We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
22
7
1
2
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
7
1
2
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Puerto Viejo was our last stop before leaving Costa Rica. We didn't know where we want to stay thats why we asked at a local bar. They recommended us the Miraflores lodge with its lovely owner, Pamela. As we arrive everything was prepared and Pamela gave us a warm welcome.

We stayed in the hole upper house as we were 6 people. The house has no windows and while showering, you can enjoy the green of the jungle. It was the most unique experience of Costa Rica. Like luxurious camping. The rooms have big qeen- and kingsize beds and are all covered with a mosquito net. The "windows" have shutters which are possible to close. The common area is perfect for sitting together, and enjoying the sounds of the forest. The kitchen is small but you anyway don't need to cook, as Pamelas fish tacos and the various restaurants nearby are very good.

First we just wanted to stay for two nights, we ended up with staying 5 nights. The breakfast was amazing, (everyday something different) and Pamela always made sure we had everything we needed.

Pamela the owner is a very interesting and openminded women. She knows everything about the area and is involved in different projects like one with the indigenous population "Siri".
She does everything with passion and is always thinking about new projects and how to optimize her little paradise.

We had the best time there with lovely Pamela, her friendly stuff and the three funny dogs. Thanks for the banana cake recipe, already tried it!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are perfect and if you are a group of 6 and more you can rent the whole floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel is a complete dump. The Ministry of Salud closed them down due to the place needing major repairs and cleaning. Worse than a hostel and the price for such a place was crazy. You can go down the road and get a hotel for cheaper and it be nice. The amenities offered are no longer there due to selling of some the lodges land. This eco-lodge is in shambles and NOT A TRUE ECO-LODGE. In Costa Rica anyone can put this on their sign. The pictures on the website are from many many years ago. I don't think the beds or linens have been changed for at least ten years. The curtains had mold in them, the beds smelled horrible, the faucets had most the knobs missing and when I turned on the shower to check for hot water there was none and the shower broke. Other random parts missing through out the place. The fridges are rusted and have roaches in them. The termites are so bad the dirt in the place is a constant. The mosquito nets had so many spiders in them. Some of the doors had been kicked in. The roof had plastic bags instead of proper replacement plastic. The massage room was soooo disgusting. I have traveled for 14 years in Costa Rica and Central America...I understand the jungle and its environment but this place is unacceptable. The Tourism Police also told us that they would NEVER recommend this hotel due to having problems with the owner, having problems with theft to the customers, and that they thought the place was about to fall down.

Also, Right now it is more safe to stay in town than outside of town due to some recent bad events that have happened on the road between from Puerto Viejo to Manzanillo.

I hope you do not make this choice and have a bad experience in such a wonderful country.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Destination J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I feel torn about this review because there are a lot of things to like about Miraflores. The owner, Pamela, is very nice and very knowledgeable about the area. She made sure that she didn't accept a party crowd during the very busy Holy Week, which meant we got a room at the last minute. I had called at least 25 other hotels/houses in the area and none had availability. We had Garden Suite #3, which had a king bed in one room with a mosquito net and the sink area. Sliding doors opened to another room with 2 twin beds and the shower area. Outside the front door was a small kitchenette that we used to keep breakfast supplies. This is an open-air place, although the windows all had mesh to keep the bugs out. It is a beautiful, lush setting and we saw monkeys and a sloth, with a baby, on the property.

The reasons I am giving a low review are because it was simply not a comfortable place to sleep. The twin beds both had ants in/on them. One of the beds did not have a pillow or a top sheet, although we did get a pillow for it the first day we were there. The ceiling in that room would rain down tiny clumps of dirt and dead bugs on the beds. My husband and I ended up sleeping on those beds and let the 2 kids (ages 7 & 10) share the king. After the first night, I joined them on the king. The curtains in that room did not fully close, and it was the closest room to the parking lot and restaurant so I was always worried that people could see in as we were changing. There were also ants in the shower, which we would have to clean out before my daughter would get in there.

We were provided with 3 towels and we asked for 1 more. We never received it, even though we asked 3 times in the 3 nights we stayed. Our room was also never cleaned, including emptying the trash in the toilet area (where you put all your used TP). It smelled pretty bad by the time we left because of all the used TP in that little room. Pamela asked us each morning if our room needed anything, and we would mention the towel we wanted and she would say that the girl would bring it and empty the TP, but it never happened.

The website stated that breakfast was included, but it wasn't. It cost $22 for our family of 4 to each have 2 Swedish pancakes, scrambled eggs, plus a cup of coffee and a cup of tea for myself and husband. The food was delicious, but we got cereal at the store for our next two mornings. Pamela let me have a cup of coffee for free the next 2 days. Every place in the country increases prices during Holy Week, so it is not surprising that breakfast would not be included, but double-check that before you book.

Playa Cocles, a short walk away, was a nice beach and we visited twice. It has lots of coral to explore, plus plenty of places to play in the water.

If we go back to the area, we will look for a place that is more comfortable to sleep. It will not be an open-air concept, which is nice in some ways, but very loud all night long if it is raining because you hear all the drips outside.

Room Tip: Garden Suite #3 is closest to the restaurant and the parking lot. Garden Suite #4 is on the other side and more secluded.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpokaneMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I have stayed at Miraflores for one month in one of the upstairs rooms. It is a wonderful place which I loved and since I had three months of travel in Costa Rica I decided to come back for an other month. Pamela, the owner knows everything about the environment, the culture of the Bribri and also supports many different local projects. The restaurant and the food is "muy rico" and the people working there are super friendly. Would always come back again. Thanks to Pamela who passionately made her dream come true with Miraflores, the work she does and the place she has.

Room Tip: I love the rooms upstairs which are nice and rustic with cool air in the night
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallinita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

After a disappointment in Cahuita, we called the number given by a fellow met on the bus from San Jose, hopped a truck turned taxi, and and found ourselves for 5 days at Miraflores Lodge at 6 o'çlock in the evening. The owner was away (she returned from Panama the night before we left and was wonderful) and her aid de camp showed us our rooms (3 people, 2 rooms). Windows were screened and there was a mosquito net over our comfortable king-sized bed which we didn't need to use. There was a great shower on the deck next to the hammock, and a joint kitchen outside the bedroom door, across from our bathroom. Art on the walls and an engaging community living room area where folks gathered in the evenings for chat sometimes made this a great place to stay. We went to dinner at a little place just north of Jungle Love (another restaurant we were told was good, but it was closed for several days and when it was open, it was full and had no extra tables). But the place just next door had an Argentinian chef and the best tuna tataki ever tasted. The ever changing menu was written on a chalk board and brought to the table. All great food! and a 5 minute walk back to our lodging.

Breakfasts at the little cafe on the property were well-prepared and served with grace by a fine fellow from Uruguay. Our bus friend walked us across the road and down the path to the Playa Chiquita beach and across to the Playa Uva Beach where we spend the next afternoon. Next day we bused to Manzanillo, rented snorkeling equipment and had a lovely day, went back and went on a snorkeling/kayaking trip with Sergio of www.manzanilloadventuretours.limdo.com.

Each morning and each evening, we relaxed among the sounds, flowers and comforts of Miraflores. With free wifi, and papaya smoothies, and fabulous breakfasts, we had everything we needed. Thanks Pamela, for creating such a wonderful spot in the jungle.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KootenayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews