was the best we drank anywhere in Costa Rica. We linked with Costa Rica Roots tours for the turtles, day walk and canoeing in the National Park which was exceptional and to be recommended. We loved it all.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasonadetortuguero, Gerente at La Casona, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi my friends :)
Thank you so much for your great review.... that´s the reason we work everyday...try to give you all you need to be like home :) .... We hope we are going to see you again .... Pura vida!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

This is a rustic and perfectly located hotel, at 100 mts from the beach, next to the governmental medical service, and at 200 meters from the dock. The day we got there, we watched a local football game just in the front of la Casona.

If you need to just sleep at the charming town of Tortuguero, at a very low price, this is your place.

They have this connection with Roots tours, an agency located near, we took the turtles tour at night, served by kind people.
The town is lovely and highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Paulina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasonadetortuguero, Gerente at La Casona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi friends, thank you very much for your comments, we work to be better everyday :)

I hope you can come back some day, kind regards

Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this nice, cozy and clean hotel. Perfect location, 50 meters from the beach, in the center of tortuguero town.
Sara was nice and very helpful. She cooked our breakfast with love.
Breakfast included fresh fruits, eggs with toasts and good coffee.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.0 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
267 reviews
0.0 km away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
65 reviews
0.0 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
154 reviews
0.0 km away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 9 in Tortuguero
198 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Miss Junie's
Hotel Miss Junie's
#9 of 34 in Tortuguero
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona

Address: Costado norte de la plaza de deportes | Tortuguero Centro, Tortuguero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range: ₹ 1,492 - ₹ 2,335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Hotel Tortuguero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing