We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Paradise Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Ranked #4 of 8 Tortuguero B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Paradise Stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Arriving in Tortuguero was like a scene from Jurassic Park, after we landed off the local transport (a boat through the canal) we instantly felt like we were in paradise.

First impressions of Hotel El Icaco were really nice, hammocks outside to relax on, a ladder up a coconut tree free for the picking. The room we had was very nice and clean and perfect for our needs including an ensuite bathroom.

The breakfast (included in the price) each morning was really good and everyone was really friendly.

My only tip would be LOOK AROUND for different prices and guides and tours as prices greatly vary across all of the tour operators, and the experiences do as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    177
    57
    10
    5
See reviews for
65
171
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Anyone traveling to Tortuguero I would strongly recommend staying here. It was $25 a room (there were two of us), very clean, they changed the sheets and gave us fresh towels each day. You are right by the beach and a short walk to town so its nice and quiet. There were hammocks you can lie in and hear the ocean while you read or nap. There was a table and chairs and a little patio area for each room which was awesome, we loved having our own area to sit outside the room. The grounds were very well kept and super clean. The breakfast is an extra $10 and not worth it! Overall, this place was fantastic and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I travelled to Tortuguero with the intention of seeing turtles,supposedly one type laying their eggs right now.The hotel staff were lovely, very welcoming and happy to help,but the room was average especially for the price.Lovely breakfast in the morn tho and the owners son walked me to the boat and carried my bag.Hammocks are very cool too.But no turtles, and be prepared for heavy duty,fast walking 6km hike across the beach at breakneck speed looking for said turtles($20),and if you get tired no letting up from Leanordo who will happily tell you you shouldnt have come on the tour, are obv out of shape and are disgusting the rest of the group.Lovely guy.My advice only go in July, when you may actually see a turtle.X

Room Tip: no tip sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livvyinthestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst in Tortugero after having it recommended by a friend and very glad we did. The place is run by friendly staff, is clean and well equipped. Its not a luxurious hotel but has everything you would expect for the price. My only complaint is that we paid for a private room with hot shower but the hot water didn't work so we had to have ice cold showers day and night.
Overall though I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itzapa-Itzapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This hostel is great value for money. It's basic, but clean and cheap with friendly and helpful service.
It's a little out of town, but you're by the beach so it's fantastic.
You should definitely spend at least 2 nights here in order to take in the National Park and really relax.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandK111209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
4.1 km away
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
1,063 reviews
0.4 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
263 reviews
0.2 km away
Miss Miriam 2
Miss Miriam 2
#6 of 8 in Tortuguero
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
Hotel Tortuguero Natural
#3 of 8 in Tortuguero
144 reviews
0.2 km away
Aracari Garden Hostel
Aracari Garden Hostel
#1 of 8 in Tortuguero
192 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Miss Junie's
Hotel Miss Junie's
#9 of 35 in Tortuguero
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero

Property: Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero
Address: Mtr South From the Soccer Field 200 | Tortuguero Village, Tortuguero 10001, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tortuguero
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,055 - ₹ 2,825
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach with: Free WIFI, hot water, fans, room with satellite TV, hammock ranch, laundry services, telephone & fax services, restaurant services, tour information, secure, and most importantly very clean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Cabinas El Icaco Tortuguero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing