We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best Beach in Puerto Viejo”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casitas Las Flores

Casitas Las Flores
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casitas Las Flores
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Casitas Las Flores
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
bobzilla4...
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“The Best Beach in Puerto Viejo”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We arrived in the tropical paradise of Costa Rica's Caribbean Coast at Casitas Las Flores and were greeted by our most gracious hosts Joe and Shevonne. It was our first time in CR and they could not have been more helpful with suggestions of where to go, what to do and how to get there. In addition anything we needed in the way of the casita they were fast to supply! We stayed a month and had everything we needed right there. The setting is beautiful and the walk or bike to the beach is only a short distance away. We were so happy to be on Playa Negra as we felt it's the best beach in the whole area. Although quite a trip to get to the Caribbean coast, we will be back as it was more than worth it. Also, the Cahuita National park, suggested by our hosts, was truly a wonderful experience. We experienced Howler and Cappuccino monkeys, sloths, snakes, birds, and crabs. It was quite out of the ordinary for folks from the Midwest!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg S
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two Tickets to Paradise”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

After a long hard trek to Costa Rica from Canada, our final moments of travel turning down Casa Amma road we arrived to paradise. Joe and Shevonne greeted us with warm smiles and showed us to our beautiful, immaculate, casita. The next morning we woke up to the jungle alive with the chatter of morning birds and unbelievably delicious, freshly baked banana bread (still reminiscing). The Casitas Las Flores is beautifully taken care of, a real taste of living in the jungle with all the comforts you could want. Biking to the beach is a breeze, but don't try to out bike a rain storm you're going to get wet! Joe and Shevonne were wonderful hosts and had plenty of ideas of what to do and where to eat. We would go back in a heartbeat and miss the jungle already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unknowntr...
Bergen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't Imagine a Better Place”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Vittorio and Amelia were the perfect hosts. Welcoming, hospitable, open and friendly yet respectful of privacy. The cabins are new and comfortable. The property is beautiful, and feels like you're in the middle of the jungle. It's close enough to walk or bike to town but far enough off the road to feel isolated and relaxed. The resident dogs are lovable and give you a secure feeling at night when the jungle is calling. Amelia is a terrific cook. We wouldn't hesitate to visit again.
One Tip - I would encourage you to do some research on the area before you visit. This isn't an all-inclusive resort town in Cancun. It's a jungle in the Caribbean. It's hot and humid. There is no air conditioning. There are bugs. There are animals. There's no satellite TV in your room. It's a genuine experience. If you visit with the right expectations, you will absolutely love Casitas Las Flores and the Puerto Viejo area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganfo
White, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Two Nights Was Too Short ...”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

At Playa Negra about a mile north of Puerto Viejo is a rough dirt road (a redundancy in Costa Rica) that runs about 300 yards west to Casitas Las Flores. My wife and I stayed there for only two nights. These 4 new construction cabins are clean, spacious and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable, cross ventilation was excellent, the bathroom was fully functional, and the full kitchen wasn't used except to put a few drinks in the large refrigerator.

Our first night was unseasonably hot, and it took an evening downpour to break the heat, but thanks to that, the big wall-mounted oscillating fan raised the comfort level dramatically. The place is secure with a gated entrance, and it's far enough off the main road to be quiet save for the sounds of nature. The dogs are quiet and unobtrusive, but provide very good security. Our host, Vittorio, was an immigrant from Italy. His English was excellent, and he was full of good advice for our visit. He recommended Punta Uvo for its beach, and it was great advice.

A fourth cabin is under construction to accommodate families.

A short walk the first morning took us to Playa Negra, literally across the main road from where we turned in. While we never swam there, the sunrise was great. Photos attached.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The overall setting, close to town, but really in the country.
Liked least: The bumpy road to get to it. Thankfully it was short.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I am in love with Casitas las Flores”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was in Puerto Viejo for five weeks, and stayed in one of the cabinas at Casitas las Flores for the duration of my trip. I only have wonderful things to say about it.

Booking was simple-I talked directly to the owner, who is an absolutely amazing person. She was there to greet me when I got to the property and was so welcoming that I immediately felt at home.

The cabins are extremely clean and comfortable. I stayed in one with a full kitchen, and I had no problem cooking with the kitchen tools provided. Hot water in the shower was wonderful and somewhat rare in Puerto Viejo.

The property is set well away from the noise of Puerto Viejo, but is close enough to walk or ride a bike. The gardens are beautiful and provide privacy from other guests.

The owners go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and are always happy to help with recommendations for food and things to do.

I loved my stay at Casitas las Flores and was sad to have to leave. I will be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing