We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in a nice quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Ranked #5 of 10 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We stayed 3 nights here in January this year, the rooms are basic but clean and quite spacious. The beds are not the most comfortable, but the room is dark whih allows a good night sleep as well as being in a quiet location. Towels and sheets were changed every day, and there is a nice area at the front on the property with hammocks to relax and read. We were greeted from the boat by Roberto who also took us through what activities and trips were available during our stay. He was nice, friendly and didn't pressure us at all. We used him for an early morning kayak trip in the canals where we saw a great variety of wildlife, including caimans, lizards, monkeys and birds. Roberto was a knowledgable guide and spoke pretty good English. The walk through the national park is also worth doing, we saw snakes, tarantulas, monkies and a deer. Overall this property offers clean budget accommodation and is good value for the price you pay in a great location.

Room Tip: We were in the room on the bottom floor in the back of the property, this was quiet but very dark ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anna_W76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel Icaco. It is very quiet (the only noise you hear is the ocean) and beautifully located (few meters from the ocean). The crew is friendly and helpful. Considering the price of the room it is a good choice for a stay in Tortuguero.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank stece77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is in a lovely beachside location, really easy to walk to from the riverside of Tortuguero. We enjoyed many walks along the beach in search of baby turtles during our stay.

The room was really clean and tidy. There were some ants but the hotel is by the sea so not the hotel's fault at all.

I would recommend going into the town for breakfast, we found some great little places, but the coffee at Icaco is great and the dining area is a lovely place to sit and wake up in the morning.

Overall, very relaxing.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Calli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

I am currently here with my mother, chilling out on a hammock, listening to the waves in front of us with some chilled out music from the restaurant area behind. Heaven!This morning we saw a turtle hatching and making its trek to the sea, from right outside the hotel. The rooms are cosy and comfy with a good sized bathroom. Just what you need, value for money with friendly staff. Would recommend!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Clean and friendly place, right on the beach, good value for money. Good breakfast. The tours proposed by Roberto were very interesting. (Canoe tour in the morning and night walk to see the turtles).A good place to stay a couple of nights. Good value for money. Would recommend.

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank helenem194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
0.4 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
272 reviews
4.1 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,117 reviews
3.3 km away
Caribbean Paradise Eco-Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
65 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 10 in Tortuguero
163 reviews
0.2 km away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 10 in Tortuguero
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Address: Mtr South From the Soccer Field 200 | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price Range: ₹ 2,066 - ₹ 2,840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach with: Free WIFI, hot water, fans, room with satellite TV, hammock ranch, laundry services, telephone & fax services, restaurant services, tour information, secure, and most importantly very clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing