We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
High Point, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“excellent choice”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We are a group of 4 middle aged couples who travel together a lot, and just returned from Costa Rica and spent 5 days at Cariblue. Being our first trip to the Caribbean side, we were very pleased with the area overall, and exceptionally pleased with Cariblue. I reserved through their website, and when we arrived, our rooms were waiting, and were as we reserved. The resort is beautiful, well maintained,and had all that we wanted. Buffet breakfast was expansive and tasty.
Dinner was also very good. I recommend eating there, but you miss part of the experience by missing out on other restaurants in the area. We booked air-conditioned rooms, but turned it on only one night. Only negative is that our TV went out a couple of times, but you do not go there to watch TV. All in all, a wonderful experience, and I highly recommend Cariblue.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    388
    153
    48
    43
See reviews for
227
488
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middle Village, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

(I was unable to select the correct dates of my visit, I stayed in July of 2009) I stayed at the Cariblue Hotel during my second visit to Puerto Viejo and loved it. The room was large and clean. The bathroom was very nice with a large shower.
The pool was a very nice addition to the property and the grounds were lovely. We had monkey up in the trees right by the pool which made for great pictures.
The restaurant was ok, breakfast was the normal eggs, fruit etc. I would suggest going into town for meals.
this was the only issue... I wouldn't recommend walking the road into or from town at night. A cab isn't very expensive at all and it definitely a must.
the beach is across from the entrance to the hotel.

Room Tip: I would pick a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas, nv
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I gave it a very good overall because of the location across from the beach. QUiet and peaceful, except for some Cuban American partying one night next to us and young AMerican surfers the next. The restaurant had incredible pastries and breads the first morning then more commonplace thereafter. Good potential there for great Italian. A bit dangerous for young children on the balconies by the way (not child safety friendly). Air con could be a bit dodgy on a hot day. And as in all things Costa Rican prices are 15% higher than Stateside with 15% lower quality.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms upstairs are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherstburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Rustic, but also had some things that I wanted like a pool, bar, tv, and air conditioning. Our bungalow was very spacious, the air condioner worked great. The breakfast was awesome and you can buy meals at the restaurant also, as well as bottled water, pop, etc... Someone said that if you don't like creepy crawlies this isen't the place for you, well they were right! We had almost every bug imaginable in our bungalow, even the dreaded cockroach, (a big one) ! I'm not a fan of bugs much, but I kind of expected it being in Costa Rica, lol! Our screen in the bathroom that keeps things out had alot of gaps in it, but it didnt seem to bother me much being out in the jungle. We saw so many beautiful butterflies, and birds at the Cariblue it was great. They have bikes available to rent which we took full advantage of! We went to the rainforest, with Florentino (he is great), and we ate at some incredible places. Tasty Waves and their LTD fries, Pita Bonita, had the best mint, lemonaide ever, and this place we discovered just by looking for the right atmosphere called De Pajo resto-bar, it had a little bar up front by the road, but when you walk back, its right on the beach, so nice and we were lucky enough to have monkeys in the tree right above us. This was our favorite place, they had the best chicken taco's and 2 for 1 happy hour drinks, banana, pinapple daquari's to die for!! It was right before this bakery if you were coming from Cocles beach, so of course we had to stop at the bakery after we ate here a couple times for dessert and coffee! Puerto viejo is like another world, one that I'm glad that I had the opportunity to visit! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I had a great time! The hotel is clean, the rooms are comfortable and the staff is very friendly! The restaurant is also pretty good, and the best part is that you are only across the street from the beach! I will definitely go back!

Marcelo.

Room Tip: Get the rooms in the front, closer to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
3.8 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,452 reviews
1.4 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
641 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
19.4 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort

Property: Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica (Formerly Cariblue Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,006 - ₹ 12,980
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing