We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
81
68
20
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
68
20
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoccer fieldcanoe tourtowels were changedbreakfast includedplace to stayroom was cleancommon areasstayed for two nightsprivate bathroomperfect locationcosta ricanational parknight toursararootsfandock
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

This is a rustic and perfectly located hotel, at 100 mts from the beach, next to the governmental medical service, and at 200 meters from the dock. The day we got there, we watched a local football game just in the front of la Casona.

If you need to just sleep at the charming town of Tortuguero, at a very low price, this is your place.

They have this connection with Roots tours, an agency located near, we took the turtles tour at night, served by kind people.
The town is lovely and highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Paulina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasonadetortuguero, Gerente at La Casona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi friends, thank you very much for your comments, we work to be better everyday :)

I hope you can come back some day, kind regards

Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this nice, cozy and clean hotel. Perfect location, 50 meters from the beach, in the center of tortuguero town.
Sara was nice and very helpful. She cooked our breakfast with love.
Breakfast included fresh fruits, eggs with toasts and good coffee.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Arrived early to La Casona after a norning flight to Tortuguero and Sara de owner prepared me a delicious breafast with fruits, what a great welcome! The property is not big and has a nice garden. Located in front of the soccer field. The place is quiet not far away from the main road and dock and there are several places to eat close to it. They also helped me to arrange a canoe tour with Victor, a very good guide. Sara the owner and the staff is very, very friendly and attentive. My room was basic with a fan and the bed was clean wich was perfect for my 3 days stay. The bathroom was very clean and is a good size. Definetly I would recommend La Casona

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank josevalerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

A very good place to stay. La Casona is located in the village, very near the National Park and the sea. The atmosphere is very quiet and relaxing. We loved the common areas decoration and the garden. Beds are confortable. Ed is a very nice and professional biologist who will make you discover nature and animals as never you did. We will never forget Tortuguero's experience. Isabelle from France

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isalavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

La Casona is a great place to stay in the charming village of Tortuguero. The rooms are cost-effective, with an inside garden and a comfortable community area where you can eat or just lay in hammock. It is very close (1 minute) to the seashore. Local guide Ed and his colleague offer interesting programmes like tour in the rainforest, night-tour and canoing on canal Tortuguero. Ed is a biologist and he is happy to show all the plants and animals living in these beautiful places. A place I would like to get back in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RebekaS114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews