We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
65
48
28
22
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
48
28
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerrelaxing gardenpuerto viejoaffordable placelarge roomsingle bedwould definitely stay here againin townstayed here for nightsbeautiful hotelsan josejordanbeachesnetcyclebikesfans
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

We ended up spending total of two weeks at Lotus garden because the staff was so great. The location is good and the rooms nice and big. The breakfast is good, alltough it is not included. They also buy and sell books, which offers a cheap way to get something new to read.

The rooms down stairs can be a bit noisy, because the floor of the second floor rooms tends to creak a lot.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 696tiiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Lotus Garden for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. It's a quirky place and we had a beautiful bedroom with high ceilings and a great bathroom. Location was great... close to the centre. We hired bikes and had a bike ride in the morning which was great. We would have like a mosquito net as the windows are not sealed and we got bitten heavily. Totally understand that this is part of a holiday in this part of the world, but a simple net would have been great. Also a fridge in the room and free bikes for the price we payed. Otherwise, great hotel and we would return. The host was brilliant and have lots of info on the area.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Georgina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night while en route to San Jose from Bocos del Toro. Basic room for what we paid. Little bit of own personal feedback...Lighting needs addressing. Small bedside lamp would have been handy. Reception area fairly well equipped however would have benefited from a more comfortable chill out area. First impressions were its not all that zen but there is huge potential to be an amazing place if a small upgrade were to take place

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alicatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Originally booked for 3 nights but ended up staying for 8 and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The owner, Jordan is a wonderful host and his staff are the best. They were very personable and helpful which made our stay a most memorable experience. The hotel was clean, the rooms comfortable and conveniently located. We stayed in a deluxe room for 6 nights and the large suite for 2. The breakfast is typical for Costa Rica, but is tasty and reasonably priced.Their free coffee all day was delicious and very much appreciated. Their onsite bike rentals are handy for getting around, as well as, being located within walking distance of the bus station. The only draw back was the great location also meant it was a bit noisy on the weekends from the surrounding restaurants & bars. This was our first time to the Caribbean side of Costa Rica and we look forward to visiting the area again and would definitely stay at the Lotus Garden.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rose19622014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We enjoyed our time in Puerto Viejo. It is important to note that the area does not have any five-start hotels, so if that is what you want, you are actually on the wrong side of the country. That said, there is still choice. In this review, I will cover the following information: Location and Hotel Facilities and Staff.

Location
The location is great. The hotel is just across the street from the beach on the south end of town. You can walk the town end to end in about ten minutes, so you are not far from anything. The Lotus Garden is a short hike to really great beaches such as Cocles, and a four-mile bike ride to outstanding beaches such as Punta Uva. Search my other reviews for places to eat and drink.

Hotel Facilities and Staff
Breakfast is available for a reasonable charge, but you can also walk to breakfast elsewhere. Breakfast at the Lotus Garden is fresh and cooked to order. The architecture of the hotel is kind of Swiss Chalet, but as the hotel name implies, the owner prefer a more Japanese flavor in decor. We loved the tall ceilings in our second floor room, our balcony, and our creaky wood floor. The room could have used better lighting. I had to bust out the headlamp to find things, but that’s no big deal. The pool was a little unusual; it is three adjacent pools separated by six-inch walls. There were only two loungers, so if hanging out by the pool matters to your vacation vibe, this is a challenge you should consider. The grounds are nice, a little overgrown in some areas, but the sloth living in the trees will make you over look the bushes growing into the pool. You can rent your bike right at the hotel. From our experience, there is no need to go down the street in hopes of better ones. The staff and owner are engaged and care about your experience. Our only disappointment was the bathrooms. There was really no hot water, so don’t expect to use the Jacuzzi tub or take a long shower. There are no hand towels, so do expect to dry your hands on your clothes. The toilets don’t flush well and continue to run if you don’t jiggle the handle. So bring a kit with you from Home Depot and repair the one in your room! The owner is actively doing maintenance on the property, but to be honest the deferred maintenance in the baths mean that they now should be gutted and redone as a matter of first priority. We don’t need luxury, but we did consider changing hotels because of the bathrooms.

The bottom line is we enjoyed our stay at the Lotus Garden, but we would be challenged in recommending it to most of our friends. Since we were in the area for several days, you can look for a couple other hotel reviews in the area for comparison.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad_________DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews