We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Banana Azul
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Costa de Papito(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$ 123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Perla del Caribe(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tierra de Suenos Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blue Conga(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Moabi(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
US$ 38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Kukula Lodge(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)
US$ 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Finca Chica(Cocles)(Great Value!)
US$ 130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribe Town(Cocles)
US$ 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jacaranda Hotel and Jungle Garden(Puerto Viejo de Talamanca)(Great Value!)
US$ 60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast(Cocles)(Great Value!)
US$ 77
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,619)
Filter reviews
1,619 results
Traveller rating
1,263
273
54
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,263
273
54
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean roomhowler suitethe red frog roomfun tourscosta ricakoi pondtour deskin townpura vidalarge balconyour honeymoondogs and catssan joseair conditioningbrowniewalk along the beachopen air
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 1,619 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Stayed in a wonderful room with a huge balcony. Thin walls, but lots of cool breezes passing through. The food was excellent and the grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The best part of our 7 day stay was the staff. All of them were attentive and always had a smile. Made us feel like part of the family. A special thanks to Talek (great smile and laugh), Kayle (spoiled us at breakfast), Rasida (loved the attitude), and Ronald (so!!!!!!!). For all the other staff, I am very sorry I have forgotten your names, but thanks to all of you. Thanks to Roger for making sure we were taken care of and for making the sun come back!!!!!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have no AC, but you don't need it.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

From the moment we arrived with our complimentary pipa fria and welcome drink on the beach, the polite staff, great accommodations and good food, our entire stay at Banana Azul was awesome!
We stayed at the hotel between Christmas and New Years, which was a very busy time down in the town of Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo, but the location of Banana Azul was a perfect quiet respite to escape the holiday crowds.
We stayed in one of the Banana Verde Villas which was very nice and modern with beautiful windows, balconies and plunge pool. The breakfast included in our stay was always delicious and plentiful to get us going each morning. Oh and their french fries are the bomb! ;) We are very familiar with Costa Rica, and had our own car so we were able to explore the area without the need of the tours, but should you not have that luxury the tours seemed well organized and looked like great trips. We visited the waterfall in Bribri which was really fun, and CariBeans chocolate tour was really awesome with so much information and chocolate tasting for your money, and the Jaguar Rescue Center was also a great place to visit. We did have some rainy days at the end of our stay, but the hotel was such a nice atmosphere with the restaurant, bar, pool and massage tent, we managed to fill our days just fine. My daughter and I had a couples massage on the beach which was very relaxing as well!
Even though we were always happy with the food at Banana Azul's restaurant, if you get a chance you must try La Pecora Nera just down the road in Cocles. It's definitely pricey for Costa Rica but all the food is truly amazing, and we had a lot of it! And if you like gorgonzola, the gorgonzola filet is a must!
Thank you again to Roger and all the wonderful staff for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinsito, Owner at Hotel Banana Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Hey Cindy. Thanks so much for your great review. I am happy you and your daughter had such a great time. Looks like you packed a lot into your trip. And yes, Pecora Negra is pricey, but it is where I go when I want to treat myself a bit.

I hope we can host you again. Cheers, Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We had an ocean room and it was great! We stayed two nights and loved the wood paneling, the huge balcony, the hammock and lounge chairs on the balcony, and the huge doors that open onto the balcony.
The only caveats are that there's no air conditioning - just a fan - so it does get pretty warm even at night, there are no luggage racks, the light bulbs are very dim, the mattress is a little uneven, and people walking outside can see into the room if the curtains are left open.
However, the staff is wonderful and very accommodating, the food in the downstairs restaurant is delicious, the hotel is right on the beach, and there is a turtle pond - along with giant turtles and fish - right next to the restaurant.
Tips: There is a soap dispenser in the bathroom but you'll need to bring your own shampoo and conditioner. There is wifi and on-site laundry service. Reusable laundry bags are in the closet.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veneziate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights, one night in the Red Frog Suite and two nights in the Tropical Bath Suite.

The pros: The staff is awesome. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, always happy to chat!!! So five stars there. Plus it’s a huge bonus having Caribe tours right on location! The hotel itself is beautifully designed with mosaic tile paths and ponds with turtles!!!

The only cons: The rooms are a little outdated, just small things like the pillows in the Tropical Suite room smelling bad (might just be old), and that you can hear every step above you (every single creak!) in the Red Frog Suite. So, a few things to note before booking :)

All in all, a pleasant stay! Thank you again to the wonderful staff and the onsite animals for making it so enjoyable.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

To begin, I completely messed up our booking, (wrong month, already in transit, stressful job,thought I had fixed it but it never registered) and after some panic emails, the team at Banana Azul were able to offer us a solution which was brilliant because everywhere was completely booked over this period. So lucky and grateful!
We were also lucky to experience 6 different rooms throughout the property and each were unique, had their own individual quirks and aspects that were awesome. My favorites were the Villa and Casa Brisas; my husbands was the Sloth Cabina. Overall, each were perfect and we were just grateful that we had a great place to stay for 6 nights which had an awesome vibe and was literally on the beach (cocktails and morning coffees were great under the umbrellas)

Service wise, everyone went above and beyond to help us. Our waiters at the restaurant were great and we even had the team say things like, ‘whatever you need, just ask’ which was brilliant.

This is our second trip to Costa Rica and after having spent a month in the mountains and pacific side on the last trip, I insisted we come to the Caribbean during this one. On the whole, the experience at Banana Azul will definitely bring us back to Costa Rica and the beautiful East Coast.
Thank you

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews