We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
128
191
62
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
191
62
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national park entrance fee rooms are very basic soccer field book tours turtle tour location is great nice breakfast couple of nights early morning no air conditioning hostel cabinas hammocks fans dock group
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Ask yourself before booking this place what do I expect for $30?
The answer should be 'not too much'.
And in this case not more than a bed in a non air conditioned room with a shower.
Don't be bothered by noise as there are no windows but screens. The night turtle tour comes back around midnight and you'll hear doors slam, shoes being slammed to be cleaned and people talk for at least 30 mins. The first morning noise is around 4:30 with the early tour people.
So if you don't mind any of this: this is the place! Cheap, clean, wifi, and friendly. Don't expect matching sheets and towels, complimentary shampoo and shower caps. There are other places that do provide that.
It's a short (safe!) walk from the docks. Find the Salvadoran street vendor for a delicious $3 meal and enjoy the view of the canal.
Also know that when you buy a $20 tour they add $15 for admission to the natl park. They won't tell you upfront, so beware of all the tour selling people.
To us the tortuguero part of the trip was a bit disappointing: it's a tourist trap.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Tortuguero is a small village, and one of the most remote places in Costa Rica -- it can only be reached by boat or plane. Cabinas El Icaco is right on the beach... nice to hear the surf pounding, friendly and helpful staff. Tortuguero is a very safe place and you can sign up for a tour to see the turtles nesting. Most of the guests at El Icaco were Europeans (they all speak English well). The hotel is billed as a hostel, but I'd say it's a couple steps up -- clean and adequate, if a bit on the austere side, but we were very comfortable... beds are comfortable, the breakfast was good, and there is hot water in the shower -- what else does one need? I visited Tortuguero a few years ago and there were only a few of us on the bus to Pavona where you get the boat to Tortuguero. Now there are swarms of people at the boat dock. The bus from San Jose to Carriari is nice, but the bus from Carriari to Pavona leaves a lot to be desired, and the boat landing needs serious upgrading. It was difficult getting on the boat because the step up is hip high. Something as simple as a concrete block to step on would have made a big difference. You need to bring a flashlight -- I brought a tiny 3-bulb LED on a keychain that was very adequate. Best to travel light with just a small backpack, and the trip will be easier. Most people just stay a couple days, see the turtles (always at night), do a canal tour, maybe the jungle walk in the national park (a hotel patron said he saw more wildlife in park than on the canals) but it's at sea level so very warm. I just brought one pair of shoes that I wore the whole trip, my substantial Crocs classic sandals.... easy to wash the sand off, walk through water and wet grass, etc., one pair of shorts, wore my nylon cargo pocket pants (they dry in a minute) to travel and for night, a couple of tops, a light jacket, rain poncho that folds up into a very small packet, and small fold-up umbrella. Everything fit easily in my small backpack, even a book to read, which I started while relaxing in one of the hammocks in front of the hotel. Great experience both times.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

After our trip with the boat we were welcomed by a friendly host. The hotel is a bit out of the centre of town, but in short walking distance. Thats how we like it. The swimming pool is very small and is at another hotel. In my opinion the swimming pool is not an asset.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SandraAtje66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We stayed 3 nights and had a positive experience. The rooms are simple but adequate. They are very spacious and kept very clean. There are good options for breakfast (which was not included). The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to organize some tours and the guides we had were all excellent. The atmosphere is relaxed and simple. It is right on the beach which is perfect for early morning sun-rise walks. A good inexpensive option for families in Tortuguero.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank France B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here one night in June. Very cheap accommodation, and rooms were clean and reasonably big. Right on the beach, and although it is not safe to swim in the ocean (rip tides are huge here), the hotel offers a beautiful view of the beach.

They send a guide to meet you at the ferry dock in La Pavona, and another to meet you in Tortuguero when you get off the shuttle. It was implied that you tip them (they go out of their way to carry your luggage and converse with you), so be sure to have some extra colones on hand.

My only complaint was the lack of breakfast. We booked through Booking.com and it advertised that breakfast was included. This is not the case. I would recommend going to a soda or bakery in town for a delicious, and cheaper, meal.

Overall, pretty good. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elicaco1, Gerente at Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Dear customers
This place do not include breakfast in any of our rates not say anywhere that our breakfast is included as you can see and read -
We regret this inconvenience but we believe the client is not informed well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews